We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Victor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 15 Canberra B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quiet location, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Kingston is located about 20 minutes walk (I don't drive) from Australia's Parliament House. It's a bit of a trek from the city centre itself over the bridge but it's a pleasent suburb with a selection of shops, cafes and pubs about five minutes walk away. Regular buses go to the city centre too.

Arrived late(ish) at night and didn't really give them that much notice but the key was easily found and there was someone available to speak to on the phone which was cool. The room itself was basic but clean and the bed was very comfortable. Although it was not en-suite (I didn't pay for en-suite) it had a wash basin which was a bonus. Blinds instead of curtains are always a winner for me and they had them.

There's a TV room and a laundry room (although I didn't use either). Showers were ok but could perhaps have a been a little (in italics) bit cleaner and more powerful. Breakfast was a little (in italics again) basic but the porridge was first class.

Have never stayed anywhere else in Canberra but would probably visit again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cls14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at Victor Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Great review thanks.
Glad our service and system for late arrival worked for you. Sounds like we were able to meet your requirements and I can add that showers have been upgraded with additional pressure. The hot water still does not run out!
We have managed to keep the recipe for our winter porridge a secret and it remains popular.
Room "basic but clean and the bed was very comfortable" are fair comments and exactly what we are aiming for. Your positive apprecaition of the other features (handbasin, blinds, kitchen, laundry and breakfast) is also noted. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
25
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

i must say that without a doubt i found the lodge to clean friendly helpful and understanding to there guests the rooms were clean and tidy .i am a regurlar stayer at the yha and in future will be booking thruogh victor lodge if you are in canberra and they have rooms please stay i stayed there over the weekend for the first time and it wont be the last time
well done to the staff you made feel i was at home away from home

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jduurand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your comments to the staff.
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

A reasonably priced accommodation, which despite having the feel of a hostel made for a good stay. Situated in a leafy residential area, Victor Lodge is also fairly handy for cricket at Manuka Oval. Good quality information is available plus a decent laundry room for sorting your washing!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BearVillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thanks for your review. Hope you can make it back for the cricket in summer things are a bit more lively then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Called at 4pm the day before my trip to Canberra. Speaking to a lady on the phone. In my talk to the lady i said that we may not stay. I was told upon asking if they had room available that they would like my credit card number and contact number so that "WHEN you come in we can make it easier for you to check in".

I was charged without staying the night anyway. When i called inquiring about this I was given the run around saying that it would of been explained that i needed to cancel the day before at 3pm if i didn't want to get charged. I called at 4pm and was never told this. After a rude talk with the manager and being told "bad luck" I took things up with my bank as a transaction was made for a room for the night without my consent. Very Poor form.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesCosgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
It is standard accommodation policy worldwide to take reservations with the guarantee of a credit card. Guests at Victor Lodge must provide credit card details to guarantee a booking and we have a published 24 hour cancellation policy. This provdes a guarantee to the guest that we will reserve a room for them and we do not take tentative or maybe bookings.

A transaction of 1 night of accommodation is charged for a no show or late cancellation as was processed in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Perth Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Fresh clean accomodation at an affordable price, which includes breakfast daily. Brekkie consists of juice, toast, variety of cereals and tea / coffee, AS MUCH AS YOU WANT ! When dealing with the friendly owners and staff nothing is too much trouble. They are always cheerful, smiling and provide good old fashioned service. Facilities include a TV room, washing machines, dryer, bike hire (cheapest in town) wi-fi (reasonable rates) and 1 street away from shopping precinct.One block from major bus route to the city (civic).

Shared shower toilet services on ground floor and 1 st floor.

This type of service is rare, unless of course you choose a 4 / 5 star hotel and pay top dollar.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assessmentgerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Sounds like you tried everything we had to offer! Thnanks for the positive feedback and glad to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Victor Lodge is a good option for those on a budget but who don’t necessairly want to stay in the YHA. It’s a little dated but the staff were friendly and the place was clean. It’s a bit out of the city but get a bus to Kingston or Wentworth Avenue and from both those stops, it is only a 5 minute walk to the lodge. The surrounding area is very quiet and we got a great nights sleep on what were nice comfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at Victor Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thanks for your asessment of Victor Lodge. We aim to provide clean, comfortable, no frills accommodation at a reasonable rate in a friendly family style atmosphere and pleased you found us to be like that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

I completly agree with the last review! My partner & I stayed here for 3 nights & it was the most expensive place we have stayed in in Oz so far! The room (twin) was VERY basic & didn't even have a sink; the shower room was dirty & covered in hair; the showers themselves literally TRICKLE out water, so good luck if you actually want to clean yourself; and the kitchen is disgusting!! I was afraid to cook in it because everything was so old & dirty! Considering we paid $100 per night, we were more than annoyed at the facilities avavilable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toone27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.4 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.7 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
0.7 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victor Lodge

Property: Victor Lodge
Address: 29 Dawes St, Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location!! Victor Lodge is a family run bed & breakfast offering the best value accommodation in one of the best locations in Canberra. We have been catering to travelers from all parts for many years, with a friendly, family atmosphere. Many guests return or send family and friends to enjoy Canberra and a stay in a great location.Excellent Location. Just a few minutes walk from the exciting areas of Kingston and Manuka giving access to the best restaurants, pubs and shops in the Canberra region. Catering to all travelers, whether you are in town on business or holiday.Rooms:Victor Lodge has a range of accommodation to offer including singles, doubles, twin share, and family rooms. All include the FAMOUS breakfast!Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, undercover barbecue area, TV room with cable TV, laundry,free High-speed wifi Internet access, baths and a relaxing garden area. All rooms have fans and are heated in winter and all beds have duvets/doonas (whatever you like to call them) and great mattresses for that sleep you've probably being missing out on!!Convenient off street parking is available free of charge. Mountain bikes are available for hire. This is the best way to see Canberra, which has one of the best networks of bicycle paths.Use of facilities after check out, including luggage storage and use of all amenities, MAY be available upon request and is subject to a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing