We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$180
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pacific Suites Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$173
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pavilion on Northbourne(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$85
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$155
$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$182
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ovolo Nishi(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$165
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$151
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
88
188
57
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
188
57
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboffins restaurantaustralian national universityfellows barnorth wingthird floorlarge lounge rooma superior queen roomsmall balconyseparate bedroomelectric blanketsa great place to staylake burley griffinshower over the bathcity centreold world charmnew actonthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 354 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a weekend stay. I had a room and breakfast package. Having stayed in many places in Canberra, here I heard no traffic noise but still walking distance to the CBD. This building used to house student accommodation and has a charming atmosphere. It was pleasant to be amongst the leafy, University grounds with the autumn colours at their best. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was located on the ground floor but had about 4 steps to climb. Something to consider if you have mobility issues. There are no lifts to upper floors. The room itself had a clean smell to it but not overpowering. There was a large living area, balcony, bedroom and modern bathroom. The furniture suited the period of the building. The bed was comfortable and had an electric blanket and the pillows looked new. Absolute best thing was the heated bathroom floor. Heaven! Breakfast was buffet style in The Fellows Cafe. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely return. I would rather stay here than have the ultra modern sterile room experience.

Room Tip: They have a variety of room options to suit your needs. Call to discuss.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Last weekend I stayed at University House whilst visiting Canberra with the Sweet Adelines singing group. We found it very clean and comfortable. It has a lovely old world feeling with a courtyard and beautiful fishpond, trees and flowers. There are two restaurants and bars. We had a very tasty meal in the cheaper restaurant, and delicious breakfast each morning. There is ample parking. It is situated in the University Grounds as it was originally student quarters. I will certainly stay there the next time I am in Canberra.

Room Tip: There are apartments with kitchens which would have been very handy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank india255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Having expressed the desire to try something a little old school on our way down to Canberra last Monday, husband suggested University House within the grounds of The Australian National University, as he had stayed there many years ago. What a gorgeous find! It has been restored beautifully and failthfully. It was spotless. Although there is no lift please don't let that put you off. It's just another world with a beautiful central courtyard and fish pond. We didn't try out the restaurant but I wish we had. However, we did have breakfast at the cafe. I can just imagine the young ones coming in at lunch time filling it up with chatter and energy. The price is comparable, however, don't expect fancy surroundings. If you go with the mindset of experienceing the era from which it came then you will get your monies worth. Oh and the bed was really comfortable (for a change).

Enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinky333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have stayed here several times in the past and enjoyed it and recommended it to others, but have just had a very ordinary experience there this weekend. Booked one room and one apartment for three nights, as our family were travelling together to Canberra for a family wedding. The apartment smelt very bad and though we left the windows open to let in the (freezing) fresh air, the smell never entirely went away.
In the twin room the beds were overdue for replacement, caving in the middle, and, despite the cold weather, there were no electric blankets on the bed -- just two rather thin old wool blankets each. We changed rooms twice and asked for (and received) more blankets, but overall it was a far from satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter, and insist that you do not overlook the carpark.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank roseserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

It has a beautiful entry and garden where you inmediately feel relaxed as you walk! But the can be noisy if there is any event in the courtyard. We stayed in a big room with 2 bedrooms and a modest decoration. Even tough it was comfortable, we were expecting more cleanliness, it was a bit dusty, really bad for allergic people, however the bathrooms were spotless! The common areas had a generous size and they are very comfortable, well separated from the bedrooms which also had good sizes. Prices are reasonable. If you're visiting Canberra, better rent a car because there are not many facilities around the house. Liked the university feeling!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPRO_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews