We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mould & Ants in Bathroom!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My family just stayed at the Forrest Hotel & Apartments. Had heard good reviews for the hotel & at $189 per night was looking forward to staying. The staff at Reception were lovely & the location was great. Sadly, the same could not be said for the apartment. Worst bed & pillows ever - I regret not taking my pillow from home. The bathroom was so small - the door opened outwards; when you sat on the toilet, your head was 2 inches away from the glass shower door; the sink was so tiny & jammed into the corner of the wall & the shower that you could barely fit to brush your teeth & there was mould on the sink & mould spots on the tiles & ants were a common find in the bathroom as well - especially around our toothbrushes! The toaster burnt the toast even when on the lowest setting & the powerpoints were a worry to use with the face plate missing on one of them & a dodgy switch on another. I was looking forward to enjoying our time in Canberra & we did, however, we will never recommend Forrest Hotel & Apartments to anyone wanting to stay in the apartments...

Room Tip: Not sure of the hotel rooms, but not impressed with the apartment at all. Sorry for the harsh revie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Effie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hi Effie,

Thank you very much for the feedback. Its of great concern to us, that we obviously have not met your expectations. Its so out of character with all the good reviews we get. We would love the opportunity to discuss these issues with you , to see how best we can resolve them to your satisfaction. Please do get in touch . Would love to have a chat.

All the best,

Kind Regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Location good very central, close to galleries, restaurants attractions. Hotel old style with modern conveniences. Clean and reasonable value for Canberra. Breakfast very good. Staff good. Disappointed that restuarant not available Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

hi Joe,

Glad you enkoyed your stay. thank you for the feedback.

Much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The price is amazing. Its my number 1 place to stay in Canberra. The staff are very friendly, the service excellent and the room is modern and appointed to an excellent standard. The big flat screen TV just tops off the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottster914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

hi Scottster914,

Thank you very much for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great location, very close to Manuka shops and restaurants. The apartment was clean and quiet and the outside areas lovely. Beds were not the most comfortable but not terrible. The two bedroom apartment had seen some refurbishment but the bathroom was really in need of an update. Overall for the price adequate.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KFG05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

hi KFG05,

Thank you very much for the feedback. Much apprciated.

We will certainly take on board your comments.

All the best,

Kind regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Checked in on 6th April, fast and efficient. Great location. Had an executive 1 bedroom apartment with roll away bed. It was comfortable, clean. The towels were the best. Exactly like described!
Very quiet at night. Slept very well. Thank you very much for keeping the apartment sooo clean and welcoming!

Room Tip: We are at ground floor near laundry. It was very quiet. I think if travel 2-3 ppl, 1 bedroom executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

hI Serena,

Thank you very much for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

All the best,

Kind regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My friend and I were just in Canberra for a weekend away and looking for good budget accommodation, and Forrest Hotel and Apartments seemed to fit the bill; good price, central location and favourable reviews.
Booking was easy and check-in only took a few minutes, and the ladies in reception were very helpful and friendly. The room, even though it was only for two, was still impressive. Very clean, well set-out and I had the best sleep I have ever had in a motel, such a quiet place despite the location. There was a lot of tourist information available in the room and in reception, and an information pack that explained all aspects of the Hotel. We were on the second floor, and had a lovely view of the park and drive.

Honestly though, my favourite part was the bathroom. I've stayed in a lot of budget accommodation, and most of the bathrooms I've been in have had some serious flaw or annoyance, such as terrible showerheads, no fans and poor drainage, but this was an extremely well-maintained, pleasant bathroom, and everything actually worked as it was supposed to. It was even better than the bathroom I have at home so it felt more like a holiday than just putting up with something for the sake of hygiene. Had a strange shower gel/soap/shampoo/conditioner hybrid gel, and even though complimentary shampoo and conditioner bottles are also provided. I brought my own bar of soap so it didn't really bother me. (Also other toiletries are sold on-site just in case you've forgotten something, handy!)

My only two complaints are the fact the restaurant on site is only open for dinner from Mondays to Thursdays (though from what I saw breakfast was available more often), and that the room had no bowls for my cereal in the morning. Other than that, I was very happy with the stay.

Highly recommended for budget accommodation in central Canberra. Really enjoyable stay, my friend and I loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

hi liz,

Thank you very much for the feedback. Much apprciated.

All the best,

Kind regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was one of the nicest I have stayed in for sometime. Everyone was friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable, the bed was fantastic, a major plus for me, and the folks at the restaurant were lovely, and the food was excellent. Lots of space to park, and the whole atmosphere was very safe and comforting. Very convenient location for me, and I will definitely be using this hotel again in the future for business accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen82W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hi Karen,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

All the best,

Kind Regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#22 of 58 in Canberra
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
1,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $98 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing