We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Besides being a little hard to find, once located we had a pleasant stay. We self catered using the facilities provided, and after 2 days wandering through the museums and up at 6am to see the balloon festival, we were glad to get back and relax on the balcong overlooking the park.
It provided exactly what we expected and can recommend it to fellow travellers for a pleasant stay.

What I would like to applaud is the honesty of the lady in reception who found my sapphire and diamond ring which I discovered was missing when I arrioved back in Sydney and after a frantic call to her, it was located under the table lamp in our room. It was posted back to me and has left me with fond memories of my stay in Canberra

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for Forrest Hotel And Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Rooms are very outdated, basic and small. This is like a motor inn straight from the 1970's apart from the room having a flat screen tv.

I was given a room which had an internal door to an adjoining room and I could hear every noise in the next room so was woken several times during the night by the people in the adjacent room even though they weren't particularly noisy.

I wouldn't recommend staying here and for a little bit more money you can get far superior accommodation in Canberra.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richgar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night it cost us $90 for a night which was the same price as most of where we've stayed. It's a well equipped room with oven, microwave and hob plus everything you expect. It is a stones throw away from the parliament building and not a long walk to the art galleries. I'd revisit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed overnight in one of the apartments. We were unable to book into any of our preferred hotels at short notice and this was our first stay at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly both in reception and the restaurant. The restaurant meal was a bit undercooked and overpriced, and I'd probably go to a restaurant in Manuka on any future stays. The apartment was very clean and well appointed and aside from the restaurant, good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Just a basic motel really. Clean enough to sleep in again. Just needed a bed for a night and im satisfied. Service was great. Booked last minute and check in was fast and easy. Would go back if looking for budget stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leelfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel was clean but small. You get what you pay for.

What annoyed the hell out of me and my friend was the lack of consistency!!

I went to reception to get a map and the big girl behind the desk was so lovely and spent 10 minutes giving me information on what we could see, where we should go. She was friendly a willing to help.

Our opinions of this hotel went up a lot!!

Too bad we had to go back to the reception the next day. The big girl was gone and we got this indian lady who was soooooo rude that we left after a minute. Couldn't' believe a person like this was in hospitality!!!

if you don't like your job then LEAVE!!!
Wont be back.

Room Tip: stay away from the indian lady on reception!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bonny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I would like to warn everyone to avoid this place as it's not worth any of your money. Everything in the hotel was dirty. We had a problem with the toilet/bathroom smelling like a broken drain pipe oh boy it smelt really bad like (poo). When we complained about the problem they didn't want to do anything about it untill morning the guy just poured some smelling detergent down the drain (which didn't solve the problem) And we just had to put up with it until our stay was over. Their curtains have stains all over and their chairs had disgusting stains. There was pubic hair on the wall of the toilet that had not been cleaned. When we thought we were locked in our room (couldn't open the door to get out) we called the front desk asking them to check it out asap! as this was important and we thought we were stuck trapped in but then realised the window was opened like the top one which jammed the door. So then after we went to the front desk then realised they didn't give a damn they hadn't moved or sent anyone to come down and this was like 5-10 mins after we called them. Very bad service Crappy hotel try to avoid! for your sake! It was way overpriced too ! like $500+ for three nights!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#22 of 58 in Canberra
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston
3.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $95 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing