We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviced apartment better than a hotel”
Review of Quest Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Canberra
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Serviced apartment better than a hotel”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The double bed was perfect for a good nights sleep. HD TV. A bit annoying that optional parking was $15. We opted for street parking as we arrived after 6pm and had to leave at 9am anyway. Otherwise you have to pay $1 per half an hour! Also wifi was charged for.
Washer and dryer were very useful for us travellers. Plus full kitchen facilities.
Definitely one of the most luxurious stays we have had in a long time and it was less than $200 a night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerusalemtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, the team at Quest Canberra are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We offer complimentary WiFi in our reception area, however in the apartments it is still cabled and we do charge a fee for this service.
Hopefully when you next return to Canberra we will have complimentary WiFi throughout the entire property as we do have plans for this in the future.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Quest Canberra very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    84
    58
    28
    12
See reviews for
44
49
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here with my husband a couple of months ago now and i couldn't be happier with the accommodation.
The young lady who checked us in was more then happier to give me directions to near by locations when i checked in. (I think her name was Belinda... I'm not quite sure) but she was great! printing off maps and easy to read directions for me and my husband! :)
We stayed in a one bedroom executive apartment, the room was spacious and very clean :) with a more then generous sized balcony!
The location of this hotel is very convenient, being walking distance to the shops and restaurants. We only had to walk downstairs from our room to many restaurants right next door! :)
And i have read some other reviews about parking being an issue? I cant comment on this as we didnt have a car.

Needless to stay I will definitely be back here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracygrenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property, the team at Quest Canberra are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will visit again very soon.

We really enjoy interacting with our guests, if there is anything we can do to make your stay in the Nations Capital more enjoyable we will do it.
Yes Belinda was the young lady who checked you in, I will pass on your thanks to her.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Canberra very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I have stayed here on 2 occasions, for an overnight visit to Canberra, to either see a show at the Royal Theatre or the Canberra Theatre, which is close by, we had no problems with our room, or any noise, also no problems with the parking..would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank arwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Apartment was one of the smaller ones at the rear of the building, but quite quiet, well serviced, and fine for proximity to work. I had no car so didn't experience parking issues that others have seen, though having seen the available parking I can understand the comments. Only negative comment is the reliability of the internet connectivity.

Location very convenient for shopping centres, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front are larger, but rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASG-Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send a review regarding your most recent stay with us at Quest Canberra. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We currently offer wireless in our reception area and we do have plans to upgrade our Internet connectivity to a wireless system in all apartments very soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Canberra really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Have stayed here on numerous occasions but, despite a great location and lovely staff, no way am I coming back! The boys left the pub downstairs yelling and screaming at 3am on Thursday. Girls yelled and carried on until after 4am on Friday. Saturday was shocking with a 4:30am finish from both! Sunday morning was around 4am again - but the really good news was that the pub and restaurants are shut on Sunday night so there was no Monday morning carry on!

For each night, however, it seemed that 30 minutes after closure all the cleaning started.

Then the buses come roaring up the road pretty early in the morning. While Sunday was a relief, it meant there was nowhere that close to eat!

Don't know what the solution is for the owners, but one of the objects of the exercise is to have somewhere to SLEEP! If you can't sleep then it sort of defeats the purpose - particularly when the price is no different to other centrally located Quest properties interstate ...

Was also in a room directly above the smoking area for the pub. Closed windows make no difference to keeping it out! So no sleep and breathing awful air!

The other concern is that, over the years the carpet has become sad and seemingly very dirty - particularly in the public areas. Time to fix it! No excuse for this - punters expect more for the price!

Parking is also a problem ... But let's not go there! That's a whole other story!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hgo7627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
As this was your 6th time with us, we are disappointed to hear that your stay was not as comfortable and as pleasant as normal; we have truly appreciated your return business. As the new manager at Quest Canberra I welcome all feedback as this assists us in working towards improving the property and services.

We are indeed located above some of Canberra’s most popular bars and restaurants and as a result noise can sometimes be an issue.
For the benefit of our guests, we keep in regular contact with the surrounding premises and do our best to control the noise levels. Unfortunately sometimes the noise coming from these establishments is beyond ours and the pub/ restaurant operator’s control.

If you do happen to reconsider and choose to stay again, our staff will be happy to allocate you to a much quieter apartment on the other side of the property, i have made note of this request in your profile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Convenient location, close to some really great restaurants and bars. The apartment was very well equipped although we only stayed for 2 nights and didn't really take advantage of all of the facilities. Parking is reasonable at $12 per night and really didn't have a problem with parking out the back. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again next time in Canberra.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Michael

Thank you for taking the time to send a review regarding your most recent stay with us at Quest Canberra. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

As the new manager over the last 3 months it is good to see our service levels and guest experiences are improving.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Canberra really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed again at the Canberra Quest. This time had a balcony apartment which was of a great size (both inside and on the balcony). Again it was clean and staff were helpful. Other commenters have posted about the car parking situation and I have to agree, coz Canberra is a city where you have to have a hire car as a tourist to get around. I've always parked across the road in the council car park and haven't had an issue

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenieSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property & it's fantastic to hear your second visit was just as good as your first. With Canberra celebrating its Centenary in 2013, a Free bus service is being provided that visits most of the main attractions.
It is less then a block away from the property.
So if you do return to stay with us for a third time and we really hope you do.
We are more than happy to give you some further information on this complimentary service.

We look for ward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.3 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
0.3 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Canberra

Property: Quest Canberra
Address: 28 West Row | Melbourne Building, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed within the heritage charm of the Melbourne Building, we offer apartment accommodation in Canberra with a range of stylishly furnished studio, one and two bedroom apartments. The majority of apartments feature large balconies, fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities, as well as separate lounge and dining areas. Limited unsecured parking for a nightly fee, subject to availability and must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing