We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$181
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$144
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pavilion on Northbourne(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$93
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Forrest Hotel And Apartments(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$173
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
29
49
34
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
49
34
4
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 122 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

1) all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

2) the rooms we stayed had 2 single beds, a wall fan, and a large walk-in cupboard for storage. it also had a sink and mirror which was quite convenient.

3) the tv room was very comfortable, and we also took dvds from the reception for our viewing pleasure. there were also 2 vending machines with snacks and drinks outside the tv room on the 2nd floor.

4) spacious kitchen and parking space for travelers.

5) the laundry room had a washer and dryer, however, the dryer was not hot enough, and we had to use three cycles which costs us aud9.00. i highlighted this issue with the receptionist during our check-out.

6) some guests also locked the shared bathrooms, and we had to wait outside until that 1 person came out from their bath. there were 2 units for bathing, 1 with a bath tub, 1 with a shower. the unit with the shower did not have a door, where else the bath tub did.

perhaps i would recommend to have both units to have doors, to prevent guests from locking the outer door, which means other guests would have to wait just to use the other unit.

overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely be back for the comfortable beds and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and reviewed us as budget accommodation. We try to be clean, safe and comfortable in a great location and provide amenities, such as great kitchen, TV Room with DVDs, quality beds and delicious breakfast ( your very apt description). I have taken another look at the dryer and all seems in order. Heavy cotton garments, such as jeans, take a lot of drying ,and if dryers are set too high there are major problems with shrinkage and damage to clothing. Another drying tip is to air dry as much as possible (we have a clothes line area) and finish off in the dryer if required. Thanks for the comments regarding our friendly helpful staff, I will pass it on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have stayed at Victor Lodge (VL) on many occasions over the last decade or so. It has served us well as a clean, friendly and comfortable place to stay, that is very well located for access to many places one might want or need in Canberra. The service is friendly and helpful.

It remains good value overall, but in more recent times the cost has risen gradually and we feel that if we want a little more comfort and privacy, the relative cost of other places in Canberra is now more attractive. When we have less to spend Victor Lodge is still a really good choice.

Any disadvantages of shared amenities and a relatively older style small room are usually more than offset by the benefits of meeting other folk, often from other parts of the world, in the excellent little dining room. One opportunity for meeting others is over the terrific continental breakfast that is included in the cost of the room. The shared kitchen (and fridge space) where you can save $ by preparing your own meals (other than breakfast) is also a pleasant social space. These are part of the virtues of Victor Lodge which can sometimes feel more like an extended family experience.

Any review of this guesthouse would be incomplete without reference to the fact that it is a terrific location, close to public transport, and shops that include some interesting cafes and restaurants, should you choose to eat out instead of using the guesthouse facilities to prepare your own food. We should add that you can also do your washing and ironing at VL.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose-Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you Rose and Mike. It has been a pleasure to include you as guests over the years and thank you for your assessment. I have to say you are extremely well qualified as long time regular guests and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was a cheap and convenient place to stay with a good breakfast provision included and with friendly staff and fellow guests. This is a bonus in Canberra where accommodation can be reasonably expensive. There was also plenty of room for parking my car. However, the Lodge does leave a lot to be desired. Shared Bathroom, though clean, was very basic. Bedroom was very small and ill-equipped. Bed was okay but not the most comfortable. I was glad that I was just using it as a place to return to for sleep, shower and breakfast and then to leave again until late in the evening as I was in Canberra for special family celebrations. I am going back to Canberra shortly but I have booked other accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosalieJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks a lot for your accurate review. We aim to provide clean, budget priced accommodtion in a friendly, safe environment. No costly frills but good value including breakfast and can't beat the location. Hope we see you again when our style of accommodation fits your need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This place is cheap,good value for money but the rooms are small and outdated.The built in wardrobe is like from the 1920s with cheap plastic hangers.The double bed headboard sits right where the window is so,you get a wakeup call from the condensation breeze during the night.It has ducted heating where it turns on only at night for a while but the rest of the time its off so they will provide extra blanketsand you sit in the frezzing cold,canberra gets to minus 3..You cant turn on the tap on where the sink is because it makes a thunder noise and the neighbour will bang on the wall and your door at 1130pm to turn off the tap.The dining room looks like my old girls school lunch area.BUT IS GREAT FOR LOCATION yay and if your desperate for a place and save$$

Room Tip: rooms are ok but small
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiesroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thanks for your review and your appreciation of the requirements of budget accommodation. Victor Lodge is indeed budget accommodation in a great location. The price point reflects the simplicity and size of the rooms and with a continental breakfast included makes for rare value in the Canberra market. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and function in one of Canberra's best locations. In an older property such as ours it is great to get feedback on issues such as noisy taps (I wish I could identify your problem in able to fix it but I have no record of your name in our guest records).

I do have a suggestion regarding the heating. If the upstairs central heating (which operates to keep temperature at 21 degrees but does not operate during the day when there is nobody in the building except us! ) does not suit, the ground floor rooms all have individual electric heating which operate 24 hours a day. Once the building is heated it remains warm for many hours as it is old style solid brick! Please ask if you have a preference or problem so that we may rectify the situation or do what we can to accommodate your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

cheap but decent. Room was basic, but shared showers/toilets were clean, staff helpful, and kitchen was decent. Close to trendy areas of Kingston and Manaka (with restaurants, shops).

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank saqawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Glad we were able to look after you in the fashion you expected...without a hefty price tag. We love being able to offer reasonably priced accommodation for travellers. No fancy stuff but a great place to stay. Safe, clean, excellent location and breakfast is included.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews