We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Loxton, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm Stay”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed three nights whilst I attended a Celebrants Conference 'over the road'. Our room was lovely and warm; basic; good TV; tea/coffee etc all good. Bathroom a bit small for my big husband and toilet bit squishy as too close to wall. Shower good; hairdryer good; towels good. Suited our purposes. One downside was the noise from other travellers coming, but all was quiet after about 10.30pm. Meals top class and breakfast yummy. Free internet; reception girls excellent. Thanks for an excellent stay. And yes we will come again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori040549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a very detailed feedback regarding our hotel. We appreciate your compliments so much.

We are happy to know that our hotel meets your requirements and you are satisfied with the restaurant and our receptionists.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    514
    263
    78
    45
See reviews for
349
383
97
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very no frills, aside from the nice LED tv. The bathrooms were a little uninviting: the shower head annoying, toilet a little grubby...

But generally pretty good - we booked at late notice and it only cost $90, which is decent for Canberra. The staff were nice, beds comfortable, I was pretty satisfied

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-tron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. We really appreciate your sincere comments and will definitely take them into consideration for room renovation plan.

In the meantime, we are happy to know that you are pretty satisfied with our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back and having an opportunity to discuss with you personally.

Kind regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed two nights in a one bedroom apt.
Reception service: good, simple, fast and efficient.
Apt. basic but very good. Clean, efficient, a full size fridge and cooker; it even had an espresso machine that I loved!
Split system air conditioning, good, not too noisy. Extra blankets and doona in the closet, good!
Bathroom, updated, with nice modern vanity but good old-fashioned fully enclosed shower. No frills but efficient. Hate the very "cool" bathrooms that splash water everywhere!
We loved the free parking, without complications or gates and ramps.
Excellent location, around the corner from the Italian club where you can get reasonable meals but a few hundred meters away from all the nice shops and eateries at Manuka.
Overall, a good place in an excellent location, where you can stay more than one day, as you don't have the constraint of being all the time within the same four walls... for a reasonable price.
If you are expecting fancy decoration, cool features, go somewhere else...

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, let them know, as many units need a flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your very detailed feedback regarding our hotel and your recommendation. We appreciate your compliments so much.

We agree with you that we’ve a very convenient location which is one of the reasons that make us outstanding. And we are happy that you had great experience with our service and staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

- We stayed overnight in mid-May during a cold and rainy time. Met my most important criteria for hotels - CLEAN
- Paid $131 for a 2BR SC apartment. Satisfied with the amenities and facilities.
- Main bedroom - The bed was comfortable but was positioned directly beneath a large window. The window curtain was the same height as the window so you could feel the cold from the window gap on your face when you were sleeping. In the second bedroom with twin beds, only one bed had an electric blanket. However there were lots of extra blankets provided. Aside from the electric blankets, there were no heaters in the bedroom. There was a reverse cycle air-conditioner but it was in the kitchen/lounge area.
- Bathroom was a toilet and shower cubicle. There was no heater in the bathroom. The sink was tiny. There were 2 supposedly waist length mirrors but both were positioned too high and you could only see your shoulder and head if you are 5 ft. 3 in. tall. No mirrors, full length or otherwise, in the bedroom or lounge.
- Each bedroom had its own door. There was another door separating the lounge/kitchen from the bedroom area which was a brilliant addition. You could watch telly in the lounge or cook breakfast in the kitchen without disturbing the others still asleep.
- A decent size kitchen and adequately appointed.
- Request a room on the ground floor if lugging your luggage up a flight of stairs would pose a problem.
- Central location - quick drive to Parliament House and most attractions in Canberra. Pleasant 10 min. walk down Franklin St (beautiful autumn foliage along the way) to Manuka Terrace mall and restaurant strip. We bought groceries at Coles Manuka Terrace. First hour parking in the mall is free. We were there on a rainy day, thank goodness for the undercover parking, we were able to get away from the rain.
- There is a nice park just across the property.
- Would stay again but not in winter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arddwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a very detailed feedback regarding our hotel. We appreciate your compliments so much.

We are happy to know that our hotel meets your requirements and you are happy with our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Forrest Hotel and Apartments on a business trip and was was not very comfortable. On the plus-side, it was very clean, the reception staff were friendly and efficient and the room had a large flat screen TV with Foxtel. However, there was the down-side, which was a much longer list. The hotel from the outside looks old, but I was prepared to consider that they had renovated inside and it would be OK, but it wasn't. It is winter in cold Canberra, and except for carpet around the bed, the floor was cold tiles. There was one thin blanket on the bed, another thin 'spare' blanket in the cupboard, but I was cold in bed. There is a reverse cycle aircon in the room, but it was noisy and rattled as it cut in and out all night keeping me awake. A doona or thick warm blankets would be an vast improvement.
The bathroom was freezing, not heater lamp on the ceiling or bar radiator in sight. It also had one of those windows with a vent to the outside in the top, so unless you were in the shower, it was a cold bathroom. Going to the loo in the middle of the night was a 'bracing' experience. There is no light over the mirror, so women take note, can't see to do your make-up. Room itself has a fluoro light over mirror, but meant walking back and forward to the bathroom. If you stay here, bring earplugs - you can hear every conversation and TV in the rooms around you. There are carparks outside the rooms and car doors were slamming and engines warming up early in the morning each day. Might be good for backpackers or budget travellers, but I wouldn't recommend it for business travellers, I was too tired from lack of sleep to be effective at work while I was staying here. My flight arrived late and I checked in around 9pm, to be told we were too late to order breakfast in my room. Needless to say, I wont be back.

Room Tip: One with no guests next door, sound insulation is non existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel.

We are sorry about the uncomfortable experiences during your stay in the hotel. We are a little concerned about the room temperature problem as we have not received complaints about this matter. We will definitely take your feedback into consideration for room renovation plan.

In the meantime, I would love the opportunity to discuss with you personally, to see if we can address any concerns you have.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Once again we find ourselves in Canberra for work and play, so the Forrest was our first thought for accommodation. The one bedroom apartment has a full kitchen, sitting room, big TV, DVD and iPod dock sound system, perfect for a weekend or longer if you can...

Warm, comfortable and very, very quiet is a bonus in any city.

A short stroll to Manuka (which the inhabitants insist on mispronouncing as 'Marnika' for some bizarre reason, have they never tried the honey ?!?!) where Shopping and eating in any language is very easy, from the burger bars to fine dining, you will find something to enjoy.....though despite all the space in this city, parking can be a chore.

Short drive to Kingston is worth doing for Silo Bakery....expect to wait, a table is nigh on impossible, but the fayre is just superb, with a cheese room for an in-room or outdoor picnic to remember

Will certainly be back when next in town

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bargainboxBBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a very detailed feedback regarding our hotel. And thank you for again selecting us as your accommodation in Canberra.

We are happy to know you are satisfied with our accommodation and location and you had experience with our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The bed was really comfortable. Just a pity the sheets had been folded but definitely not ironed. Fairly basic motel room - but this was expected of a 3 and a half star place. I had a ground floor room, and could hear people walking around in the room above me - one of the problems of having a mainly tiled floor area (carpet only where the beds were). However, people settled for the night fairly early, so sleeping was not an issue for me. I was a bit stunned to be told when I arrived at their restaurant that I couldn't eat there because they had a large group in. When I protested that I was a guest in the hotel it made no difference. They were fairly terse and suggested I could go to the shopping precinct at Manuka and eat there. Elderly woman, alone, in the dark, in unfamiliar streets? I don't think so! They did give me room service (charged extra, but this was waived when I protested). The meal that night and on the following night (no problem eating in restaurant this time) were delicious - but over-priced, I thought. Breakfasts were really good - buffet style, plenty of variety and tasty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzgerald2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel.

We are sorry that our restaurant was pre-booked on that day and was not available. We’re glad that you enjoyed the meal and services in the restaurant.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#24 of 57 in Canberra
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,055 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Property: Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing