We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely recommend for those on a budget”
Review of Victor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Canberra B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2012

cheap but decent. Room was basic, but shared showers/toilets were clean, staff helpful, and kitchen was decent. Close to trendy areas of Kingston and Manaka (with restaurants, shops).

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank saqawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Glad we were able to look after you in the fashion you expected...without a hefty price tag. We love being able to offer reasonably priced accommodation for travellers. No fancy stuff but a great place to stay. Safe, clean, excellent location and breakfast is included.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hostel is friendly,homely value for money and the staff extremely helpful, I have travelled around Australia and stayed in many types of budget accommodation this by far is the cleanest one around, there is always staff around to ask about the surrounding area and me and my husband had a memorable stay here and will always remember the owners fondly .

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancemandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Great to hear from you and pleased you enjoyed your experience. Most times a life experience like travel is what you make it. Good basic accommodation and friedly service don't get in the way of a positive attitude and can actually add something. No tvs, aircon, fluffy bathrobes or shampoo but it works! Thanks for sharing your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

When booking this really cheap and wonderfully clean Lodge I was not aware that the female bathroom would be done the hallway.It was on the site but I missed it. "my bad". It was not a problem as every time I went for a shower I could just go straight in. The Lodge was full so I was amazed. There were two toilets in another room next door to the shower room and again I was always the only one there. I would recommend this hotel with its friendly manager, great continental breakfast and where else can you use a Lodges well equipped kitchen all day until 9.00pm after the breakfast dishes have been cleaned up. The TV room was clean and comfortable and as expected the internet would have been expensive but there is an internet cafe at the local shops anyway. Loved it, loved it, loved it as I was just using it for a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the shower,, toilet and TV rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

So what if the bathroom is down the hall. Great comment thank you. We take great pride in keeping the facilities clean and functional... they are still down the hall and there are never any queus! Fantastic to have guests with an appreciation of what accommodation on a budget is all about. The basics are well covered with breakfast provided, clean bathrooms (down the hall!!!) wireless internet available,full guest kitchen and laundry and beds too. Sounds like you loved your stay and we want you .....and your friends back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Kingston is located about 20 minutes walk (I don't drive) from Australia's Parliament House. It's a bit of a trek from the city centre itself over the bridge but it's a pleasent suburb with a selection of shops, cafes and pubs about five minutes walk away. Regular buses go to the city centre too.

Arrived late(ish) at night and didn't really give them that much notice but the key was easily found and there was someone available to speak to on the phone which was cool. The room itself was basic but clean and the bed was very comfortable. Although it was not en-suite (I didn't pay for en-suite) it had a wash basin which was a bonus. Blinds instead of curtains are always a winner for me and they had them.

There's a TV room and a laundry room (although I didn't use either). Showers were ok but could perhaps have a been a little (in italics) bit cleaner and more powerful. Breakfast was a little (in italics again) basic but the porridge was first class.

Have never stayed anywhere else in Canberra but would probably visit again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cls14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Great review thanks.
Glad our service and system for late arrival worked for you. Sounds like we were able to meet your requirements and I can add that showers have been upgraded with additional pressure. The hot water still does not run out!
We have managed to keep the recipe for our winter porridge a secret and it remains popular.
Room "basic but clean and the bed was very comfortable" are fair comments and exactly what we are aiming for. Your positive apprecaition of the other features (handbasin, blinds, kitchen, laundry and breakfast) is also noted. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

i must say that without a doubt i found the lodge to clean friendly helpful and understanding to there guests the rooms were clean and tidy .i am a regurlar stayer at the yha and in future will be booking thruogh victor lodge if you are in canberra and they have rooms please stay i stayed there over the weekend for the first time and it wont be the last time
well done to the staff you made feel i was at home away from home

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jduurand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your comments to the staff.
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

A reasonably priced accommodation, which despite having the feel of a hostel made for a good stay. Situated in a leafy residential area, Victor Lodge is also fairly handy for cricket at Manuka Oval. Good quality information is available plus a decent laundry room for sorting your washing!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BearVillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thanks for your review. Hope you can make it back for the cricket in summer things are a bit more lively then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Called at 4pm the day before my trip to Canberra. Speaking to a lady on the phone. In my talk to the lady i said that we may not stay. I was told upon asking if they had room available that they would like my credit card number and contact number so that "WHEN you come in we can make it easier for you to check in".

I was charged without staying the night anyway. When i called inquiring about this I was given the run around saying that it would of been explained that i needed to cancel the day before at 3pm if i didn't want to get charged. I called at 4pm and was never told this. After a rude talk with the manager and being told "bad luck" I took things up with my bank as a transaction was made for a room for the night without my consent. Very Poor form.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank JamesCosgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

It is standard accommodation policy worldwide to take reservations with the guarantee of a credit card. Guests at Victor Lodge must provide credit card details to guarantee a booking and we have a published 24 hour cancellation policy. This provdes a guarantee to the guest that we will reserve a room for them and we do not take tentative or maybe bookings.

A transaction of 1 night of accommodation is charged for a no show or late cancellation as was processed in this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
8.5 mi away
The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast
7 mi away
Georgie's Boutique B&B
Georgie's Boutique B&B
#1 of 1 in Monash
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Jamala Wildlife Lodge
Jamala Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 30 in Canberra
707 reviews
8.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel Canberra
Alpha Hotel Canberra
#1 of 1 in Tuggeranong
293 reviews
9.3 mi away
Abode Gungahlin
Abode Gungahlin
#1 of 2 in Gungahlin
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victor Lodge

Address: 29 Dawes St, Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Canberra
Price Range: $68 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location!! Victor Lodge is a family run bed & breakfast offering the best value accommodation in one of the best locations in Canberra. We have been catering to travelers from all parts for many years, with a friendly, family atmosphere. Many guests return or send family and friends to enjoy Canberra and a stay in a great location.Excellent Location. Just a few minutes walk from the exciting areas of Kingston and Manuka giving access to the best restaurants, pubs and shops in the Canberra region. Catering to all travelers, whether you are in town on business or holiday.Rooms:Victor Lodge has a range of accommodation to offer including singles, doubles, twin share, and family rooms. All include the FAMOUS breakfast!Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, undercover barbecue area, TV room with cable TV, laundry,free High-speed wifi Internet access, baths and a relaxing garden area. All rooms have fans and are heated in winter and all beds have duvets/doonas (whatever you like to call them) and great mattresses for that sleep you've probably being missing out on!!Convenient off street parking is available free of charge. Mountain bikes are available for hire. This is the best way to see Canberra, which has one of the best networks of bicycle paths.Use of facilities after check out, including luggage storage and use of all amenities, MAY be available upon request and is subject to a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Victor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing