We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$128
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$121
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$152
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$119
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$153
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$119
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$150
$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
29
49
34
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
49
34
4
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 122 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Kingston is located about 20 minutes walk (I don't drive) from Australia's Parliament House. It's a bit of a trek from the city centre itself over the bridge but it's a pleasent suburb with a selection of shops, cafes and pubs about five minutes walk away. Regular buses go to the city centre too.

Arrived late(ish) at night and didn't really give them that much notice but the key was easily found and there was someone available to speak to on the phone which was cool. The room itself was basic but clean and the bed was very comfortable. Although it was not en-suite (I didn't pay for en-suite) it had a wash basin which was a bonus. Blinds instead of curtains are always a winner for me and they had them.

There's a TV room and a laundry room (although I didn't use either). Showers were ok but could perhaps have a been a little (in italics) bit cleaner and more powerful. Breakfast was a little (in italics again) basic but the porridge was first class.

Have never stayed anywhere else in Canberra but would probably visit again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cls14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Great review thanks.
Glad our service and system for late arrival worked for you. Sounds like we were able to meet your requirements and I can add that showers have been upgraded with additional pressure. The hot water still does not run out!
We have managed to keep the recipe for our winter porridge a secret and it remains popular.
Room "basic but clean and the bed was very comfortable" are fair comments and exactly what we are aiming for. Your positive apprecaition of the other features (handbasin, blinds, kitchen, laundry and breakfast) is also noted. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

i must say that without a doubt i found the lodge to clean friendly helpful and understanding to there guests the rooms were clean and tidy .i am a regurlar stayer at the yha and in future will be booking thruogh victor lodge if you are in canberra and they have rooms please stay i stayed there over the weekend for the first time and it wont be the last time
well done to the staff you made feel i was at home away from home

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jduurand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your comments to the staff.
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

A reasonably priced accommodation, which despite having the feel of a hostel made for a good stay. Situated in a leafy residential area, Victor Lodge is also fairly handy for cricket at Manuka Oval. Good quality information is available plus a decent laundry room for sorting your washing!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BearVillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thanks for your review. Hope you can make it back for the cricket in summer things are a bit more lively then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Called at 4pm the day before my trip to Canberra. Speaking to a lady on the phone. In my talk to the lady i said that we may not stay. I was told upon asking if they had room available that they would like my credit card number and contact number so that "WHEN you come in we can make it easier for you to check in".

I was charged without staying the night anyway. When i called inquiring about this I was given the run around saying that it would of been explained that i needed to cancel the day before at 3pm if i didn't want to get charged. I called at 4pm and was never told this. After a rude talk with the manager and being told "bad luck" I took things up with my bank as a transaction was made for a room for the night without my consent. Very Poor form.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank JamesCosgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

It is standard accommodation policy worldwide to take reservations with the guarantee of a credit card. Guests at Victor Lodge must provide credit card details to guarantee a booking and we have a published 24 hour cancellation policy. This provdes a guarantee to the guest that we will reserve a room for them and we do not take tentative or maybe bookings.

A transaction of 1 night of accommodation is charged for a no show or late cancellation as was processed in this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Fresh clean accomodation at an affordable price, which includes breakfast daily. Brekkie consists of juice, toast, variety of cereals and tea / coffee, AS MUCH AS YOU WANT ! When dealing with the friendly owners and staff nothing is too much trouble. They are always cheerful, smiling and provide good old fashioned service. Facilities include a TV room, washing machines, dryer, bike hire (cheapest in town) wi-fi (reasonable rates) and 1 street away from shopping precinct.One block from major bus route to the city (civic).

Shared shower toilet services on ground floor and 1 st floor.

This type of service is rare, unless of course you choose a 4 / 5 star hotel and pay top dollar.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Assessmentgerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Sounds like you tried everything we had to offer! Thnanks for the positive feedback and glad to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews