We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“retro magic”
Review of University House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
University House
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Always stay here when in Canberra. Love the authentic beautifully maintained retro 1950's furniture. So convenient to the city and ANU. Will continue to stay here in the years to come. The double, twin and apartment rooms are all equally good. Can't fault it. Sometimes the booking system is a bit confusing - but ring and ask for availability as it can change daily. In all...A great 1950's academic retreat.

Room Tip: Ring and ask for daily updates as rooms become available due to cancellations. Corner apartment room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 348 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are looking for a really modern Hotel then this is not it. The decor is dated but really fits in well with the atmosphere, it is also in beautiful condition, our room was squeeky clean. My husband out of curosity checked the top of the wardrobe and no dust to be found. I loved the heated floor in the bathroom and our cute little balcony, the weather was lovely for Canberra but after all it is only just Spring, when the weather is a little hotter it will be nice to have a drink and look at the lovely garden.
The beds were really comfortable, I found the pillow a little hard and the spare was the same, however after taking the very snug pillowcase off and laying it over the top of the pillow it was just right, I am sure if I had called reception they would have sorted it out but I was happy with my solution.
We had dinner in the Restaurant and Breakfast in another the next day and the standard was good, only complaint with Breakfast was the scrambled eggs ran out and there had not been replaced by the time we were ready to leave, am sure this was an oversight.
Next trip to Canberra we will again stay at University House. I forgot on our way out we discovered a possum curled up in the overhead Wisteria very comfortable and not in the least distrubed by our curosity.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing into the courtyard and I believe there is live outdoor music starting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for ten days in a north-facing superior queen suite.

We chose University House because we wanted something different from a chain hotel.

Our room was on the third floor. (This could be a problem for some as there are no lifts and the stairwells are narrow.) It had a lovely little balcony with views over the university campus. The room was very clean.

The sitting room was large, and the retro-styled furniture looked lovely. While the sofa and chairs were comfortable enough to sit on, they certainly weren’t made for lounging. The television was too small for its position high on a cupboard at the end of the room and I couldn’t read the subtitles from the sofa. There was a good sized desk.

The bedroom was on the small side and the bed only just fitted in. But it was nice to have to have a separate room. There was plenty of hanging space. Our bed could have been more comfortable and queen is the biggest sized bed they have at University House. The pillows were all very hard and we should have asked for them to be changed. In keeping with the retro theme, the blankets were wool. I only use wool blankets at home, but these were scratchy and didn’t have satin binding. There bed also had an electric blanket.

The bathroom was lovely with underfloor heating. Toiletries were limited to a combination handwash / shampoo in a wall-mounted dispenser, but it was good quality with a beautiful clean smell.

We were in Canberra for the coldest time of year, but we were always warm in our room.

Breakfast wasn’t included in our room rate, but we did have some good meals from Fellows Cafe. They will let you take china and trays back to your room if you ask. We also had an excellent meal at Boffins (fine dining).

University House is well-situated for sightseeing in Canberra. It’s on two bus routes (3 and 7), and only a couple of minutes from the CBD. We used the buses to get to all Canberra’s major attractions during the day. We even caught the bus home after a night at the theatre – door to door.

The hotel itself is close to three attractions well worth a visit. The National Film and Sound Archives with its beautiful art deco theatre is a five-minute walk and general admission films are shown on most days ($11.00 for adults). The National Museum of Australia is a fifteen-minute walk (or a two-minute bus ride). The National Botanic Gardens are a fifteen-minute walk on the other side of the campus.

We were happy to stay at University House and would stay there again.

Pluses: quiet and peaceful, great location, on two bus routes. Separate sitting room, excellent cafe and restaurant. Reasonable tariff. Very clean. Lovely grounds.
Minuses: no lift, small bedroom, no room service.

If you like a hotel that is different from the standard chain offering, you will like University House. The room rate ($154.00 per night). Queen sized bed aside, we were very happy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica6536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Comfortable couple of nights spent here, enjoyed the included breakfast in the ANU student bar/restaurant, and especially enjoyed the quiz night on Tuesday - we joined up with a table and managed to win! Food and drinks very reasonably price too! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinkydink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I always stay here when I come to Canberra, both on business as well as having brought visitors over the years. University House combines the feeling of a club (library, informal bar and indoor/outdoor bistro eating), with a quality restaurant and the facilities of a good hotel (almost all: no room service), all set around a green (occasionally frosty) court. And a high class of fellow guest, though possibly not ideal for small children or heavy luggage. The rooms have been kept up to date over the years, while the underfloor heating is a feature as are the small balconies for each room. Worth booking in advance as it occasionally seem to fill up with people attending conferences or events on the campus.

Room Tip: With no lift, the second floor might be a challenge with a heavy suitcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ive been staying at Uni House for 20 years, which indicates my view. It has a modernised-60's feel to it which I enjoy (don't worry, the bathrooms have been updated in recent times!). Quiet, restful, comfortable. A great alternative to a humdrum hotel. When in Canberra I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epsc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Roomy, quiet and well situated to the city centre. Value for money, particularly when you want more than a hotel room. And heated bathroom floor..... brilliant.
Good breakfast to finish it off. Been coming here for a few years now and never disappointed . For 5 star luxury look elsewhere, for homely and value look here.

Room Tip: Go for the north wing. Nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.5 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#24 of 59 in Canberra
1,825 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 59 in Canberra
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
#12 of 59 in Canberra
754 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
775 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University House

Address: Cnr Balmain Cr & Liversidge St | Australian National University, Acton, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $94 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your University House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University House Hotel Canberra
University Hotel Canberra
University House Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing