We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not keen on heights, but still loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Telstra Tower

Telstra Tower
Ranked #16 of 213 things to do in Canberra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Australia's history of telecommunications, and enjoy the view of the city from this 195-meter landmark.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not keen on heights, but still loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We don't like heights, but we still enjoyed the visit, preferring to stay inside, we did manage a few outdoor shots. The food etc up the top is pricey though. The exhibition downstairs of historical communication equipment and video is worth a look whilst you are there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    356
    192
    55
    17
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
311 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great view from Black Mountain lookout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

lots of picture opportunities, combined with a beautiful day out makes going up the mountain a pleasure, day or night we went during the day this time, we have done previously the night session where it feels spooky! and the city is all lit up. plenty of parking is available for cars and buses, the attraction is a fee based and requires going up one of the fastest lifts in canberra. There is a revolving restaurant and information centre and a outside viewing platform not many highest structures allow the general public to go outside and take pictures. Bring your good cameras and binoculars as some of the landmarks in canberra can be photographed from here. Time spent depends on having a meal or just viewing the scenery.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something to do once”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Tower from a distant looks nice but for an entrance fee of $7.50 (adult) and you spend n more than 5-10 min taking photos I believe is a bit over priced . The cafe was out of order so the restaurant at the top was nay option which also wasn't possible as it was fully booked ( we did not reserve as we were only planning on going to the cafe. I'd rate the gift shop 2/10.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great lookout over Canberra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Interesting sight gives a great view over the city. It has open space on the top.
Strongly recommend to combine visit Telstra with Black Mounting walk.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank vilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prefer the climb and view from Mt Ainslie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

There are many magnificent views of Canberra from Mt. Taylor, Mt. Ainslie, even Isaacs Ridge. Telstra tower seems to draw the tourists, and it does also offer a great view. But why pay when you can get it for free elsewhere? Also, inside the tower, the labelling of places of interest is not terribly clear.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozgypsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telstra Tower also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Telstra Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing