We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Fine, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

There's nothing really 'wrong' with this place, it's just bland. Clearly old and a bit tired, the property has been renovated as best as possible for a property of its age. Except the bathrooms which are...tired. But everything is clean and well maintained and the rooms are spacious enough.

The bed is quite comfy, which is a plus. Only 5 mins walk to Manuka where there are plenty of food options and next to Manuka oval if you're here for sport. Obviously it's a business hotel during the week and in that respect would be perfectly functional esp if you are working in the parliamentary zone.

If you get a special deal, you'll be happy with the hotel if a clean room and friendly staff are all you require.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BSBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Great to hear you found the staff here to be friendly and the hotel rooms to be clean and comfortable.

The hotel is in a great location close to Manuka with plenty of food options, which is what majority of our guest's really enjoy.

Thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    364
    282
    107
    63
See reviews for
260
325
61
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel has improved since it had a refurbishment. I stayed here with family and the kids enjoyed the pool! There were four of us in a standard room (we had a fold-out sofa for the kids) and it was a bit 'cosy' but it was only for a weekend so we managed. It is a short walk to the Manuka shops and restaurants but you will probably need a car if you want to visit the other Canberra attractions. The hotel restaurant has a reasonable breakfast buffet but it can get busy on weekends. Overall it was comfortable and pleasant.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for one facing the court yard, not the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivz_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review!

It was pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel has improved since it's refurbishment.
Our pool is fantastic for kids glad they enjoyed it!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canberra.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

At Rydges Capital Hill I am always warmly welcomed, as if an old friend not seen in some time had dropped by. From there everything that you would do in your own home in such a case happens in an unstrained moment ...
It's known as civility and it's hard to teach, in fact you can't teach it. It's one of those things you have or you don't, and it's free.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCapHill, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We certainly share your view on civility, this plus courtesy and competence are so essential for a great Hotel stay.

I hope we have the opportunity to be of service on a future visit to Canberra.

Warm regards
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had an excellent stay of 3 nights in late April and quite frankly I didn't want to leave, but we did have the best room in the hotel (the Pavillion Suite). It was an amazing room, the largest that we have stayed in and the views from every window (there were 8 double floor to ceiling windows) was just lovely, but I will try to be fair in my review.
I booked this Hotel because of the room size and the price however, I was then a little nervous to see all the negative reviews and they did seem justified, they still do. The hotel is definitely run down in some areas and their attempt to refurbish some rooms is moderately pathetic and it's a big shame really as the public areas are well maintained, clean and very spacious and the hotel is in a very quiet and tree filled district. We found the staff on the most part to be very helpful and in some cases extremely helpful. One in particular, Johnathon Stubbs, couldn't put himself out enough to cater to our every whim. We also had a couple of requests of our room service staff and they couldn't help us fast enough. The room was also very clean and nicely presented, yes we could see the wear and tear, but for goodness sake how spoilt are we?

We had in room dining the first night and was so impressed we ended up having for the next 2 nights as well. Well done chef, I have a fussy palate.

The parking cost at $12 a night was a pain but it is clearly marked on the site. We managed to get free parking at the front of the hotel for 2 of our 3 nights, but unfortunately for some reason we got charged for 2. On check out we told the receptionist it was only 1 night but we later found out that we still got charged for the 2. No biggie, the cheap price of our hotel room more than made up for it.

What did irk me was the $10 usage fee (for each use) they charged for the gym. What tha! That's unheard of, I decided not to bother as I only wanted to do 5 mins on the exercise bike, it wasn't worth it.

From the hotel you can walk to Parliament House (we did) about a 15 min walk. You can also walk to Questacon. The National Portrait Gallery, the National Library, The High Court building, the Carillon and Lake Burley Griffin.

Would we stay here again?.....IN A HEART BEAT! Just loved it, but I think I would have to stay in the Pavillion Suite again.

Room Tip: I think anywhere in this hotel would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelbabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCapHill, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review.

I’m pleased that you stayed despite some trepidation and the Hotel was to your liking – especially the food and Mr Stubbs, I have shared your kind remarks with him and the Restaurant team.

While over $1Million was spent on a refurbishment last year, we understand the need to continually invest in the building and will continue to do so.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Found it very good. Amazing interior and attentive staff. Not dirty, no charge for parking (plenty of it in basement close by), facilities good, food good. Much better than the shocker in the chain: Queenstown. Avoid that one at all costs!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thereandbackagainNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCapHill, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
I was pleased to read that you found us “very professional” Hotel clean and with good food – your endorsement is much appreciated.

Thanks again, perhaps we will see on another visit to Australia.


Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

When we arrived it was sprung on us that parking was $12. A charge had never been mentioned and it was eventually waived. The bedroom was small and dimly lit. There was only one face washer the first night and it was dirty! There was nowhere too hang towels.
It was impossible to control the temperature and room was always hot. Our room looked onto an atrium but when we opened the window we got more hot air. There was no outward facing window and no opportunity to get fresh air. The bathroom needed a good scrub. The grouting was filthy and there was back mould in the shower...which was over the bath with no nonslip mat. Breakfast was extensive but the hot food was cold. The first day there were few staff and tables were uncleared and dirty. That did improve. I can find nothing to recommend this hotel. It is isolated from city centre. It is near nothing of merit.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuttaJumbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCapHill, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Clearly we started badly and your stay went downhill from there.
Your experience was quite poor and not the standard we expect of ourselves; I hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the poor presentation of the room.
It is disappointing that you did not report the malfunctioning air-conditioning to us; we would certainly have acted and fixed it or moved you to another room – sounds like a faulty thermostat which can happen from time to time.
Please contact me if you are returning, I’m certain we can make the next stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

While not the most modern hotel, the staff are very well trained and welcoming, the rooms clean and functional and the hotel design provides an overall generosity of space and quality not present in more modern, cramped designs. Excellent location - easy walk to Manuka restaurants, 5 min drive to the National Gallery. Undercover parking was at an additional cost which was surprising. The Rydges beds are nice, but given they are on the softer side not necessarily everyone's choice.

Room Tip: I wouldn't say there is a "bad" room but be aware some face the road, and others face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186daver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCapHill, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
I was delighted to read that you found the staff well trained and welcoming. There is certainly a lot to do in the local area, it is also quite pleasant and easy to walk or cycle around.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#24 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing