We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University House
Nearby Hotels
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$123
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$150
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$127
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$118
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$112
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$126
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$129
$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveler rating
89
187
58
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
187
58
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboffins restaurantaustralian national universityfellows barnorth wingthird floorlarge lounge rooma superior queen roomsmall balconyseparate bedroomelectric blanketsa great place to staylake burley griffinshower over the bathcity centreold world charmnew actonthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 355 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Yes, it is a blast from the 1950's but that's what makes it appealing. We stayed in December 2011 and found it quiet, clean and convenient. We loved the old style rooms and wooden furniture. Our executive room had a separate bedroom, large lounge and nice view. The gardens surrounding the hotel are lovely and breakfast is very good. However one person arrived right on the cut off time and was refused breakfast even though a number of us were still eating and the buffet was still laid out. I thought that was a bit rude!
It's an easy walk to the CBD and easy to drive to all the local sights and museums

Room Tip: the Leonard French paintings in the Boffins room are worth seeing.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

If you loved the 70s and their decor, this is definitely where you want to stay. It's very retro in a non-ironic way (which is a bit of a worry). The rooms are huge, some come with a cute balcony, and they're in good shape--if you don't mind being transported back in time about 40 years.The location is not the best, there's really nothing there except the ANU, so if you're attending an event on campus, it's convenient, but if you're sightseeing in Canberra, it's not, and you'd be much better off staying in the city center. The front desk staff was not particularly friendly but quite efficient, no service with a smile but competent.The price is not unreasonable and includes a moderate breakfast, but I probably wouldn't stay here again as I found it too isolated and the 70s furniture really didn't grab me.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Very convenient location, and quiet. Very basic amenities - do not take too much luggage as there are no lifts, and you have to take your own luggage up flights of stairs. I had booked a 'suite' room, which was just a single room - when I enquired at reception, they said it was called a 'suite' because it had a bathroom! Small balcony with air cond unit taking up half of it.

However, it is clean, bathrooms refurbished, value for money and peaceful. Dated decor. But very inexpensive set in the beautiful grounds of the ANU, so quite historic.

Room Tip: Try to get low room if you have lots of heavy luggage. Check room type.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sija56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was my first stay at University House and from the information available online I was expecting something a little more retro chic in terms of furnishings, but the living room furniture in particular was most reminiscent of early Australian TV sitcom - TV excluded, of course! :). The living room and bedroom were also very dark if relying solely on natural light, but if you are basically out and about for most of the day, then this is obviously not an issue. The bathroom was the most luxurious room and was very pleasant. The buffet breakfast was good value at $15.00, and green area near the long fish pond was a VERY pleasant place to relax at the end of the day.

There is free parking available behind the building which was very convenient and the location is within about 10 minutes' walking distance from the so-called 'city centre' but make sure you find this on your map before you attempt to go there otherwise you might miss it! :)

I would also recommend Boffins Restaurant which has very nice food for not so inflated prices.
Overall I would say this is probably much better value than any of the more modern hotels located in the same part of Canberra, but of course this will also depend on whether you find retro charming or just plain old.

Room Tip: My room did not overlook the large grassy lawn/fish pond, and I might have spent more time on my tiny balcony if it had, so I would suggest asking for a room on that side of the building.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chienvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

It has been a few years since staying at the Uni House, but it was still a very pleasant stay.
Nice surroundings, close to the city and the National Museum.The rooms are vey 50's - clean and roomy. Beds comfy - book early for the restaurant as we missed out. Parking good and Hotel's little balconies are a bonus. Would definately stay there again...

Room Tip: Ground floor or 1st floor as 3rd floor may be a problem (even 2nd) if you are older or have heavy luggage
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonsback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews