We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel”
Review of Tall Trees Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tall Trees Motel
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night, we arrived very late so luckily they had a late night check in system. The hotel was clean, warm and comfortable. Everything you would expect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sez0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We pride ourselves on the quality of the property and, indeed, the cleanliness. We do hope that you will stay with us again and, rest assured, our General Manager, Pat Young and her enthusiastic team, will make every effort to ensure that your stay will be as pleasant as the last. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    161
    123
    35
    25
See reviews for
137
139
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Quiet, comfortable, well appointed, ideal for business trip. Eat on site or one of the many eating places a short drive away. Pat and her staff always make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank so much for making the time to write a review. Your comments concerning the stirling efforts of our General Manager, Pat, and her excellent team are most gratifying. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and assure you that we will make every effort to make your next stay as pleasant as the last. Thank you again and warm wishes - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Enjoyable stay. Nothing went wrong etc. room was clean and comfortable! Enjoyed the foxtel in rooms, the breakfast had a great selection and i enjoyed every morning. Ensuite was small but suitable. Heating work well, tv modern and clear.

No reason not to stay here, only a short drive from city centre, shops near by with lots of place to eat, easy drive to airport, war memorial and Quiet at night. Was busy when I stayed but didn't hear a thing. And friendly staff are always welcomed and a credit to management.

It's not a resort, just a good value hotel! Stay with confidence

Room Tip: Be sure to tell them what you need at check in as rooms look to vary in the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Facebook_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our General Manager, Pat Young, and her enthusiastic team make every effort to make our guests feel welcome and appreciated. Your positive feedback is most gratifying. Thank you again. Best Wishes - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The room was approx 3m wide in total. By the time a Queen bed was in this didn't leave much passageway between the bed and the the desk/cupboards on the opposite wall. The bathroom was also 3m long - and I'd say less than 1m wide. There was a single bed in the room too, just to add to the squeezey effect. We found we had to keep backing up to allow the other person to pass. The shower grout was black with mould. The suburb is quiet, and the bed was comfortable. Reception staff were pleasant. Breakfast is typical beige motel fare - sliced bread, toaster that either just warms your bread or, if you put it in for a second run, burns it to a crisp. Tinned fruit, tinned juices, non-coffee from a machine. It was included in the tariff, but we skipped it after the first morning, and went to Manuka for breakfast instead.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We refer to your review. Yes - our standard rooms are not large and in some we have introduced a single bed for those who are budget conscious. We also have standard rooms with a Queen bed and a sofa, and over-sized, immaculately renovated, executive rooms, suites and business rooms. We are not sure if the property was full on the night that you stayed with us, but our General Manager did not receive a request from you for an upgrade to a larger, more suitable room. Had the matter been raised with our front desk, we would have certainly moved you if an alternative room was available.
We apologize for a small amount of black grout in your renovated bathroom. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the motel. However, we do have an issue with some of the rooms on the ground floor when the colder weather sets in, and our house-keepers will be told to be extra vigilant, and to ensure that this problem does not reoccur.
We offer a full breakfast at a very competitive price - certainly less than 50% of the price you would have paid in Manuka. There is always a fresh fruit platter on offer. Our juices are definitely not tinned. The toaster is that which most hotels use and there is always a problem in achieving a happy medium in toasting but not burning the bread. We intend to introduce artisan breads to provide greater variety. Your complaint about the quality of the coffee is noted, and we hope to address this issue by installing a new coffee machine next week.
We are committed to excellence and, should you decide to stay with us again, please contact our General Manager, Pat Young, ahead of time, and she will make every effort to ensure that you have a pleasant stay. With regards - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Nice motel, out of the main area so quiet.. Good location, Good restaurant suprisingly for dinner.
Well appointed rooms and great parking. Nice breakfast and music. Nice change.
Must be having reception problems. Beware of Kay. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Away from reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, which is largely positive. We do not have a Kay at reception, nor do you give us any details of the substance of your problem with the front desk. So it is not possible to respond to your complaint. We take all complaints seriously and invite you to call our General Manager, Pat Young, on 62479200, should you wish to discuss the matter further.
With regards - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Tall Trees is in Ainslie, a quiet northern suburb of Canberra and about 10-15 mins from the main part of town. It's a good location and the facilities are first rate. Reception staff are smiling and helpful. Rooms are clean, modern and well maintained. There is cable Internet but no WiFi except the office which is a nuisance for iPad people like me! I like the place because it's convenient, reasonably priced, quiet and near Dickson's eateries which are better than Manuka's. Recommended as it beats similarly rated places in Canberra hands down.

Room Tip: Check the rates carefully on the Net as prices vary widely for the same room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wplra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your glowing review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and you will be pleased to know that by Tuesday, 17th April, free WiFi will be available to all guests. Jimojo, a most repuratable WiFi installer, is currently installing modems throughout the property. Thank you again and warm wishes - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Most definately a favourite of mine, mainly because the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and at the same time be super professional in the way they run the motel, since 90% of us are business travellers.. Special mention to Amanda and Chantelle..Ps Pat you do a great job keeping the show together.... thanks..

Room Tip: Get a exec Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review. Pat, and her team, work hard at maintaining an extraordinary level of service and professionalism, and your positive feedback is sincerely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back "home" again in the very near future. Warm regards - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,596 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#20 of 57 in Canberra
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
341 reviews
4.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#13 of 57 in Canberra
635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Motel

Property: Tall Trees Motel
Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
#30 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Trees Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tall Trees Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing