We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gold star staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Gold star staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Whoever is in charge of customer service at Rydges Capital Hill you should be bottled! Warm, welcoming and natural. The hotel has had some minor refurbishment ( ie new carpet) and is in a good location close to Parliament House, National Gallery, Manuka shops etc but basically it feels and looks tired. My room which opened onto the central garden was beautifully quiet and had opening windows. If trip advisor had half stars I'd make it 3.5 as it's a bit more than average but until there's a bit of a tart up it will have to be a 3.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room, though I've had a road facing room before now and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wirraburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Your “Gold Star” and kind comments regarding the staff are most appreciated; please be assured I have shared them with the team here at Capital Hill.

Regarding refurbishment; add to the new carpet.........curtains, coffee tables, bedside tables and a repaint we’ve headed in the right direction. Perhaps you can add a fourth star to the Tripadvisor rating next time?

Please visit us again soon.


Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    373
    289
    107
    65
See reviews for
264
335
61
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not elegant and has no wow factor, but what it lacks here is made up for by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. It is in a quiet area and has a range of facilities, none of which I tried because of my short stay.

Within one hour of arriving there was some sort of fire emergency. The warning alarm and warden's message could not be heard in the bedroom and by the time you open the door to hear the speaker in the hallway, you have missed the message. This is potentially very dangerous !

The bedroom had all the usual amenities of a 4 star hotel but at a country B&B standard. The carpet was filthy and stained. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well, but awakened when I realized that the curtains don't overlap and there was someone on the balcony at my window. The balcony seems to serve several rooms and people can see into the bedroom through the gap in the curtains. I don't like showers in the bathtub because it is easy to slip nor do I care for shower curtains. I think the bathrooms need some attention.

The room service was hard to contact suggesting understaffing, but the food arrived promptly and was delicious. prompt once you got through to them.

Altogether, I would rate it as a very nice 3.5 star that needs some additional care. For an overnight stay I found it quite pleasant and would consider returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for commenting on the staff, they try hard and appreciate the recognition.

I’ll follow up your comment on the fire alarm, we were conducting drills in January and I’ve not had that feedback before. Regarding the carpet and curtains, we complete the last rooms tomorrow so that is now in the past; I regret that you are not here now to see the finished result.

Regarding bathrooms, our Queen and Twin rooms have a “bath over shower” however for only a little more a King Spa Suite has a 2 person spa and a separate shower – I highly recommend this option.

Your comment regarding staffing in Room Service is noted, I agree it is an area we could improve and will be looking at staff levels where at all possible.

Thank you for your courtesy and interest, please visit us again soon.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

we picked a special through wotif.com, for a family room, the room was great and great rate as well, the king bed one of the most comfortable we have slept in. Overall stay was great especially the 11am check out as standard, 4 mins from Parliament House

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian L, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback it was very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the Rydges Dream bed one of the most comfortable beds that you have slept in, we think they are great too!

Look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We picked up a great special through a travel site, and were more than pleasantly surprised at what greeted us. Our room was a king spa room. Extremely spacious with the bed area raised a step or two above the lounge area. Large bathroom and spa bath.
Ideal location - close to many attractions. Unfortunately we were there to attend a medical appointment but this accommodation ensured us comfort close by to the Capital Day Surgery. Also close to Manuka Oval and great restaurants.
Room service was affordable and enjoyable.

Highly recommended and we look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuliku100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I wholeheartedly agree a King Spa Suite is definitely the best option, well done on getting a great deal!

There are quite a lot of Suites in this Hotel, 20 of the King Spa type and 17 others in assorted sizes including the Honeymoon, Embassy, Fitzroy, Dominion and Pavilion Suites which are really very large and flexible.

Thanks for the recommendation, please stay again soon I hope without the need for a visit to the surgery.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are frequent visitor to Canberra and as such are always looking for reasonably priced accomondation and good deals. Rydges met this in every way. We stayed for two nights and took advantage of their package deal to the National Gallery, excellent value. Room was well presented and clean with two Queen size beds, very comfy. Buffet breakfast was very relaxing and the indoor pool looked inviting. Will definitely be looking to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian L, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Julie,

Thank you for such a nice review! With all positive feedback from your recent visit to Canberra, It was great to hear you took advantage of our Toulouse-Latrec package which includes tickets to the National Gallery and a full buffet breakfast in the morning, also it was pleasing to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable.

Look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are back in Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The size of the room, location and a very good deal made this the perfect hotel for us. It's not comparable to similar star ratings in Sydney, but then none of the hotels we have ever stayed in in Canberra are.

Queen room with sofa bed was a good size for 2 adults and 2 young children. Located at the end of the hall on reception level where there was limited noise. We could hear some party noise from across the garden where there was a wedding; I would not have wanted to be in a room overlooking the atrium.

Note of caution for families, the doors are heavy and slam, really slam! Watch for child fingers. As mentioned by someone else there are minor maintenance issues but this did not detract at all from our stay.

LOVE the location. 10 minute walk to Manuka (with 3yo) for eateries and a Coles. We will not buy crusty rolls and take them back to the room again due to dark carpet - sincere apologies to housekeeping staff. So close to NGA & Portrait Gallery & Questacon and a short drive to a park.

LOVE the pool and spa.

Some mix up in rooms at beginning and not impressed with staff trying to make excuses, being told it was what I had booked and then told I had been given an upgrade for a room which actually cost the same amount, but worked out in the end.

Room Tip: Level 1 end of hall for a Queen with sofa or 2 x doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EeariePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian L, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay here at Rydges Capital Hill.

I apologise firstly for the mix up with your booking when you first arrived, I will follow up with my fellow staff members in regards to this, I was happy to hear everything got sorted out in the end. It was very pleasing to hear that you found the location to be ideal for all your family’s needs, also that you found your room to be spacious & also reasonably quiet, our pool & spa is great for families too!

Again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

we had 3 rooms booked. the staff upgraded one room to the honeymoon suite. The rooms were huge. We had a double room with walkin wardrobe and marble bathroom with a spa. It had 2 TVA and a balcony. Room number 372. breakfast good buffet. One toaster not work. The pool, spa, gym, sauna was payable at around $8.80 per room. For hotel guests it should be supplied. Staff were friendly and efficient. Secure parking. We have been here a few times and will not be the last time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbacat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian L, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Kimbacat

Thank you for you kind review, It was so nice to hear you found our rooms to be quiet spacious and that they suited all of your needs, It was also pleasing to hear that you found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and efficient.

Our pool spa & sauna are free for guest’s to use, there is just a small charge of $8.80 for use of our gym.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in Canberra.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing