We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Canberra
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveler rating
389
635
298
94
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
389
635
298
94
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parliament house great location manuka shops national circuit electric blankets bbq area off street parking apartment was clean quiet location washing machine parliamentary triangle short drive short stay tourist attractions one bedroom apartment free parking full kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 19 Jan out 20 Jan.
The location is in a very quiet part of Canberra about 10 mins from city centre. The friendly reception staff advised the restaurant was closed on Sunday, as we were not familiar with area, they kindly pointed out that Manuka shopping precinct was a convenient 3 min drive or 10-minute walk. The shopping area is paid street parking most hours Mon-Sat, we lucked out as not required on a Sunday night, but if you are on a budget, and capable, walk.
The room was located on the ground floor at the back of the hotel, with plenty of unallocated parking available. The room was very clean and the beds (1 queen and 1 single) were pretty comfy, note to self, bring own pillow next time (fussy). The bathroom was small but adequate, clean except for a few spots of mould on ceiling, an opening window would probably fix this as the fan is only going when in the room. The floor tiles at the bathroom entrance were flexing, not a biggy for the able bodied but a potential trip hazard for some. Great TV and AC, with toaster, tea & coffee making facilities. WIFI was available but we could not find the access code anywhere in the room, reception maybe should have advised this upon check-in. We picked a busy night and it was a bit noisy until late at night with cars coming and going while trying to get off to noddy land. Next time I would probably ring the hotel direct instead of booking online, to try and dodge the ground floor car park noise and overhead room above with elephant feet. This review may sound a tad picky, but considering the price point, I would recommend it to others. Top value for money in a great location.

Room tip: maybe not ground floor
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelbug575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy W, Forrest Hotel And Apartments Team at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for your lovely review.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Warm regards
The Forrest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reception was lovely very helpful and kind on arrival,our room was a bit Smaller than what I was expecting but modern and practical.. I felt that we were out the way from entertainment places, but the parliament house was very close by, and manuka a very short work to restaurants and supermarket.
Thank you for having us.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Tour702273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy W, Forrest Hotel And Apartments Team at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for your delightful review and your helpful comments.
Warm regards
The Forrest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff are lovely and the rooms are clean. With that exception, unfortunately, everything else about the Forrest Hotel and Apartments failed my expectations.

The room was poorly lit, smelly and dark. The door did not lock properly. The layout of the hotel makes it more akin to a "Motor Inn". The restaurant is expensive and doesn't open early enough. The "budget" price, unfortunately, attracts the wrong kinds of guests.

I just wouldn't stay here again. I really liked the owner and the staff were so polite - but they are let down by a terribly designed hotel.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alexpinnock5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy W, Forrest Hotel And Apartments Team at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for your feedback,as it only helps us improve.
We encourage our guests to please get in touch,while you are on site.

You are our priority and we will always accommodate where ever we can.

Warm regards

The Forrest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Comfy room, tops reception ppl, clean tidy room worthwhile experience
How silly, the computer asks me to use more words. Lots of pillows, split system air conditioning,toaster, kettle, tea, coffee, television,

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank P305NCsimonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy W, Public Relations Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Thank-you for your lovely review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon.

Warm regards

The Forrest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

Canberra at Christmas is quiet, which reflected on the hotel. A quiet hotel, in a quiet location. But very close to Parliament House. Canberra is a large city with everything spread out so it's difficult to say "this hotel is central" or "that hotel is central" to everything. That's impossible. But for the Parliament house and Lake district, this hotel was lovely. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Enough onsite parking too. Restaurant and shopping district only two blocks away. The room was clean and the bathroom spacious. The only possible negative (and it's not a biggie) is that the restaurant boasts a 'bar' but it doesn't actually have a bar (that most people understand). And the restaurant closes early. However, given that I was the only person in there over a two hour period, there's really no point to stay open. The bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and the service was great. The price point is spectacular. We'd definitely return! Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room tip: If you have a lot of luggage, request a ground floor apartment
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RustyVDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy W, Forrest Hotel And Apartments Team at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank-you for your delightful review and your kind recommendation.

We looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

The Forrest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews