We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When location is everything”
Review of Bentley Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bentley Suites
Ranked #51 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
rosanna
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When location is everything”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

A well located clean and well equipped apartment block 1km south of Capital Hill. Minutes walk or drive to Manuka and Kingston. Lots of eateries nearby and very convenient situated to get to all of the major Canberra attractions. Have stayed their twice in past two years and planning to stay with them in January of 2012. The accommodation is pricey but worth the extra expense. No lift may be difficult for some as underground parking is the main access point.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
8
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I've stayed at Bentley Suites on several occasions and have never had a problem. It's in a good location and having a kitchen means you can stock up for your stay at the local supermarket in Manuka (about five minutes walk away). The staff are always friendly, and I highly recommend Bentley Suites for stays in Canberra.

Room Tip: 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are offered. The reception have previously advised that the 1 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skubascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We chose to stay in this 2 bedroom apartment instead of a tiny expensive hotel room in the main drag of Canberra. It is far more practical to stay in places like this if you have a couple of kids, more room for everyone to relax. We chose the deal that included a free family pass to Questacon, this was a real bonus. Close to Manuka shops and restaurants. We found this apartment to be well maintained, clean, the towels were great. Shower was great. The only disappointment was having to drag your luggage up three flights of stairs as there is no lift. So if you are disabled or travelling with someone that is, just mention that before you book so you can have a street level unit. We were warned about the swipe key being sensitive but we had no problems at all. We would stay there again next time we go to Canberra.

Room Tip: rooms on the northside of the building are very quiet. There is a large well maintained courtyard se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The suites are spacious and to have two bathrooms which is great.

A five minute walk to Manuka with fabulous restuarants is a plus.

We weren't satisfied with the:

1) Cleanliness, the dust on the skirting boards.
2) Kitchen wasn't stocked very well (no frying pan for eggs in the morning).
3) Receptionist not being in till past 8am when the info book said 7am.
4) Broken cupboard door in kitchen - broken fly screen.
5) Thread bear towels with holes in.
6) The lack of customer service.

Seems like the management aren't listening to complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOITALLNELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I have stayed at Bentley a number of times for business, most recently in June 2011. I usually stay in a two-bedroom apartment.

The location is fairly good, as it's walking distance to Manuka and its bars/restaurants/supermarket/cinema, as well as Parliament House.

There is free parking and the staff are generally helpful upon check in/check out.

There are no lifts so you may find yourself lugging your bagsup a few flights of stairs if you're not fortunate enough to get a ground floor room.

The room keys can be a bit unreliable. They tend to wipe themselves, especially if kept near a phone or credit card, and I have needed to request a new one several times when I've visited. This can get annoying, as you also need the key to access secure parking so end up wasting time parking outside, getting a new key and then re-parking your car inside.

The rooms are fairly spacious but a little unclean. The surfaces are dusty and I have found marks on the towels, which are somewhat worn and thin. One benefit of staying in a two-bedroom apartment is that there are two bathrooms, but they don't seem to be able to cope with two people showering at once - the water goes cold.

There is heating/air conditioning in the lounge area but unfortunately not in the bedrooms, which is a problem in the midst of a cold Canberra winter. There are spare blankets but I have been forced to wear slippers to bed because I've been so cold here. The bed is quite comfortable and there are large wardrobes in which to hang clothes.

Again, there is a television in the lounge area but not in the bedrooms. Cable is connected, but the only channels are ESPN, Sky News and one movie channel so there's not much to choose from. There is a full range of digital channels though. I would suggest the hotel invests in DVD players as they still have VCRs and I don't imagine anyone brings video tapes with them on holidays anymore.

The kitchen includes a microwave, fridge and utensils, and is serviceable.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a leisure trip, but if you're in Canberra on business and won't be spending much time in your room, the location and price make it a reasonable prospect. It could definitely do with lifts, DVD players, better heating and more cable channels but I wouldn't hold my breath for this to happen any time soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorexstevex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

There is no lift and most rooms are upstairs. You have to go upstairs from the car park. Don't bring heavy luggage. Staff won't let you in the car park wiithout a key so you have to check in first (street parking can be a challenge whilst you get your key). They keys are easily wiped and if you arrive back after 10pm you have to ring another hotel and wait for them to drive to the Bentley and let you into your room. (You can't get a new key that works after 10pm so you are trapped in your room after 10 if your key stops working). In our room we put the clothers dryer on with a timer but the timer didn't work and the dryer ran all day destroying some clothes. We told the staff but they never offered any concession on our bill despite the damage being clearly their faulty dryer. I suspect this is because problems are so frequent they can't afford to offer any compensation. The person standing behind me at reception had a list longer than mine. The fridge shelves were cracked. There was no plug for the bath. If you hand in your key when you check out you can't get out of the car park and have to tailgate or go back to reception and get a key. I have stayed there 3 times in the last 12 mnths and have had significant problems every time. The first time I had to wait an hour for my room to be ready. I have been a glutton for punishment becuase I like the rooms and the apartments are spacious. Every time I have stayed there I have run into other people who have experienced similar problems. I wish I had of known about this website before. My most recent stays were in April and May 2011. If you can cope with the irritations its a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calmtravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in 2 bedroom unit on the 2nd floor. Not on Canberra Ave side so noise was not an issue. Large kitchen ,comfortable living area and balcony . Having 2 bathrooms was very convenient as we were were travelling with our grown family. Large walk through wardrobe in main bedroom. Laundry facilities a big plus. The grounds are lovely. There are a number of flights of steps to suites which could put people off. Rooms were serviced daily with fresh towels and beds being made. 10 minute easy walk to Manuka eating areas and shops. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
0.5 mi away
Kingston Court Apartments
Kingston Court Apartments
#44 of 57 in Canberra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Griffin Hotel
Griffin Hotel
#49 of 57 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.3 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Suites

Property: Bentley Suites
Address: Cnr Canberra Ave. & Dominion Court, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bentley Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Canberra
Bentley Hotel Forrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing