We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Cairns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Location is great - short walk to Parliament House.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful.
Is an older hotel but is clean and tidy.
Only negative is that the restaurant closed too early. I booked this hotel due to good location and that I can get a meal in the evening. I went to a get a meal at 8pm and the kitchen was closed, which I found a bit annoying. Apart from that, I have no probs recommending to others.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Belinda459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Belinda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for sharing your feeling about the location and reception staff. We are happy to help you and bring you a comfy stay.

Regarding the restaurant, yes, we close early for some guests but we hope to receive your understanding as the demand in the evening is so low for us to open. Our guests normally walk to the Manuka shopping centre with various selections of foods. We hope you could enjoy that next visit.

We hope to have your support and a chance to welcoming you back. We will continuously strive to ensure that a more and more pleasant and comfortable stay will be provided to our guests.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    497
    260
    73
    42
See reviews for
341
371
91
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really clean self contained that isn't large but kept in very good order. Dated design, cars at door. King bed was two 3/4 pushed together with a poor ridgeline, walls were paper thin, but other than that, pretty good. A good restaurant on site served a full breakfast for extra.

Room Tip: Heard that rooms overlooking the Park are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and had nice experience in our hotel too.

And thank you for sharing your feeling about the bed, we will continuously strive to ensure a more and more pleasant and comfortable stay will be provided to our guests.

We hope to have your support and a chance to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
P: (02) 6203-4300
E: dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel was easy to locate from the road into Canberra from the South Coast. Booking in was smooth and the receptionist was so very helpful and knowledgeable about tourist information. Good evening meal in the restaurant and this entitled me to free wifi, which i really appreciated. Room small with no view but clean and offered everything a traveller needed. The Beautiful white roses either side of a bench need to be appreciated before the car park gets full! It was easy to walk to many places of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the crossroad of stairs and pathways to the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownOwlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B, Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback regarding our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. And you are right about our rooms. Despite their small sizes, we try to make it still a good value for money. And we love our blooming roses as well :)

We hope to have chance to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Dorothy

Forrest Hotel and Apartments
30 National Circuit
FORREST ACT 2603
Ph: (02) 6203-4300 (Please note this new number in your records)
Fax: (02) 6295-2119

dorothy@forresthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Besides being a little hard to find, once located we had a pleasant stay. We self catered using the facilities provided, and after 2 days wandering through the museums and up at 6am to see the balloon festival, we were glad to get back and relax on the balcong overlooking the park.
It provided exactly what we expected and can recommend it to fellow travellers for a pleasant stay.

What I would like to applaud is the honesty of the lady in reception who found my sapphire and diamond ring which I discovered was missing when I arrioved back in Sydney and after a frantic call to her, it was located under the table lamp in our room. It was posted back to me and has left me with fond memories of my stay in Canberra

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Rooms are very outdated, basic and small. This is like a motor inn straight from the 1970's apart from the room having a flat screen tv.

I was given a room which had an internal door to an adjoining room and I could hear every noise in the next room so was woken several times during the night by the people in the adjacent room even though they weren't particularly noisy.

I wouldn't recommend staying here and for a little bit more money you can get far superior accommodation in Canberra.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richgar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night it cost us $90 for a night which was the same price as most of where we've stayed. It's a well equipped room with oven, microwave and hob plus everything you expect. It is a stones throw away from the parliament building and not a long walk to the art galleries. I'd revisit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed overnight in one of the apartments. We were unable to book into any of our preferred hotels at short notice and this was our first stay at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly both in reception and the restaurant. The restaurant meal was a bit undercooked and overpriced, and I'd probably go to a restaurant in Manuka on any future stays. The apartment was very clean and well appointed and aside from the restaurant, good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#24 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Property: Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing