We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Ok, so lets get the bad out of the way. The room was small, the bathroom very small and I didn't get the room I booked via Wotif. Water pressure and temperature was all over the place.

That said, the staff were very friendly. An offer was made to move me to another room with the king size bed I booked but when I was told it was just 2 singles pushed together I decided not to worry. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. While it was a small bathroom, at least it was large enough dry off in and the shower head was high enough for my 6'2" frame to get completely under.

Good budget accommodation. With the Manuka shops just a short down the road, you could do a lot worse!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2010

i was on business in canberra, and found the forrest to be perfect for my requirments. i brought the car, but i didnt need it, since the government offices where i was working was a short 10 minute walk. the rooms were clean and comfortable with a good bed, and most importantly it was quiet, so i got a good nights sleep.

it seems to be located in a really nice part of town, lots of green from what i could see, and i enjoyed my walks to the local shopping village nearby, which to my surprise were just chock full of restaurants and cafes. great place to hang out from what i can see. all the locals seem to think so as well ,from how busy it was

i also found the wifi usefull, its not free unfortunately, but i got 1 gig for $15, which isnt too bad.

i was there during the week, and it seems to be quite a busy little place, never the less, i found the staff very friendly and helpfull

canberra seems a bit on the expensive side accommodation wise, but i was quite happy with the price i paid and what i got for it, and i would certainly stay again.

and thank you to the staff, they were fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busyguy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Opened the door to terribly dissappointing 'king' room. Nothing like the pictures on the website. Paper thin walls, and frustratingly, despite most rooms being empty, they lump people in adjacent rooms...so had to listen to people all night.
NOT a king sized bed...2 singles...hard, low singles.
Small shower and bathroom. Cold, tiled floors.
Location is good, walking distance to Manuka...they just shouldn't mislead on what they are...a cheap motel, at moderate hotel prices.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Drab, depressing, old-fashioned & VERY COLD - had to choose between air cond blowing in your face (non-adjustable flow) or nothing. Electric blanket only partially worked, spots of warm & that's all. Family 'suite' is what we booked but discovered that's a euphemism for a motel style room (with two single beds pushed together) with door opening into even smaller room (with 2 single beds) and a sink, microwave & fridge in a kind of corridor in between (no door). Because we had small child & requested cot, there was also a cot shoved into this small area between the two single beds so had to climb over beds to get around. Cold cement walls & tiled floors. No sitting area - had to all pile on to the bed in main room to watch TV at night. A tiny table with 2 chairs so had to perch on edge of bed to eat meals. Definitely not suited to family. Shabby & slightly grotty bathroom. Really disappointing especially for the price (which was considerable - $200/night ).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Having seen some of the negative reviews, we made sure we inspected the available apartments before signing up for a 10-night stay. There are two sections to this establishment - the hotel section and the nearby blocks of apartments. Renovations appeared to be ongoing throughout, which might explain the varied experiences of reviewers.

We inspected a "standard" and an "executive" two-bedroom apartment. Both had two separate bedrooms, single bathroom, separate toilet/laundry, kitchen and lounge/dining room. The executive apartment had been recently renovated, with a wall knocked down to open the kitchen up to the living area; new tiling; new paintwork; and new appliances. The standard apartment was unrenovated and had older appliances. We chose the executive apartment, and had a very comfortable stay.

The apartment was well-equipped; we had ample blankets and pillows and good heating, plus the beds were fitted with electric blankets. The kitchen had a dishwasher, oven, cooktop and microwave and sufficient cooking equipment, cutlery and crockery to be able to fully self-cater. There were no written instructions for the clothes washer/dryer, so it was a case of trial and error to get that worked out.

There was a fee for broadband internet access, but it was charged according to download so you could buy a Gigabyte of downloading for $15 with no expiry date, which worked out very cheaply.

The location is quiet and private; the only noise was from the adjacent tennis courts, which wasn't too bad. The Italian Club, which has a couple of restaurants, was in the same suburban block, but I would suggest walking five minutes to Manuka which has some of Canberra's best restaurants and cafes, plus cinemas, supermarket, gourmet food shops etc. We also walked to the National Library and other attractions in the Parliamentary Triangle.

All up, this offers good value for money in terms of family accommodation in Canberra, especially if you are looking for a longer stay, and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Forrest Hotel And Apartments are located in a very quiet location in Canberra, yet quite close to several attractions which you could walk to but as it was –3C whist we were there we took the car. Staff were helpful and booking in was smooth and hassle free. Tried the restraunt on one night and food was quite acceptable and reasonably priced. Our room didn’t have the typical “apartment” stuff cooking etc but that was fine as I selected a less expensive room option which was good value for money. Room was a bit dated but, a comfortable bed and all the facilities worked well including the air con which was vital with –3C overnight. Only concern in the bathroom was no bars of soap, just the dispensing type not just at the hand basin but also in the shower, don’t like it personally. Upstairs room a bit of a hike with the luggage should have asked for downstairs as we were there for 2 nights, a lesson learnt. Certainly would stay there again providing the price was reasonable.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Oztraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Stayed here last month with my partner in one of the deluxe rooms (queen bed + kitchenette). Felt it was fairly clean (though the bathroom could have done with a repaint), comfortable and the kitchenette facilities were enough to make a decent meal. It was a little cold in the evening, but good value for money and great location!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misspiggy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#21 of 58 in Canberra
564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $97 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing