We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with some downfalls”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Canberra
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location with some downfalls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at Quest Canberra on a Business trip in late October 2013 for 3 nights.
Location wise, the hotel is great; very central and close to plenty of restaurants and buses.
The quality of service was mixed. I had great service from the management and weekday staff, but the front of house, weekend staff service was not great.

We arrived on a Thursday and got an upgrade on arrival for one room, staff were happy to suggest places to eat, and were very helpful.
Weekend staff were a bit unknowledgeable, and there were a couple of issues such as charging us a $20 room change fee after we complained about the noise. After speaking with weekday staff this was very simply and quickly fixed and refunded.

The noise disruption was the major downfall and the only reason I might reconsider staying again. I understand the building is heritage listed, and the original windows are still in place. Management have mentioned in previous reviews that they are in touch with the surrounding businesses to minimise noise, but for a hotel located in the central heart of Canberra, this simply isn't good enough.
Window upgrades and sound-proofing is certainly due as every hour, masses of bottles are emptied into dumpsters below the hotel windows. When we approached the staff about this, they were very aware of the problem.
If the problem cannot be fixed, I truly believe management should consider closing the rooms affected by noise rather than taking peoples money and failing to deliver.
The purpose of a hotel is for people to sleep. Sleep is impossible in certain rooms due to hourly disruptions of bottles, drunks and garbage trucks.

The only other complaint I would have would be the tired and sunken carpets. This made the lip to the kitchen tiles poke out about 2 or 3 centimetres which was quite dangerous and I endured quite a few painful stubbed toes!

Aside from my complaints, the hotel rooms really are quite beautiful, and the location is really central making for a wonderful base camp for a Canberra experience.

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room, they will be sure to place you in a section of the hotel which is away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petrhyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    78
    52
    24
    12
See reviews for
40
44
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here for a week while visiting our daughter who is on placement in Canberra. Booked it well in advance so we could take advantage of the earlybird Floriade Special rates. We had a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartment with a huge balcony facing London Circuit. When it comes to location, this place is perfect! We couldn't be more central if we tried. It suited us for many things we wanted to do. Even though we had a rental car, for most days, it was just so easy to walk to a lot of places. Handy to so many eating options, we were spoiled for choice and never had problems finding somewhere to eat each day. My son was able to catch up with friends at ANU nearby and go out for a drink at the Uni pub. My husband was delighted to find Canberra's best pub, the famous Wig & Pen was just right across the road! The immense Canberra Centre was only a couple of blocks so it was so easy for me to duck in there for a quick shopping fix. We had a fully equipped kitchen so we made our own breakfasts which is a pity as i missed the opportunity to try the Loading Zone (a hipster cafe in Ogders Lane right behind) or the Blue Olive Cafe (in the same building as Quest, my daughter has been and raved about it). Nevertheless, it was so easy to grab some breakfast treats from the French bakery Croissant d'Or just a block away. Oh, and Floriade was a comfortable 15 minute walk (no hassles trying to find a carpark close to the venue), the free shuttle bus also stopped across the road on Northbourne Avenue. We even walked from Quest to Acton Park to hire bikes for a ride around the lake!

okay, so it was quite noisy and rowdy for a couple of hours over the weekend, but this is to be expected as there are a number of pubs close by and the main carpark is acrossthe road. I think pubs close at 2pm on Fridays and Saturdays so expect the crowds till then. All the past reviews have mentioned it so we were properly forewarned,therefore no need to whinge about it. It didn't really bother us anyway. Sleep is sleep, and with the comfy beds and pleasant temperature in the rooms, we dropped off quite easily. Surprisingly, apart from those nights, the place is super quiet, and the contrasting peace is amazing!

Positives:
Staff very helpful and friendly, both reception and cleaning staff were exemplary. By the end of our trip, they were like family.
Spacious rooms, fresh towels every day, location, location, location
Complimentary newspaper (Australian) every day, pick it up from reception.
Full size washing machine and dryer
Fairy lights on the trees outside our balcony, a lovely sight at night

Negatives:
No free wifi. You can get a complimentary 24hr internet voucher from reception for the computer in the front room, it is attached to a printer so very handy for printing boarding passes. Just ask, the reception staff will happily oblige.

If we came back to Canberra, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geckopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Your review is fantastic! Thank you for taking the time to write it.

The team at Quest Canberra love interacting with our guests and being able to provide them with so much more then just a place to stay whilst they are travelling is so important.

I have to agree our location is fantastic we are so close to all the Canberra action.

I can honestly say I am so proud of my team, they have exceptional customer services skills. I'm so happy to hear that you had a positive experience with my team and had the chance to enjoy all Canberra's fantastic eateries & establishments.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Canberra some time in the near future.
Please make it sooner rather than later :)

Kind Regards
Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2 br apartment which was fresh and clean, with a balcony. The noise was too unbearable to actually go outside and enjoy the view. During the day there were building work noises and at night you could hear the restaurants below stacking chairs and throwing bottles away. The traffic noise continued through the night, but as Canberra doesn't have a lot of traffic, it was almost background noise, until a truck or bus went through!
The apartments themselves are very central and about a 20 minute walk to Floriade. Reception staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property.

Being in such a central location and only one floor above the surrounding restaurants noise can be heard in some apartments.
We do keep in contact with the below establishments and ask them to keep noise to a minimum. However in some instances it is beyond there's and our control.

If you do decide to visit us again we can try to allocate you an apartment at the opposite end of the property. Please make this request when making your reservation and we will try in all instances to accommodate you.

Kind Regards

Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My 2 sisters and I stayed at Quest Apartments for 2 nights.
Although there was an initial hic-up with our booking the people at Quest went out of their way to accommodate us in a professional and understanding manner.
The apartments at Quest are well appointed and of a decent size.
Although the building looks old on the outside (historical?) the apartments were extremely clean and fresh on the inside.
We had a lovely big balcony to one of our apartments.
There was a bit of noise from Saturday night revellers but it soon quietened down by 11 pm.
The level of noise was to be expected as there are many popular restaurants conveniently located on the floor below.
Quest is well located to the CBD and with the bus terminals located so close to Quest we could get around Canberra with ease.

Room Tip: Call ahead to confirm your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are currently training a few new members of our team, so the booking hic-up shouldn't happen in the future.
I'm proud that my team were able to accommodate you in a professional and understanding manner.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We did a weekend getaway to see Floriade and stayed in a 1 bed executive apartment. The apartment itself is well appointed with a generous balcony, nice sized kitchenette, bathroom and lounge - very comfortable, clean and perfectly located in the CBD. Receptionist was friendly and helpful.
The only negative aspect was the noise from outside. The windows are only single glazed so all the rowdy party goers yahooing and shouting as well as the traffic led to a very disturbed sleep till around 2:30am. A dissapointment to otherwise excellent accommodation.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the street may be noisy on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are indeed located right in the heart of Canberra within walking distance to most of Canberra's best restaurants.
Noise can be heard on occasion from outside sources in some apartments.
We do liaise with the surrounding businesses to try to keep noise to a minimum however this is sometimes beyond ours and their control.

We do hope you return to our property in the future and we can on request try to allocate an apartment on the other side of the property.

Kind Regards

Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for three nights and were thrilled with the experience. The apartment was well appointed and extremely well located just of the main CBD. All the staff were fantastic. We have decided this will be our new base for our visits to Canberra to see our daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kingsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property and the team are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We enjoy interacting with our guests and if we can make your stay more enjoyable we will do our utmost to accommodate.
It is also fantastic to hear that we are your new base for your future visits to see your daughter.

The team are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest Regards
The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austins Ferry, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bed/2 bath apartment with a lovely outlook. It was modern, clean and spacious. The staff were polite and welcoming. The only problem we had, as we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night, was the noise from the band in the hotel below. It did stop at midnight both nights. I read on other reviews that this could be a problem but our stay was only for 2 nights and we weren't charged for some extras we incurred, so I didn't complain.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are indeed located in a very central position with restaurants below the property and on occasion noise can be an issue.
We do keep in regular contact with the surrounding business and monitor noise when we can however this is sometimes beyond ours and the restaurants control.

We hope to see you on your next visit to the Canberra region.

Kind Regards

The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
0.4 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Canberra

Property: Quest Canberra
Address: 28 West Row | Melbourne Building, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed within the heritage charm of the Melbourne Building, we offer apartment accommodation in Canberra with a range of stylishly furnished studio, one and two bedroom apartments. The majority of apartments feature large balconies, fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities, as well as separate lounge and dining areas. Limited unsecured parking for a nightly fee, subject to availability and must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing