We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for short stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in Rydges Capital Hill during Floriada year ago. I bought deal on livingsocial. For early booking we were upgrade to spa room. Room very nice, clean, we even received bottle of vine and chocolates on arrival :)
Breakfast very tasty, only one thing: for coffee from espresso machine you need to pay extra.
Free Wifi :)
Long distance to CBD :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voss v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the breakfast to be very tasty, the free wifi throughout the hotel has also had some very positive feedback from previous guest’s as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    371
    289
    107
    65
See reviews for
263
335
61
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Park, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was a nice hotel. I stayed overnight. Location was okay but probably rather stay closer to everything so didn't have to drive everywhere. I did check in after 2pm as requested though but had trouble with room being ready. Had to wait 10 mins minimum before we could go to a room

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Hi Rachel,

Thank you for your recent review, It was pleasing to hear you found the hotel to be nice and in a reasonably good location.

I do apologize that your room was not ready at 2 pm and that there was a short wait to get into your room. I will be following up with our housekeeping department in regards to this.

We do hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are back in Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Quite a dated hotel but still quite nice and comfortable. Well appointed, clean and very quiet. Ample parkingand multiple boardrooms so well appointed for meetings. Close to parliament house, shops and restaurants and certainly a good option for business travellers.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rodkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with some feedback on your recent stay with us at Rydges Capital Hill.

Glad to hear that you found the rooms to be comfortable, clean & quiet, also the location of the hotel suited your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canberra for business.

Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
748 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I attended a conference here. It's a great venue for that. The hotel itself is nice and the event area is part of an atrium, which is very pleasant for networking and chatting - good acoustics. The event rooms are well appointed, good flexible sizes and good facilities. Great food and a very nice experience all round. I wouldn't hesitate to come here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and that you found the whole experience to be a very good one!
I will pass on your feedback to our Conference Sales Manager.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Canberra.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a lovely overnight stay with my hubby and our 3.5 year old toddler. Hubby was in Canberra for some work so this was booked for us by his company. I have to say that everything was just lovely. The location very convenient to restaurants/takeaways and Coles, only a short 5 min walk. The room itself was really good, small little touches such as leaving my son a little colouring pack on his made sofa bed was really appreciated. Huge spa bath and great shower and water pressure. There were signs that the hotel was getting older but it didn't really bother us. Super comfy king size bed. Didn't get to try the restaurant so can't really comment on it but it looked lovely. Will definitely come back again !!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tzu1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying particularly kind of you mentioning the gift for your 3.5 year old and the great water pressure.

We hope to welcoming you and the family back in the near future.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at Rydges Capital hill each time we have taken our granddaughters to floriade and each time have had a great stay. We normally stay in a two room spa suite which I has plenty of room for us to spread out and is very comfortable, the grand children love the spa. We breakfast in the hotel restaurant and have always been happy with the great buffet meal which is always of a high standard. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is centrally located in Canberra very close to the main drag of Manuka.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Shane,

Thank you for your kind review, It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

We look forward to having you stay with us again next year for floriade.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We selected the hotel because it was close to Manuka and access to the places we wanted to visit was good. We noted that they made much on their web site of having renovated the hotel recently, but we found little to see about that apart from, possibly, new beds and pillows. The room décor is old and the bathroom was out of date. A particular problem to us was the shower over the bath, as there were no safety rails to assist in getting in and out of the bath. We also found that rooms facing into the atrium can suffer from early morning noise (3.00am) as staff went about their work, and we had heat issues with the room air conditioning, which the hotel was eventually able to fix. Breakfast is much more expensive than local cafes, particularly as we were advised that we had to pay the full buffet price, even though we only wanted a light breakfast. Obviously, we didn't do that and used a local café which was excellent.

Room Tip: I suggest that an outside room may be best as there did not appear to be much traffic on the roads a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did like the refurbishment, everything in the bedroom was replaced and feedback has mostly been very positive. Your concerns regarding shower over bath are noted, we have in excess of 40 rooms that have separate showers and would be delighted to ensure that you are allocated one next time.

Please contact me if you are returning, I’m certain we can make the next stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,032 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing