We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Quest Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Canberra
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Convenient location, close to some really great restaurants and bars. The apartment was very well equipped although we only stayed for 2 nights and didn't really take advantage of all of the facilities. Parking is reasonable at $12 per night and really didn't have a problem with parking out the back. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again next time in Canberra.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Michael

Thank you for taking the time to send a review regarding your most recent stay with us at Quest Canberra. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

As the new manager over the last 3 months it is good to see our service levels and guest experiences are improving.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Canberra really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    84
    58
    28
    12
See reviews for
44
49
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed again at the Canberra Quest. This time had a balcony apartment which was of a great size (both inside and on the balcony). Again it was clean and staff were helpful. Other commenters have posted about the car parking situation and I have to agree, coz Canberra is a city where you have to have a hire car as a tourist to get around. I've always parked across the road in the council car park and haven't had an issue

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenieSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property & it's fantastic to hear your second visit was just as good as your first. With Canberra celebrating its Centenary in 2013, a Free bus service is being provided that visits most of the main attractions.
It is less then a block away from the property.
So if you do return to stay with us for a third time and we really hope you do.
We are more than happy to give you some further information on this complimentary service.

We look for ward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Good quality accommodation, plenty of space and clean rooms. Balcony overlooking main street is a plus, although it is noisy on the weekends at night. However for the price paid I would expect better car parking - there is limited car parking at rear of premise, which is unsecured in an alley with a club X in it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licketylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

i stayed here for 4 nights while i was in Canberra on a business trip.
the room itself was great, clean, spacious with a lovely balcony. the main drawback was the very noisy location. The hotel is located on the first floor of a historic building and the ground floor is occupied by restaurants and bars. Very handy for grabbing a meal or a drink but not so good when your trying to sleep and you have people leaving the bars late a night in a not so sober state, screaming and shouting and unfortunately fighting and then the police sirens adding to the ambiance.

Room Tip: the rooms are great the noise is not
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed for work in town so found the location very convenient. For the price I would normally expect more, but Canberra has low standards generally and high prices. The room was well sized, well fitted out and newly renovated. Except the bed was very uncomfortable. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. Room servicing was not consistent, some days they didn't come through and clean. Parking is a problem because of outsiders stealing parking places or double parking people in. The noise from the bars and restaurants downstairs was also very noisy by Friday and Saturday night for the front facing rooms. But all in all, it was a good hotel in Canberra and I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuNu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had a rather large one bedroom apartment without much of a view, but as we were visiting it wasn't too important. The apartment looked really fresh and clean. The girl on reception was welcoming, but looked a little bit scruffy I thought. She offered advice about places to eat and was extremely helpful with a few other questions we had. Our bed was comfortable and all appliances in the kitchen were modern and new. If you are visiting Canberra, I would highly recommend this Quest.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Quest Canberra is a modern place to stay in Canberra. Reception staff are helpful even the girl who was obviously new, She tried her hardest to ensure our questions were answered.

Great place to stay and I would recommend it to any one traveling to Canberra, just not during the weekend as it is very noisy on the street below.

The only bad thing was the receptionist who was working during our check out had no shoes on and was walking to and from the reception with no shoes. She didn't make an attempt to put them on either. Shame as its such a great place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua W, Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you Amelia S for your review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to hosting you again at Quest Canberra. With regards to the staff member who was not wearing shoes, I have since spoken to her advising her that she must wear her shoes whilst working at Quest Canberra. If I can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at any stage on 02 6243 2222.

Kind Regards

Joshua Wrest
General Manager
Quest Canberra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.3 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
0.3 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Canberra

Property: Quest Canberra
Address: 28 West Row | Melbourne Building, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed within the heritage charm of the Melbourne Building, we offer apartment accommodation in Canberra with a range of stylishly furnished studio, one and two bedroom apartments. The majority of apartments feature large balconies, fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities, as well as separate lounge and dining areas. Limited unsecured parking for a nightly fee, subject to availability and must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing