We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good apartments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We recently spent four nights in a 2 bedroom apartment, and really appreciated accommodation offered.
Roomy, very clean, well appointed, comfortable, quiet, close to amenities and attractions, friendly helpful staff. Fully air-conditioned.
Easy walking to heaps of eating places, The Glassworks, and The Old Bus Depot Markets-which we rated the best markets we have been to.
Bus at door, but taxis quick and good value.
We had a ground floor unit which had about 8 steps; higher levels had many more with no lift, so be aware.

Overall, would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: If steps are a problem, opt for a ground level unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri77terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The staff at Kingston Terrace Apartment are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the near future.

Kind regards,

Manager

Peter Bisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
10
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macedon, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently stayed here with my husband and two children. The apartments are located within an easy walk of Kingston Shops and Restaurants and the East Lakes Football Club Bistro.
The two bedroom, one bathroom apartment was light and comfortable, but basic, in need of a upgrade and at nearly $300 per night is overpriced for what is offered.
Although it was 1C on several nights we stayed, we had no heating on at all in the apartment and yet it was hot and stuffy. We slept with the windows wide open. Can only presume the guests in the apartment below us had their heating on full all night, and the heat rose!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Kingston Terrace, I was disappointed to hear of your experience was not up to satisfactory standards. We haven't come across this heating problem in the past and agree with you that heat may have risen from the apartment below causing you the discomfort. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we look forward for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Manager

Peter Bisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

On my most recent visit to Canberra I stayed at Kingston Terrace in a 2-bedroom apartment. It proved to be a great find. The apartment was spacious, clean, quiet at night and very well located within easy walking distance to the many good cafes/restaurants of Kingston and Manuka villages. Our room was full of light with the sun streaming in in the morning - just what you need on a cold Canberra morning. The apartments are spread over a number of three-storey buildings. Note there is no lift so if you can't manage stairs, ask for a ground floor apartment. There is free secure parking, and the staff were very helpful. I recommend breakfast or lunch at Silo in Kingston - very good food and coffee. Would definitely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddyandjohnsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The staff at Kingston Terrace Apartment are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking you time out to provide this postive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our apartment in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manager,

Peter Bisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed in a two-bedroom apartment for five nights in September 2012 on a work trip.

For starters, the service leaves a bit to be desired. The reception area closes at 7pm, so if you arrive after this time you need to call someone upstairs (who won’t come down or will huff about it if you insist) to get a code for the wall safe which contains your keys, collect them and work out your own way to your room.

There are no lifts so you have to lug your bags upstairs unless you are on a ground floor. I also found it tricky to get into the room as the keys are old and metal, not electronic, and I had some difficulty getting them into and turning the locks.

The room itself was OK, although the décor is quite outdated and looks a lot worse than the photos on the website. There is a lounge area, a kitchen and two bedrooms with bathrooms. The configuration is a little odd, with a large empty area between the lounge and the kitchen which could have been better used making the bedrooms or lounge larger.

My double bed was quite comfy although the person I stayed with was stuck with two singles in the other bedroom and did not sleep well. There is a digital TV in the room (in the cupboard, so you can’t watch it unless you slide the door over and block the other side of the cupboard) and a heater in the bathroom which is useful in the cold Canberra weather.

The servicing of the room is ad hoc, with wet towels left on the floor and not replaced, no hand towels provided, and beds hastily made by just pulling the cover over and with cushions thrown on the ground. I doubt whether any cleaning took place. For a place advertising itself as a ‘serviced apartment’ that’s not good enough in my book.

The location of the hotel is fairly good, within walking distance to the cafes and restaurants of Kingston and Manuka, as well as Parliament House.

All in all, I wouldn’t recommend staying here; the amenities and service definitely do not reflect the relatively high price. There are better – and cheaper – serviced apartment options in Canberra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorexstevex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, and I do appreciate your comments, I was disappointed to hear your experience at Kingston Terrace and can ensure you that meeting and exceeding our guest expectations in all aspects is our prority. So please accept my sincere apology.
Please keep my detail on file and contact me prior your next visit to Canberra.

Kind regards,

Manager,

Peter Bisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Victoria, australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom which was huge! Apartment was clean and had all appliances you could possibly need. Great value for money. Short walk to the Kingston strip of shops, which had excellent eateries. Close to attractions. Pool was freezing being April so can't comment on that, looked a little on the small side though. Booked the room an hour out of Canberra and no issues with booking in and room was ready. We had a balcony as well which had a bistro table, lovely place to sit with a glass of wine. Highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom apartment was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Saa 30,

Thank you for your positive feedback, all our staff are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Kingston Terrace. We are hopping you will be back soon to spend sometimes at our Pool and BBQ area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

breat roomy accomodation (2 bedroom apartment). Tonnes of living space. Awesome location to eateries and the best coffee and hot chocolates ( idyliic cafe) . Close to everything yet quiet and peaceful. glad that northbourne ave was full....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scotto_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Scotto_10

Our staffs at Kingston Terrace Apartment are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, and thank you for taking your time to provide this positive review. Should you have any request for your next stay, please feel free to contact us prior your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was there for one night by myself -but the apartment is ideally set up for a family. Plenty of lounge space, storage, well equipped kitchen and bath etc. Everything clean but on the verge of becoming dated. Reception handed over the key and pointed in the direction of the unit, then arrived 5 minutes later to say that they have given me the wrong room. However, good location close to restaurants, shops etc at Kingston and Manuka plus bustop right outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Forans,

We appreciate you taking time out to provide this review, I apologise for giving you the incorrect apartment key on arrival, and we are continuingly improving the accuracy and professionalism on front office service. We hope you will stay with us again when you travel to Australia next time, and our team will try our best to make you feel like staying at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.0 mi away
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
0.3 mi away
Kingston Court Apartments
Kingston Court Apartments
#47 of 58 in Canberra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments

Property: Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments
Address: 16 Eyre St., Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing