We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Canberra
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Central but noisy”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2 br apartment which was fresh and clean, with a balcony. The noise was too unbearable to actually go outside and enjoy the view. During the day there were building work noises and at night you could hear the restaurants below stacking chairs and throwing bottles away. The traffic noise continued through the night, but as Canberra doesn't have a lot of traffic, it was almost background noise, until a truck or bus went through!
The apartments themselves are very central and about a 20 minute walk to Floriade. Reception staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property.

Being in such a central location and only one floor above the surrounding restaurants noise can be heard in some apartments.
We do keep in contact with the below establishments and ask them to keep noise to a minimum. However in some instances it is beyond there's and our control.

If you do decide to visit us again we can try to allocate you an apartment at the opposite end of the property. Please make this request when making your reservation and we will try in all instances to accommodate you.

Kind Regards

Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    77
    52
    24
    12
See reviews for
39
44
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My 2 sisters and I stayed at Quest Apartments for 2 nights.
Although there was an initial hic-up with our booking the people at Quest went out of their way to accommodate us in a professional and understanding manner.
The apartments at Quest are well appointed and of a decent size.
Although the building looks old on the outside (historical?) the apartments were extremely clean and fresh on the inside.
We had a lovely big balcony to one of our apartments.
There was a bit of noise from Saturday night revellers but it soon quietened down by 11 pm.
The level of noise was to be expected as there are many popular restaurants conveniently located on the floor below.
Quest is well located to the CBD and with the bus terminals located so close to Quest we could get around Canberra with ease.

Room Tip: Call ahead to confirm your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are currently training a few new members of our team, so the booking hic-up shouldn't happen in the future.
I'm proud that my team were able to accommodate you in a professional and understanding manner.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We did a weekend getaway to see Floriade and stayed in a 1 bed executive apartment. The apartment itself is well appointed with a generous balcony, nice sized kitchenette, bathroom and lounge - very comfortable, clean and perfectly located in the CBD. Receptionist was friendly and helpful.
The only negative aspect was the noise from outside. The windows are only single glazed so all the rowdy party goers yahooing and shouting as well as the traffic led to a very disturbed sleep till around 2:30am. A dissapointment to otherwise excellent accommodation.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the street may be noisy on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are indeed located right in the heart of Canberra within walking distance to most of Canberra's best restaurants.
Noise can be heard on occasion from outside sources in some apartments.
We do liaise with the surrounding businesses to try to keep noise to a minimum however this is sometimes beyond ours and their control.

We do hope you return to our property in the future and we can on request try to allocate an apartment on the other side of the property.

Kind Regards

Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for three nights and were thrilled with the experience. The apartment was well appointed and extremely well located just of the main CBD. All the staff were fantastic. We have decided this will be our new base for our visits to Canberra to see our daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kingsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property and the team are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We enjoy interacting with our guests and if we can make your stay more enjoyable we will do our utmost to accommodate.
It is also fantastic to hear that we are your new base for your future visits to see your daughter.

The team are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest Regards
The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austins Ferry, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bed/2 bath apartment with a lovely outlook. It was modern, clean and spacious. The staff were polite and welcoming. The only problem we had, as we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night, was the noise from the band in the hotel below. It did stop at midnight both nights. I read on other reviews that this could be a problem but our stay was only for 2 nights and we weren't charged for some extras we incurred, so I didn't complain.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are indeed located in a very central position with restaurants below the property and on occasion noise can be an issue.
We do keep in regular contact with the surrounding business and monitor noise when we can however this is sometimes beyond ours and the restaurants control.

We hope to see you on your next visit to the Canberra region.

Kind Regards

The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The receptionists were so helpful and friendly at this hotel.
We loved where it was situated, right in the heart of Canberra.
The one bedroom apartment was roomy, clean and modern.
We stayed to visit my son in Duntroon and they were more than happy to provide another bed for the room so he could stay.

Room Tip: Ask for car parking as it can be difficult in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do indeed enjoy interacting with our guests, if we can make your stay more comfortable & enjoyable we will do our utmost to accommodate.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit to the Canberra Region.

Kindest Regards

The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've stayed at Quest in Canberra on many occasions. It is centrally located close to interesting cafes and bars. The apartments are spacious and well equipped. But the thing that makes Quest a great place to stay rather than just well appointed and central is the staff. They are friendly, knowledgeable and always able to help.

Room Tip: Go that bit extra and book a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bellogirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for your recent review of our property.
The team at Quest Canberra enjoyed reading your review it put a smile on all their faces.
We love interacting with our guests and if we can make your stay more enjoyable whilst you are visiting the nations capital we will.
It's all about Guest Service here at Quest Canberra.
We look forward to your next visit really soon.

Kind Regards
Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#23 of 57 in Canberra
3,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
0.4 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,086 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
1,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Canberra

Property: Quest Canberra
Address: 28 West Row | Melbourne Building, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed within the heritage charm of the Melbourne Building, we offer apartment accommodation in Canberra with a range of stylishly furnished studio, one and two bedroom apartments. The majority of apartments feature large balconies, fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities, as well as separate lounge and dining areas. Limited unsecured parking for a nightly fee, subject to availability and must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing