We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed February 1, 2013

It's nothing flash, one of those two-level motel buildings built around parking bays but it has what you'd expect - fridge, TV, basic storage space, aircon, windows that will open, decent linen -and it's location is very good, as is the price.
Half the room is taken up with floor tiles and half with carpet, not a brillant look and while on the subject of minor whinges, it has liquid soap dispensers only so I end up using the soap I take from other hotels to use in hotels that only have liquid soap dispensers.
In common with a lot of hotels, the double bed isn't a double but two singles joined together so you end up sleeping, on either side even when on your own.
But loads of power points with half of them at waist height.

Room Tip: Just decide if you'd prefer to be in one of the upper rooms or ground floor rooms - the latter b...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank get_there_in_the_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for Forrest Hotel And Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Fantastic location so close to Parliament House and on National Circuit, same street as the Prime Minister's Lodge, this hotel/motel is spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. We did not book but the rate offered was fantastic value. Terrific staff, free parking, and the restaurant centre of Manuka is a few minutes walk away. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Decent hotel. Room was tight, but well kept, clean and included kitchenette. Large bed. Downside is the location. However, not sure if there is any great location to stay in Canberra. Walkabale to Parliment.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We choose to stay here when visiting Canberra. It is close to many eating places in Manuka and Kingston, plus I can find my way around on the buses and get to Woden and Civic easily. Whilst the motel always seems clean it is a bit dated.

Room Tip: Have stayed many times and all rooms seem equal. Request ground floor if climbing stairs is an issu...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The room was very clean, as was the bed linen. The air con worked and wasn't overly noisy. The bathroom was clean. It felt more of a motel than hotel, but that's not to say it wasn't a great place to stay. Shops and restaurants are in walking distance. It was easy to drive into the centre of Canberra and this didn't take long. If you stay there, check out the tiny Serbian church right next door. It has the most amazing paintings from top to bottom, all done by a 76-year-old Serbian man for free !!

Room Tip: Our room was ground floor round the back and we didn't have problems with noise or disturbances.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This motel is located near Maunka which has some lovely boutique shops , nice cafes cinema and some good restaurants. It is within walking distance to Parliament House and handy to the National Art Gallery, Questicon and many more places of interest. This is a 3 star motel but it is clean, convenient and well priced. The bed was a king size, the bathroom remodeled and a great sized TV. We did not eat breakfast there as there are so many places to eat at Manuka nearby. For us it fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanna24NSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent clean and quiet base for exploring Canberra. It know have been nicer to know the restaurant was closed for January but there is a wide range of eating establishments in a sgort walking distance of the hotel

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and despite lifting luggage up the steps, it was quieter with less foot fal...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#22 of 58 in Canberra
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston
3.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $93 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing