We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Budget room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Ok if you are after a cheap budget room, but don't expect too much. Pretty small rooms, and not exactly new or modern decor. Fine though for short stopover. There is a restaurant there, but didn't eat here so don't know if any good or not.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Nat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and had nice experience in our hotel too.

We will continuously strive to ensure a more and more pleasant and comfortable stay will be provided to our guests.

We hope to have your support and a chance to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    497
    260
    73
    42
See reviews for
341
371
91
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Forrest Hotel lies about 3 to 4 km to the southeast of the Parliament House of Australia. The appearance and layout of the hotel/apartment is quite similar to that of a motel in the United States.
The easiest way to get to the hotel from the airport is by taxi, which costs a little over 20 dollars, because there is no direct public bus link. The airport shuttle bus, which costs 10 dollars one way, goes all the way to the city center toward northwest from the airport. The Forrest Hotel is to the south across Lake Burley Griffin. Mr Griffin is the chief designer/architect for the new Australian capital city Caberra. The bus network and its timetable might be a little confusing for new comers.
If your travel plan is flexible, the best time to make a booking at the hotel is off-peak season, when the parliament is not in full session. You might get a 50-80% discount. That is real good bargain. The Forrest is a quiet neighborhood, ideal for a good night’s sleep, if you are not looking for something deluxe. The nearest shopping area is about 10 to 15 minutes walk to Manuka center along Franklin Street. There are restaurants, bars, boutiques, and Coles (super market). It is easy to locate the bus stop there.
I personally find the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff is helpful and friendly. You can even sit in the open corridor and get a suntan in good weather if you choose to. Hot water maker and coffee/tea bags are available. Overall, it is a comfortable experience to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goethelyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. And we love your photos so much, especially the flowers in the yard.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and had nice experience in our hotel.

And thank you for sharing your experience about the transportation and the shopping. Yes, we agree with you about the bus link but with many development plans for the capital region, we hope it will be much better the next time you visit Canberra.

We will continuously strive to ensure a more and more pleasant and comfortable stay will be provided to our guests.

We hope to have your support and a chance to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great service lady on desk was very helpful with getting a room for us aswell as showing us where nearest shops reaturants cafes were. Rooms are a fraction outdated but were clean and comfy. Great location safe area . Nice place for just a stop over over night

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinggypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. We are happy to know that you had nice experience staying with us.

And thank you for sharing your feeling about our nice receptionist. She is so happy to help you and knows that you really appreciated this. We will continuously strive to ensure a more and more pleasant and comfortable stay will be provided to our guests.

We hope to have your support and a chance to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and were happy with our room and service. House cleaning service was great. We didn't eat in the restaurant as the prices were not what we could afford. We ate in differing locations around the city.The bed was comfortable, shower was strong and water temps were consistent. All the requirements of a modern hotel in an older shell. Hidden parking near the rooms and easy access to rooms from many locations around the parking lot. Whilst there, a coach tour came in but this was of no bother to us. The noise was minimal and patrons were respectful. There is also a guest laundry on site. The apartments are at the back of the property away from the hotel rooms. Only one issue was the extreme flexibility in prices.We were given prices online and on arrival, (although not booking online) we were promised those same prices. On booking and paying the next day, the prices had gone up. Later that day we noticed the prices had changed again online and dropped considerably. We needed to re-negotiate a consistent price for our 5 nighht stay and with this done we felt there was value for money and a good choice for us. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a central upstairs room without a room underneath. This was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montybeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. We are sorry about the price change but hope to receive your understanding as the hospitality is a seasonal industry with constant price changes.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your feeling about the property.

We will continuously strive to ensure a more and more pleasant and comfortable stay will be provided to our guests.

We hope to have your support and a chance to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was affordable and clean enough. Breakfast was hearty with buffet hot and cold meals. Pancakes was delicious. TV only showed analogue channels. If you're looking for affordability and budget, this would suit you. Not much accessibility to the hotel with public transport but location is good enough for a nice stroll around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence_Soong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,


Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your feeling about the location.

We will continuously strive to ensure a more and more pleasant and comfortable stay will be provided to our guests.

We hope to have your support and a chance to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Location is great - short walk to Parliament House.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful.
Is an older hotel but is clean and tidy.
Only negative is that the restaurant closed too early. I booked this hotel due to good location and that I can get a meal in the evening. I went to a get a meal at 8pm and the kitchen was closed, which I found a bit annoying. Apart from that, I have no probs recommending to others.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Belinda459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Belinda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for sharing your feeling about the location and reception staff. We are happy to help you and bring you a comfy stay.

Regarding the restaurant, yes, we close early for some guests but we hope to receive your understanding as the demand in the evening is so low for us to open. Our guests normally walk to the Manuka shopping centre with various selections of foods. We hope you could enjoy that next visit.

We hope to have your support and a chance to welcoming you back. We will continuously strive to ensure that a more and more pleasant and comfortable stay will be provided to our guests.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really clean self contained that isn't large but kept in very good order. Dated design, cars at door. King bed was two 3/4 pushed together with a poor ridgeline, walls were paper thin, but other than that, pretty good. A good restaurant on site served a full breakfast for extra.

Room Tip: Heard that rooms overlooking the Park are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and had nice experience in our hotel too.

And thank you for sharing your feeling about the bed, we will continuously strive to ensure a more and more pleasant and comfortable stay will be provided to our guests.

We hope to have your support and a chance to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#24 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Property: Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing