We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service! Great Stay! Great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Service! Great Stay! Great time!”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Rydges on a Friday and then again the following Sunday as a stop over on our way to and from the snow. While the hotel is not the most modern we have stayed at numerous five star resorts in Australia and overseas and we could not fault the service. Although the staff were quite young they all were very mature and extremely pleasant. On the Sunday afternoon upon check in we found out we had been upgraded free of charge, although the room was great there was a step which we knew was going to be hazardous to our 1 year old daughter so we asked if we could pay extra to upgrade again. We ended up in an embassy suite and this was also free of charge. Staff made holidaying with children a breeze. We even had cocktails made for us and brought to our room although the bar was closed. There were many more little things that the staff did to make our stay enjoyable. Once again thank you to all the staff at the Rydges Capital Hill!!! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Dear EHG80

I was delighted to read your fantastic review of our Hotel, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Canberra. It was wonderful to read such positive feedback about our service team, I have shared your comments with them and thanked them for their efforts.

I hope to see you again next time you are visiting Canberra.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    382
    309
    112
    65
See reviews for
275
352
62
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stayed at the Rydges Capital Hill on a Friday night in transit from a holiday on the NSW Sth Coast back to Cairns. Although the price was reasonable and the rooms large, our expectations in standards for the hotel were certainly not met.

The room furntiure and fittings except for the TV and bed seemed straight out of the 70s, and our room had no windows but just a door leading on to a communal internal balcony. This made the room very dark.

Due to its seemingly remote location and internal appearance, the hotel seemed better suited for business travellers (or back bench politicians) than for holiday travellers.

Disappointedly, as a member of the Rydges Priority Guest, I was not aware of any special attention being offered when checking in.

Definitely in need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausgweilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Dear Ausgweilo

Thank you for taking the time to post your review with Trip Advisor. I am so sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations.

I agree that our hotel is starting to show it's age and we are using every opportunity to work with the owners to upgrade whenever possible. The beds and televisions are new, as are the desks, chairs and several appliances in the rooms.

Hopefully you'll get the chance to see the ongoing improvements as they happen.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

After reading some very negative reviews I was a bit a bit apprehensive about staying here, especially since we were on an "internet special" rate.
However, we got a large, clean room with flatscreen television, well adjusted airconditoning, and a clean, albeit a little dated, bathroom - well lit and well supplied.
The staff were very friendly and responsive to our requests. The hotel was full with a football match down the road, but absolutely no contention for service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mature_traveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Dear Mature_traveller00,

It was lovely to read your positive review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Rydges Capital Hill. Your comments about our friendly and helpful team are greatly appreciated and your observations will be shared with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Capital Hill next time you visit Canberra.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed in the Executive King Spa room and we both had an wonderful weekend. The room was a great size, clean and the spa was AMAZING! The staff were very friendly. The room service we had was delicious and fairly priced. The complimentary newspapers were a nice touch. We didnt get a chance to eat in the restaurant, however the buffet looked great. The hotel spa and sauna were heavenly. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieH1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Girl-random,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Capital Hill. It's always great to receive positive feedback about our service team, they will be excited when I share your comments with them.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in Canberra.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Rydges Capital Hill, although not in the city, is a great place to stay. The rooms are large and very clean, although the furnishings are starting to look a little faded.The staff are absolutely wonderful from checking in to checking out, as well as the catering staff.
It is nice and close to Manuka Oval home of the Prime Minister's XI cricket match as well as some of the Sydney Swans AFL Games.
Great restaurants in nearby Manuka and Kingston, as well as a Picture Theatre at Manuka.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladylunchalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Ladylunchalot,

Thank you for posting such a great review of our Hotel, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Canberra. It was wonderful to read such positive feedback about our service team, I have shared your comments with them and thanked them for their efforts.

I hope to see you again next time you are visiting Canberra.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend. The staff were as helpful as possible. Room service food was good value for money and came within 25 minutes of ordering.

We stayed in a King Spa Suite. The room was clean and looked modern. The bed had a retro radio, but it served its purpose. The shower had a great strong water flow and the spa was large enough for two adults to fit in together. The provided shampoo, shower gel etc were all of high quality. The television swivelled conveniently to face the bed. The bed had 7 pillows with 2 more in the cupboard and was very comfortable.

Unfortunately the heating wasn't working and we could only get it to blow cold air, and the hot water tap for the basin wasn't working either; not the best things during winter.

The location was not ideal if we had been walking or catching public transport; but there is lots of on street parking for a car and its easy and close to drive to most things in canberra.

we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatjesusate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Dear whatjesusate,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you had a lovely time while you were staying with us. It's so nice to read that you found the staff to be helpful, I've passed your kind words on to the team.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in Canberra.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was a birthday treat and we had a great time! The hotel bar had a DJ & dancers in, quite unexpected but a fun way to start the night. It was close to a great restaurant strip which we ducked off to after a few drinks. The bed was amazing, as other reviewers have said! Reception very helpful, we didn't really have time for much else. Rooms were a little dated, but we did have a flat screen TV & everything was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Dear 101Teacher,

I am so glad you had such a great time while you were in Canberra and staying with us. Happy Birthday!

I hope to see you again next time

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
0.4 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#23 of 57 in Canberra
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 57 in Canberra
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing