We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like University House”
Review of University House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University House
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was my second time at Uni House, and I'm glad I stayed. As others have said, this is old fashioned accommodation, but it is very comfortable. Big bathrooms, comfortable beds, a full size desk and lots of room. The deal we had included breakfast and dinner (2 courses). The food is just great. It feels elegant and the staff are engaging and helpful.
The downside - stairs. We stayed on the third floor so there was stair to carry the luggage up.
If you have a car, make sure you speak to the staff about parking - remember this is in the middle of the ANU.
I'm looking forward to my third trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for University House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay
Good location: Quiet but close to city
Spacious room for us in Queen Bed superior suite. No microwave to heat up baby food, forgot to ask staff before check in. Overall: recommended accomodation for room, place and parking.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank PutraMaulana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The accommodation is very old fashioned - but in a nice way. Our twin room was large and spacious, and had a big ensuite with a huge bath - fantastic, The room was immaculately clean, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, from the cleaning staff, the reception staff and the staff in the restaurant- all were really great. The location was good, with lots of walking paths to the lake, the National Museum and the City. Just a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Blocks L,K,J back on to the beer garden and could be a bit noisy - try for a room facing the quadran...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasqualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I love the place. I felt like I am transported way back in time. Building is old but that is part of the experience. At the center of the facility opens a garden which is a real treat. Surprisingly, I had a very good night's rest. Bed is perfect, not bouncy, not too hard just right. Recommending this place

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

University House is situated within the ANU complex and appears to house mainly academics, but is also open to bookings by the general public. The rates are almost half those of regular hotels. It is a short walk to nearby restaurants and the CBD.

I shared the twin single-bed room with an overseas visitor, so the availability of two beds was a major criterion for me. The price was a bonus. The hotel is heritage-listed and its furniture reflects its 1954 vintage. The bed was comfortable and the tea/coffee making facility was generous.

Both hot and continental breakfast are available at the Fellows Bar and Cafe. We did not get to try the Boffins restaurant.

The usual travel booking sites might give you a better rate than the official site.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trainsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose this hotel to be in a central location for Floriade and this proved to be a good choice in that we could easily walk to Commonwealth Park where Floriade is held. Onsite parking was very good. The room (marketed as a "superior Suite") was very large, of average comfort (bed was great, sofa was terrible); average for cleanliness (bathroom excellent, sofa and carpets rather stained and unattractive); plenty of heating/cooling options (air con, fan-assisted portable oil column heater and lovely warm bathroom floor!); plenty of blankets and pillows. We had read that the Boffins restaurant was overly expensive so walked to a nearby cafe which served early breakfast. This had a great variety of very good food at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: As there are no lifts, a ground level room is preferable. Note that even these have half a dozen ste...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdaWurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed here about 4 times and think this is a hidden treasure only to be found in Canberra. The breakfast is a great spread of bacon, eggs, hash brown,mushrooms, tomatoes, a variety of cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad, melons, a great selection of croissants and pastries, juices, tea, coffee. The furniture in the room reminds me of my grandmother's place - sturdy and purposeful. Love it. The bathroom is always spanking clean. The hand soap/shower gel has a lovely fragrant. I googled it and found that we can only purchase it via a German website. Howzat! Our rooms have all faced into the large court yard with its lovely trees.
The only thing to be aware of - once, we hung a sign requesting for our room to be cleaned but unfortunately the other side of the sign had the words 'do not disturb', some how it swiveled around on the door handle and the housekeepers thought they were not to disturb us. We came back in the evening and were advised that all the housekeepers had left for the day so no one was available to clean the room. Not a big deal - just something to note. There is a library there too. Check it out.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms on the top floor as they seem quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLY18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,550 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#28 of 58 in Canberra
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
1,352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University House

Address: Cnr Balmain Cr & Liversidge St | Australian National University, Acton, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Canberra
#16 Business Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $110 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your University House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University House Hotel Canberra
University Hotel Canberra
University House Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing