We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little disappointed”

National Film and Sound Archive of Australia
Ranked #76 of 218 things to do in Canberra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are Australia's 'living' archive – the custodian of over 2.3 million items that we not only collect, but preserve for future generations and share in many diverse ways. Watch a film at Arc Cinema, attend special events in our Theatrette, or explore one of Canberra's most beautiful Art Deco buildings.
Melb
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a little disappointed”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I really thought there would be more on display. There was only 1 room of items. The building itself is beautiful

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisaMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    52
    21
    21
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looks like a school project”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Do not waste your time with this place. It is in a nice old building, but that's about all that it has going for it. The 'exhibitions' are in a tiny room and a lot of the explanations are written on A4 pieces of paper that seemed to be stuck to the walls with blu tac (I am not kidding) and descriptions are simplistic, short and un-insightful. There is also very little on display and nothing that is overly interesting. The whole walk around took roughly take 30mins (and that was dragging it out), a lot of people walked in, looked around for 5mins and walked out.
On the whole it looks like they got the local primary school to put together what they knew about Australian Films and TV, it is so poorly put together. For a National Archive in Australia's Capital it is actually a little disgraceful, I'm sure they can do a little better.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzynco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, great spot”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't sure exactly what to expect, but it was fantastic piece of Australian history for film and tv, as well as radio. Amazing displays that take you back in time, as well as current displays, inclusong the fractured heart display. I got to play with this piece of musoc/artwork. It was used in that goyte folm clip, lots of fun, even of I felt a bit silly. Well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank purplejewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
210 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“holiday visit”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

exhibits were interactive & entertaining for small groups,particularly enjoyed the sound effects exhibit. brought back some memories.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not Much Too See”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This archive serves its purpose by collecting and storing visual and audio files from Australia's present and past. However, a very limited amount of this is on display. I was looking forward to the Australian version of a 'Hollywood' experience but was very disappointed with house small the exhibit was and the small amount of material that was put into use. Unfortunately, this was not one of my highlights on my trip to Canberra.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kateemily96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Film and Sound Archive of Australia also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to National Film and Sound Archive of Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing