We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay. Quiet location. Clean room.”
Review of Tall Trees Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tall Trees Motel
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Short stay. Convenient location. Ainslie shops nearby for evening dtinks and a meal.
Clean rooms. The hotel is located in a quiet location. The staff were Friendly.
The airconditioning was reasonable quiet.
Overall it was a pleasant stay. Shame my trip was cut short.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonWild_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to post your positive review. We do hope that you will stay with us again soon. Our General Manager and her team will make every effort to make your next stay as pleasant! Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Tall Trees Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 453 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Cant understand other nasty reviews - we stayed for 2 nights and the staff were just great and responded to our questions the room was excellent and we would stay there again honestly I have stayed at several places in Canberra and this was the best for cleanliness and value - thank you very much - we could even drop off our bags when we arrived early in the day in Canberra so they wouldn't be left in our hot car while we did the tourist thing

Room Tip: anywhere really as it is situated in a very quiet area of Canberra but ask for a 1st floor if you ha...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunnett s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We are most appreciative of your glowing review. Our General Manager, Pat Young, and her enthusiastic team make every effort to make every guest feel welcome and special. Your endorsement of their efforts is much appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm wishes – Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a pleasant stay, the room was clean and tidy everything we needed was available. The bed was good. There is a basic restaurant were they served a traditional breakfast, you can also order a warm breakfast meal. In the evening the restaurant served a reasonable choice of dishes and what we ate was delicious. You need a car in order to travel around town.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Marjolein R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive review. Our enthusiastic team makes every effort to make every guest feel welcome and special. Your appreciation of their efforts is much appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm wishes – Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed a night at Best Western Tall Trees coming back from Wagga Wagga.
We wanted something close to the airport. This motel is hidden in the back streets of a suburb where you would not think a motel would exist. The receptionist was helpful in advising where we could get something to eat before settling down for the night. The room was clean and tidy. I would think you would need a car to get around from the location. As we were only staying the night it served its purpose for us and was good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glamerous73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive review. We believe that we offer a superior standard of accommodation and service and your appreciation of the efforts of our professional hospitality team is much appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm wishes – Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A pleasant, quiet two night stay albeit a bit pricey for a motel in a less than central position. Need a car to get around easily.The room was a good size bedding comfortable, plenty of towels & pillows. Fridge had been left open so milk required replacing. Basic continental breakfast included in price. Would stay again.

Room Tip: One room was ground floor, one on 1st floor both quite clean & comfortable. If you don't hav...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your largely positive review. We believe that we offer an excellent, spotlessly clean standard of accommodation at extremely competitive prices. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again and assure you of the commitment of our professional team to exemplary service and accommodation. With regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This motel is clean and tidy, but our "Standard Room" was very cramped. There was a tea/coffee-making facility but no kind of milk or dairy creamer in the mini-bar fridge. We didn't try the restaurant but had to take a taxi into the city where we were for business. Since taxis are not as plentiful as in larger cities, you have to factor in additional time to find a taxi (or phone for one) before estimating distances from the motel.

If you arrive after dark, you will have to find the card slot to insert your door entry card, but you'd better have a phone that acts as a torch (flashlight) so that you can find it. It's not at the door, but above the desk. It has a red and green LED (port and starboard?) that is supposed to make it easy to find, but unless you know that it is a card slot, you'll need to find the phone in the dark, find the number (not 0), and call reception. The receptionist was a bit testy because I couldn't find the slot any faster.

The bathroom couldn't have been made any smaller but everything worked. Definitely not convenient for a business traveller who doesn't have their own car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is featured on their website.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. You elected to stay in one of our budget rooms. Our executive and deluxe rooms are over 35 sqm in area. The standard rooms have either a Queen bed plus a sofa or, for those who are budget conscious, a Queen and a single bed. We do not know which type of room you stayed in, but assume that the property must have been full if you were allocated a standard room which slept 3 people. Should you decide to stay with us again, please call our General Manager, Pat Young, in advance and she will do her best to accommodate you in a room to your liking. We apologise that there was no milk in the fridge. You obviously arrived late and the receptionist must have forgotten to give a carton of milk on check in. In regard to your comment about the convenience of our location - we are 10 minutes by car from every major attraction in Canberra. Everyone knows that the taxi service in Canberra can be challenging at times. We hope to see you again and assure you of our ongoing commitment to excellence. With regards- Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Been a while since we stayed in a Motel, nothing has changed. I thought it was a bit pricey and not very good value. Mattress was well used and the room had an odour which the Manager explained was "ground drain problems". She poured a litre of disinfectant down our bathroom floor drain and we felt like we were in a public toilet for the rest of our stay. Dickson is a little out of town and a car is needed to find any restaurants. Not my cup of tea I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

I refer to your review. We confirm that we have had a problem with two or three of our budget rooms at the property where, despite the fact that the property enjoys very high occupancy rates, the waste in the bathroom has occasionally emitted a slight odour, suggesting that not enough water has flowed down the waste pipe. This is currently being dealt with and we apologise for the inconvenience. Our General Manager, Pat Young, offered to move you to another room, but you declined. She treated the problem with a small amount of disinfectant (not a litre) and caustic soda, and she advises that you were happy with the solution. At no time during your stay did you complain about the mattress or the state of the room. You elected to stay in one of our budget motel-style rooms and, had you communicated your concerns, we would certainly have gone out of our way to address your issues. Instead you have decided to post an unflattering and critical review, despite the fact that Pat made every effort to make your stay comfortable. All but a handful of the mattresses at the property are brand new, including pillow-top mattresses in our over-sized executive, and deluxe hotel rooms in the main building of the property. We will be replacing the remaining mattresses within the next week or two. Should you decide to stay with us again, you may be inclined to pay a little more and stay in one of our stylish hotel rooms. The renovated motel-style rooms are offered at a highly affordable rate, and we are sorry that they did not appeal to you. Regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,625 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
3.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#22 of 58 in Canberra
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 58 in Canberra
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#20 of 58 in Canberra
1,152 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Motel

Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
#29 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $97 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Trees Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tall Trees Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing