We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight trip to Canberra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overnight trip to Canberra”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I actually booked this Rydges hotel by accident. Another Rydges hotel in Canberra would have been closer to the appointment we needed to attend. Some reviews on the hotel were not glowing but I decided to stick with it and what a surprise. We had a lovely large room on the ground floor. The room had been refurbished and was very clean with nice toiletries, lounge and plenty of room. The staff on reception were very helpful both on check in and check out. We did eat dinner in the bar and had a couple of drinks at the end of the day. Both food and drinks were reasonably priced. Breakfast was lovely and plenty to be had. Staff in the restaurant were very pleasant and very good. All in all a lovey experience. We would visit again. I thought that it was reasonably priced for canberra during the week. Maybe this had something to do with school holidays.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
It was great to read that you enjoyed dinner in the bar, it has a great deck perfect for relaxing on a warm summer evenings.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the staff who will appreciate them very much.

Thanks again, please visit us again soon.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    376
    294
    107
    65
See reviews for
266
339
61
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

booked in for a quick weekend get away into a king spa room, it was large , roomy, clean and comfortable.... absolutely a lovely place to stay, it was close walking distance to manuka where there was a few bars, cinema and shopping. and a 20 dollar taxi ride to the city center....It wasnt overly pricey, considering the beautiful room, one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in and everything else available for you, such as a indoor pool and spa for use... a bar and restaurant plus 24 hour room service...

Room Tip: King spa rooms ,, just for the most comfortable bed ever !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
I was delighted to read your positive experience of Canberra and our Hotel.

As you discovered there is a lot to do within walking distance of the Hotel the National Gallery, surprisingly good restaurants and Questacon nearby.

Thanks so much, we were greatly encouraged by your comments.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed there on Monday and Tuesday 13 and 14 January 2014 and had a great stay. We did not have any complaints about the room or the hotel at all. Everything was great. The bar and hotel staff were very friendly and everything was very clean and tidy. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Canberra. It was also very central to all of the attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
I’m really pleased we delivered “clean and tidy” and “staff very friendly”.

Thanks so much for the recommendation, please visit us again if you make it back to Canberra.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a perfect stay here. And for the price we payed it was great value for money (booked through secret hotel which worked perfectly). Bathroom a little dated, but clean and nice. Staf very helpful and friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I was pleased to read you had a pleasant experience, thank you for the kind comments.

Hopefully we will see you back with us again soon.

Kind regards
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 645 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We just had a great stay at Rydges Capital Hill. After reading the reviews on here I was a bit worried, but we had a great time there.

Some of what has been written about the hotel is accurate, it's had a semi-makeover. The public areas are nice, the room that we had overall was very nice, but the details let it down a bit. The beds were VERY comfortable, the room was clean, the WiFi was free and effective, the air con was very effective and the carpet & paint were fresh & new.

A few things give away the makeover as being partial: very old electricals/power points/air con controls, daggy tiles on bathroom floor.

BUT with such comfortable beds, new desk and amenities, nice big TV, tasteful decor, friendly staff and a great pool, we thought overall it was very good value for money.

The pool was particularly good for us as it's indoors which meant the kids could be in the pool for hours without worry of sunburn. And, unlike most indoor pools, the room was not stuffy or humid - it was very comfortable - and had good WiFi (free). They also provide some pool toys and safety floats.

The hotel is a 7 or 8 minute walk (with kids) to Manuka shops, movies, supermarket, etc. If you ave kids, there's a tank on the way to the shops that they can check out. The parking is under the hotel, which is handy - no worry about the weather - and there were always parking spots available during our stay.

It's also very close to the mint, parliament house and its not far from the reptile farm/dinsoaur museum/cockington green etc.

We found the hotel comfortable, friendly, clean and good value for money. We'll certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: we had a room on the outside of the hotel, so the atrium lights and privacy weren't an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dromomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay particularly mentioning tasteful decor and the indoor pool.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on friendly staff they try hard to please and the feedback is much appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in a twin room (2 double beds) with my 2 children, 16 and 13. The rooms have had a soft refurbish but the rest is so very tired. My main issues:
- toilet seat didn't fit the toilet, obviously replaced
- toilet took ages to refill
- hairdryer didn't work
- the awful sink outside the bathroom, which was dirty and stained with a cupboard screwed shut, took us a while to find the fridge (under the TV)
- never did work out the TV, couldn't get local channels even with 2 teenagers in charge of the remote
- ancient sliding door wardrobe right beside the bed
- could hear vacuuming from other rooms from 7am
- full length glass sliding doors that open into the atrium. Meant that we couldn't sit in the room withou closing the curtains. Yet the curtains allowed light in at night.

Luckily I got the room on a deal which included breakfast and parking other wise I would have felt really ripped off.

I've now stayed at both Canberra Rydges and one in Sydney. I've yet to be impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside of the hotel so you have a window rather than a glass sliding door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Your experience was disappointing and not the standard we expect of ourselves; I hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the poor presentation of the room.

Please contact me if you are returning, I’m certain we can make the next stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Note: The published room rate for this hotel does does not does not include the $12 daily car park fee. There is very limited off-street parking available nearby, so you have no choice but to pay.

The hotel could have been more upfront on there fees.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
I was disappointed to read that you felt we were not up front on car parking charges.

We advertise the cost of car parking on our internet site and you would have driven past a very large sign advising that “Charges apply” and through a security gate with a similar sign.

We do have limited outside parking at the hotel available at no cost (Subject to availability).

I will be following up with our staff to make sure this is more clearly explained in future.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#27 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing