We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value accommodation”
Review of University House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University House
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Good location with walking distance to Canberra centre. Quit rooms. Furnitures and fittings are simple and 1950 style. Clean and all you need, including TV, fridge and big writing desk. It is like being part of the University. The price for a room with two beds is very good and includes breakfast for two, free parking and free WiFi. Very nice gardens, including the beer garden. Friendly and helpful reception and staff. Will stay again at University House.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Edgecliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 345 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Recently stayed overnight to see the Toulouse Latrec exhibition.
Room was a tad worn around the edges but perfectly adequate for your needs. Plenty of space to spread out and tea/coffee making equipment (with biccies!) is provided. Lovely, peaceful gardens outside rooms and it was only a 20 minute walk into the "eat street" of Canberra.
Breakfast was surprisingly outstanding, everything that would included at a big hotel and the service was good. All in all, very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The University Hotel was a great place to stay - very affordable, comfortable rooms, nice gardens and a great breakfast , and reasonably close to the city centre ( a 25 minute walk). I plan to stay here again on my next visit to Canberra

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyKookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

University House is an integral part of life at ANU, especially for staff and post-grad students. Uni graduates can become members, giving them discounted accommodation, but anyone can book to stay overnight. Either way, you feel like you're part of the university community while you're there. It's got a special, unique atmosphere that you don't get in a ordinary hotels or hostels.

I had a single room with a shared bathroom. The room was like an unrenovated 1970s college dorm room, nothing flash but perfectly adequate. There was a mini bar and basin in the room, and also a TV. The bathroom just down the hall was great and modern, with a separate area for the toilet and shower. It was spotlessly clean every time I used it, and I was very impressed.

The only problem I had during my stay was the loud snorer in the next room. Of course, this wasn't the fault of University House, but it did make it hard to sleep. There was a locked door separating my room from that of the snorer, and I was wishing it had been a solid wall instead as I suspect the noise travelled very easily through the thin wooden door. I'll bring ear plugs next time!

There is a small computer room opposite reception with free use for guests. This includes internet access, though note that the computers are old and slow. I was disappointed not to find free wifi access for guests, which I consider to be a standard 'basic' that should be included by hotels in these days of smartphones and tablet computers.

Locationwise, University House is about 15-20mins walk to the centre of town and the Jolimont Coach Station, but there are buses at the door (including direct to the Uni of Canberra). It's a bit of a dark stroll across campus after sunset during uni vacation when there aren't many students around, but I felt reasonably safe walking alone at night. It would also be possible to walk on the more brightly lit public road, though that would take a bit longer than cutting across campus. It's only about 5-10mins for a gorgeous walk from University House down to Lake Burley Griffin. Guests with cars have parking available to them.

If you don't mind being slightly away from the centre of town, and you want to stay in a place with a very special atmosphere all of its own, I definitely recommend University House.

PS. if you phone to book and they take interminably long to handle your query, be patient. It's worth the wait as this is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask not to be next door to a guest who snores!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atheoretical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As an former Canberra local I already knew about University House. Its true, the rooms are from the 50s but then so is University House. The heated floor in the bathroom is a joy and the family (2 BDR) suites, with a full kitchen, is a perfect home away from home. Add in the library, bar and on Thursday nights pie night its the perfect base.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GR_Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stay at University House often. It is a very comfortable, quite place to stay. The rooms are generous, the furniture is aged but in good condition. In winter the bathroom floors are heated. The ammenities are excellent and the rooms are always clean and tidy. Breakfast is a delight. All within walking distance of Civic too.

Room Tip: Rooms with a patio are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willow283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We always try to stay here when we visit Canberra. The rooms are spacious and have a homely feel to them. It doesn't feel like a hotel, but like a large B&B. The rooms are a bit dated and the bathroom is not perfect, but it's functional. The hotel makes no boasts about itself. You know what you are going to get here and we are never disappointed. It is on the quiet University campus only a 10 minute walk to the CBD.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
733 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#27 of 58 in Canberra
297 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
0.9 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University House

Address: Cnr Balmain Cr & Liversidge St | Australian National University, Acton, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Canberra
#16 Business Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $107 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your University House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University House Hotel Canberra
University Hotel Canberra
University House Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing