We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed in the Executive King Spa room and we both had an wonderful weekend. The room was a great size, clean and the spa was AMAZING! The staff were very friendly. The room service we had was delicious and fairly priced. The complimentary newspapers were a nice touch. We didnt get a chance to eat in the restaurant, however the buffet looked great. The hotel spa and sauna were heavenly. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieH1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Girl-random,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Capital Hill. It's always great to receive positive feedback about our service team, they will be excited when I share your comments with them.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in Canberra.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    371
    289
    107
    65
See reviews for
263
335
61
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Rydges Capital Hill, although not in the city, is a great place to stay. The rooms are large and very clean, although the furnishings are starting to look a little faded.The staff are absolutely wonderful from checking in to checking out, as well as the catering staff.
It is nice and close to Manuka Oval home of the Prime Minister's XI cricket match as well as some of the Sydney Swans AFL Games.
Great restaurants in nearby Manuka and Kingston, as well as a Picture Theatre at Manuka.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladylunchalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear Ladylunchalot,

Thank you for posting such a great review of our Hotel, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Canberra. It was wonderful to read such positive feedback about our service team, I have shared your comments with them and thanked them for their efforts.

I hope to see you again next time you are visiting Canberra.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend. The staff were as helpful as possible. Room service food was good value for money and came within 25 minutes of ordering.

We stayed in a King Spa Suite. The room was clean and looked modern. The bed had a retro radio, but it served its purpose. The shower had a great strong water flow and the spa was large enough for two adults to fit in together. The provided shampoo, shower gel etc were all of high quality. The television swivelled conveniently to face the bed. The bed had 7 pillows with 2 more in the cupboard and was very comfortable.

Unfortunately the heating wasn't working and we could only get it to blow cold air, and the hot water tap for the basin wasn't working either; not the best things during winter.

The location was not ideal if we had been walking or catching public transport; but there is lots of on street parking for a car and its easy and close to drive to most things in canberra.

we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatjesusate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Dear whatjesusate,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you had a lovely time while you were staying with us. It's so nice to read that you found the staff to be helpful, I've passed your kind words on to the team.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in Canberra.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was a birthday treat and we had a great time! The hotel bar had a DJ & dancers in, quite unexpected but a fun way to start the night. It was close to a great restaurant strip which we ducked off to after a few drinks. The bed was amazing, as other reviewers have said! Reception very helpful, we didn't really have time for much else. Rooms were a little dated, but we did have a flat screen TV & everything was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Dear 101Teacher,

I am so glad you had such a great time while you were in Canberra and staying with us. Happy Birthday!

I hope to see you again next time

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Comfortable spacious room, some aspects showing a bit of age, but definitely clean and good layout

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brettdtsvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Dear Brettdtsvl,

Thank you for your review, I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We always stay at Rydges Capital Hill when in Canberra. The Hotel is close to the galleries and important sites in Canberra. The rooms are well proportioned and we particularly like the split level king room with spa when we stay on our own - there is plenty of room to relax and enjoy and the spa bath is just terrific to relax in with a glass of champagne. The Hotel itself is situated close to Manuka shopping district when means we always walk to the restaurant of our choice - depending on what we feel like eating.
I would and have already recommended this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JenniBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Dear JenniBeau,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review about our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the spa bath in your King Spa Suite. It sounds like you did some serious relaxing!

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time you visit Canberra

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
274 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Recently stayed at the Rydges Capital Hill in Canberra for three nights in the Pavillion Suite. Staff were very welcoming and friendly from Reception through to the staff in the hotel restaurant where their delicious Buffet Breakfast is held.
The Pavillion Suite was beautiful with lovely views, huge lounge/living area, beautiful bathroom and small kitchenette. The hotel has a great location and is very handy to most of what Canberra has to offer.
A short walk leads you to upmarket Manuka and a wealth of restaurants and a cinema complex. Secure undercover parking is available and they have a wonderful pool area and gym with a full time personal trainer in attendance during business hours.
I highly recommend the Capital Hill Hotel for both business and leisure travellers, it ticks all the boxes and doesn't break the bank. Particularly recommended to those who are members of Event Cinemas Seniors Online who receive discounted rates.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missskybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caphill-7, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 2, 2010
Dear Missskybird

Thank you for posting such a great review of our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our people and I have passed your kind words about the staff on to the team.

Karin Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,031 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#25 of 57 in Canberra
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing