We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not a hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked the "mystery hotel" on a well-known travel site and it came up with Tall Trees. Well, it is not a hotel - it is a motel. It is an average motel located down a quiet residential street.

While this place is not a dive - it is not excellent. The reception staff were lack lustre and unengaged - but gave us our room key without too much drama. The room itself was ok but there were signs EVERYWHERE. I recall one of them stating the steam from the bathroom sets the smoke detector off - so to shower with the door closed, and also not to leave the heating on when you go out (it was winter in Canberra). It felt naggy and unwelcoming. There was also a gross kleenex left on top of the shower door - but perhaps the cleaning lady could not see it. Other than that, the room was clean. The bed was comfortable.

I will try somewhere else next time we're in Canberra, and I will avoid the mystery room option when booking on travel sites. I am not a huge fan of surprises anyway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAGustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We refer to your review. Tall Trees has a variety of room types. You must have stayed in one of our standard rooms. We also have over-sized executive, deluxe and family rooms, which are certainly not motel rooms. Had you expressed your disappointment at the size of your room and if there was availability, our willing reception team would have gladly tried to upgrade you. We are sorry about the "nagging" signs, but they are there in response to incidents experienced with guests from time to time. We will certainly look into that matter and try and reduce the number. There is no excuse for the tissue and, again, we apologise. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the property and that was obviously an omission on the part of the housekeeping team. Should you choose to stay with us again, please contact our General Manager, Pat Young, ahead of time, and she will make every effort to make your stay memorable. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    141
    108
    31
    21
See reviews for
124
124
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I rate on my experience so it gets 2 stars instead of 1. The reasons it should be 1, they allow anybody to park in the disabled spots, the place smells like a cigarette as people smoke on the walkways outside the rooms which I believe to be illegal in NSW, the downstairs front windows do not open and the air conditioning gets to you after a couple of days, the noise and smoke from the outdoor tables could get to you, no undercover parking, no luggage trollies.

My experience, we had a downstairs front room. It was quiet and we stayed for extra days. The beds are good and internet is free, but the smoke and the lack of disabled parking....

Give it a go you might enjoy it. It could be great. The following ratings are based on a front, downstairs room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We refer to your review. You stayed in one of our very competitively priced standard rooms. I assure you that we do not allow "anyone" to park in disabled bays. Had you complained to our front desk about that issue and the smoking outside your room, we would have immediately addressed both issues. There is abundant free on-site parking which is, unfortunately, not under cover. Had you requested assistance with your baggage, again we would gladly have helped. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again, and assure you that we will make every effort to accommodate your needs. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
162 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed in about five other hotels/motels within Canberra and have always had an issue finding somewhere I am happy with completely. This has now changed everything. Not only did I pay less than $100 for a four star room, but the room was spacious, had all the amenities required including a microwave, was in a quiet but very convenient location, had great parking and service. I have absolutely nothing to complain about, from the excellent air conditioning, to the free foxtel, to the additional fold out single bed, to the awesome design of the room.

Had I now known where I was, I could easily have thought this room was in a Rydges, Mantra, Novotel or other five star hotel.

Room Tip: No lift so if you can't do stairs ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sall13h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your glowing comments. We look forward to your return visit and assure you of our continued commitment to excellence. Thanks again and warm wishes - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staff was not very friendly, minimum help! Milk and bath-mat was missing in my room! Then the guests were noisy and drinking on outdoor tables next to our room, after making noise outside they made noise in the corridor next to our room. I was kept awake until 2 am! That was a pity because the bed was comfortable and the room was nice.

Room Tip: don't get a room on the ground floor next to outdoor tables!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrigitteSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We refer to your review. Your stayed with us during the Summernats festival. The property was full and it was difficult to control noise levels. However, had you complained to our front desk about the milk, the mat and the noise, I assure you that all 3 issues would have been promptly dealt with. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that your perception was that our staff were unfriendly. We are committed to excellence and take these complaints very seriously. We would ask you to consider staying with us again and give you our assurance that we will make every effort to ensure that the disappointments that you have raised will not be repeated. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Short stay. Convenient location. Ainslie shops nearby for evening dtinks and a meal.
Clean rooms. The hotel is located in a quiet location. The staff were Friendly.
The airconditioning was reasonable quiet.
Overall it was a pleasant stay. Shame my trip was cut short.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonWild_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to post your positive review. We do hope that you will stay with us again soon. Our General Manager and her team will make every effort to make your next stay as pleasant! Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Cant understand other nasty reviews - we stayed for 2 nights and the staff were just great and responded to our questions the room was excellent and we would stay there again honestly I have stayed at several places in Canberra and this was the best for cleanliness and value - thank you very much - we could even drop off our bags when we arrived early in the day in Canberra so they wouldn't be left in our hot car while we did the tourist thing

Room Tip: anywhere really as it is situated in a very quiet area of Canberra but ask for a 1st floor if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunnett s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are most appreciative of your glowing review. Our General Manager, Pat Young, and her enthusiastic team make every effort to make every guest feel welcome and special. Your endorsement of their efforts is much appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm wishes – Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a pleasant stay, the room was clean and tidy everything we needed was available. The bed was good. There is a basic restaurant were they served a traditional breakfast, you can also order a warm breakfast meal. In the evening the restaurant served a reasonable choice of dishes and what we ate was delicious. You need a car in order to travel around town.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive review. Our enthusiastic team makes every effort to make every guest feel welcome and special. Your appreciation of their efforts is much appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm wishes – Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
4.4 mi away
Premier Hotel & Apartment
Premier Hotel & Apartment
#27 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#18 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#24 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Property: BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra
Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing