We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest Canberra
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$108
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$144
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$154
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$181
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Forrest Hotel And Apartments(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$102
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
104
116
81
35
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
116
81
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationlane wayrestaurants downstairsnoise from the streetcentral locationserviced apartmentlondon circuitper dayon site parkingchecking inwashing machine and dryernice roombed was comfortablegood sizerooms are largewithin walking distanceone bedroom apartment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 357 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I stayed at the Quest over a weekend but for business rather than a leisure trip. I booked on the Hotel's web site and was offered a good price for a deluxe 1 bed apartment. The Quest is located on the first floor of the Melbourne Building in Canberra City and the location cannot be faulted as this is the hub of activity in Canberra - and that was also the problem.

My room over looked West Row and was above several restaurants and bars. One of the other reviewers mentioned that he had stayed here during the week but thought it might be noisy at the weekend - that is not the half of it. On Friday night the noise from the street was very loud indeed (and being there for work I actually needed to sleep) but it finally stopped about 12:30 am. I thought that this would be OK but I was in for a shock as on Saturday night it was absolutely deafening and went until 02:30 am! How can people be screaming at the tops of their voices at 2:30 in the morning?

On the good side, the hotel was very comfortable as was my room and the staff were polite and efficient and I had a huge balcony. On reflection I should have spent less and had a room at the back that overlooks a lane-way.

There is no pool or gym but complimentary membership of the Canberra Club opposite is included.

So I actually do recommend this hotel as its location and style are very attractive just ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountainview547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

I have just come back from staying at The Quest from 26 December to 31 December 2008. I have stayed at The Quest previously on the recommendation of a friend who lives in Canberra.

I booked directly with The Quest and got an early bird special of $139.00 per night for a one bedroom apartment this rate was considerably cheaper than online websites such as Wotif.

The apartment itself size wise was fine, however the furniture and decor are in need of updating and are looking a bit shabby and tired.

The one and only coffee mug that was in my apartment was cracked and a bead and butter plate was chipped.

When I tried to adjust the showerhead in the bathroom it came off in my hand and water sprayed everywhere. There was also a problem with the tap in the bathroom that was difficult to turn off.

These were just minor issues but as The Quest is a four star apartment you'd expect better.

As for noise The Quest was as quiet as. But this may have something to do with most of the restaurants downstairs being closed for the holidays. Although when I have stayed here previously the noise was minimal.

I travel to Canberra a couple of times per year and would be happy to stay at The Quest again as I like its central location and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travellindonnie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Staying mid-week in Canberra can sometimes be a problem, and often means paying rack-rates for conveniently located hotels. The Quest is in a great location on the upper storey of the historic West Row. Rooms are suites, so spacious with full kitchen facilities and large airy balconies. Be warned about internet charges here. Paying rack rates and then paying $16 for 24 hours internet access (which itself is quite flaky for a business orientated hotel) is hard to take. Be warned too that the "$6 for 1 hour internet access" option doesn't allow you to log-on more than once. So if you don't use the full hour you can't log-on later to use the rest and are then forced to pay for 24 hour access. The staff may direct you instead to the nearby bus terminal internet cafe (!) Having said all that, the Quest has pleasant clean suites that are well equipped and would be a great choice if you can get a good rate (particularly on weekends)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Quest Canberra is one of my favourite places to stay in Australia. It has a very regal feel with the lifestle of the 21st century!
The property has recently undegone a change in management and you can see the differences. Staff attitudes and cleanliness are a lot better than it used to be.
Locationwise, it is central to everywhere you want to be . It is located in the Melbourne Building just outside if the city. Extra large balconies provide more than enough space to relax after a day of work, and there is more than enough space to enterta9in guests.
All rooms are located on one floor and underneath are a range of restaurants which provide heaps of choice for dining.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for a night and it was OK. It is a small hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The checkin was smooth considered they only have a couple of staff during that time. The location was good as it is right in the city and within walking distance to most of the places. The room was clean and comfortable. For the price I paid, it is well worth it. Also, the reception closes at 10pm...

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews