We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean spacious family room sleeps five, rennovated double room”
Review of Tall Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tall Trees Hotel
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A pleasant, quiet two night stay albeit a bit pricey for a motel in a less than central position. Need a car to get around easily.The room was a good size bedding comfortable, plenty of towels & pillows. Fridge had been left open so milk required replacing. Basic continental breakfast included in price. Would stay again.

Room Tip: One room was ground floor, one on 1st floor both quite clean & comfortable. If you don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your largely positive review. We believe that we offer an excellent, spotlessly clean standard of accommodation at extremely competitive prices. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again and assure you of the commitment of our professional team to exemplary service and accommodation. With regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 468 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

This motel is clean and tidy, but our "Standard Room" was very cramped. There was a tea/coffee-making facility but no kind of milk or dairy creamer in the mini-bar fridge. We didn't try the restaurant but had to take a taxi into the city where we were for business. Since taxis are not as plentiful as in larger cities, you have to factor in additional time to find a taxi (or phone for one) before estimating distances from the motel.

If you arrive after dark, you will have to find the card slot to insert your door entry card, but you'd better have a phone that acts as a torch (flashlight) so that you can find it. It's not at the door, but above the desk. It has a red and green LED (port and starboard?) that is supposed to make it easy to find, but unless you know that it is a card slot, you'll need to find the phone in the dark, find the number (not 0), and call reception. The receptionist was a bit testy because I couldn't find the slot any faster.

The bathroom couldn't have been made any smaller but everything worked. Definitely not convenient for a business traveller who doesn't have their own car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is featured on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. You elected to stay in one of our budget rooms. Our executive and deluxe rooms are over 35 sqm in area. The standard rooms have either a Queen bed plus a sofa or, for those who are budget conscious, a Queen and a single bed. We do not know which type of room you stayed in, but assume that the property must have been full if you were allocated a standard room which slept 3 people. Should you decide to stay with us again, please call our General Manager, Pat Young, in advance and she will do her best to accommodate you in a room to your liking. We apologise that there was no milk in the fridge. You obviously arrived late and the receptionist must have forgotten to give a carton of milk on check in. In regard to your comment about the convenience of our location - we are 10 minutes by car from every major attraction in Canberra. Everyone knows that the taxi service in Canberra can be challenging at times. We hope to see you again and assure you of our ongoing commitment to excellence. With regards- Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Been a while since we stayed in a Motel, nothing has changed. I thought it was a bit pricey and not very good value. Mattress was well used and the room had an odour which the Manager explained was "ground drain problems". She poured a litre of disinfectant down our bathroom floor drain and we felt like we were in a public toilet for the rest of our stay. Dickson is a little out of town and a car is needed to find any restaurants. Not my cup of tea I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

I refer to your review. We confirm that we have had a problem with two or three of our budget rooms at the property where, despite the fact that the property enjoys very high occupancy rates, the waste in the bathroom has occasionally emitted a slight odour, suggesting that not enough water has flowed down the waste pipe. This is currently being dealt with and we apologise for the inconvenience. Our General Manager, Pat Young, offered to move you to another room, but you declined. She treated the problem with a small amount of disinfectant (not a litre) and caustic soda, and she advises that you were happy with the solution. At no time during your stay did you complain about the mattress or the state of the room. You elected to stay in one of our budget motel-style rooms and, had you communicated your concerns, we would certainly have gone out of our way to address your issues. Instead you have decided to post an unflattering and critical review, despite the fact that Pat made every effort to make your stay comfortable. All but a handful of the mattresses at the property are brand new, including pillow-top mattresses in our over-sized executive, and deluxe hotel rooms in the main building of the property. We will be replacing the remaining mattresses within the next week or two. Should you decide to stay with us again, you may be inclined to pay a little more and stay in one of our stylish hotel rooms. The renovated motel-style rooms are offered at a highly affordable rate, and we are sorry that they did not appeal to you. Regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here as part of a school trip helping to accompany 27 eleven year olds from Darwin. We had absolutely no problems checking in and everything went very smoothly. The breakfasts and dinners appealed to the kids [and adults] and there was plenty of food. I have to put in a good word for the lady in charge in the bistro area in the mornings. She was a delight to deal with and was happy and friendly. Really good with the kids too. The hotel also made up packed lunches which were very reasonable and if there were any complaints eg too much mayo on some of the sandwiches, the staff accepted the criticism constructively and took it on board.
The rooms were comfortable and clean, there were good bathrooms and it was possible to access a decent block of free wifi.
The location is excellent because we saw most of the major sites of Canberra over 5 days and we were only about 10-15 minutes from the Parliamentary Triangle when the traffic is quiet.

We did try to keep the kids quiet which can be difficult especially on the first night away when they all are super excited and want to talk, and you sometimes can hear people chatting in the room across the hallway. I noticed one family had a room in-between 2 rooms worth of kids so I gave them my mobile number in case of any problems with noise. No complaints thank goodness.
I just hope the staff found our group as stress-free as we found them!

Room Tip: Check to see if your room is near a school party!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your endorsement of our property, and the professionalism and enthusiasm of our team, is much appreciated. Our General Manager has been with us for many years and she, and her loyal staff, are committed to a level of service beyond the norm. It is most gratifying that you took the time to recognize their efforts. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night, we arrived very late so luckily they had a late night check in system. The hotel was clean, warm and comfortable. Everything you would expect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sez0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We pride ourselves on the quality of the property and, indeed, the cleanliness. We do hope that you will stay with us again and, rest assured, our General Manager, Pat Young and her enthusiastic team, will make every effort to ensure that your stay will be as pleasant as the last. With regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Quiet, comfortable, well appointed, ideal for business trip. Eat on site or one of the many eating places a short drive away. Pat and her staff always make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank so much for making the time to write a review. Your comments concerning the stirling efforts of our General Manager, Pat, and her excellent team are most gratifying. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and assure you that we will make every effort to make your next stay as pleasant as the last. Thank you again and warm wishes - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Enjoyable stay. Nothing went wrong etc. room was clean and comfortable! Enjoyed the foxtel in rooms, the breakfast had a great selection and i enjoyed every morning. Ensuite was small but suitable. Heating work well, tv modern and clear.

No reason not to stay here, only a short drive from city centre, shops near by with lots of place to eat, easy drive to airport, war memorial and Quiet at night. Was busy when I stayed but didn't hear a thing. And friendly staff are always welcomed and a credit to management.

It's not a resort, just a good value hotel! Stay with confidence

Room Tip: Be sure to tell them what you need at check in as rooms look to vary in the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Facebook_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our General Manager, Pat Young, and her enthusiastic team make every effort to make our guests feel welcome and appreciated. Your positive feedback is most gratifying. Thank you again. Best Wishes - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
3.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#17 of 59 in Canberra
620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#23 of 59 in Canberra
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 59 in Canberra
1,189 reviews
1 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#25 of 59 in Canberra
1,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Hotel

Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
#30 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $79 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Trees Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re a corporate traveller, a couple looking for a weekend escape, or a family looking for a place to go for your next trip, look no further than Tall Trees Canberra. Quality boutique hotel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tall Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing