We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious Glorious Days Exhibit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of Australia

National Museum of Australia
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.78*
and up
Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney
Ranked #13 of 213 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover where Australia’s stories come alive at the National Museum of Australia. Located on the shores of Lake Burley Griffin, the Museum’s stunning architecture offers visitors an extraordinary place to explore the rich and diverse stories of Australia and its people. Take a guided tour through the Museum’s many exhibitions (fees apply). The Museum’s expert Visitor Services Hosts will bring stories to life and reveal the history behind the objects on display.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Glorious Glorious Days Exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just expected to spend a few minutes in this exhibit but we stayed a couple of hours. If you go read everything. This is a fascinating exhibit that gives a great overview of the last 100 years of Australia. The revamped cafe in the museum is also excellent. Sitting outside overlooking the lake on a sunny day was just lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wombatstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    374
    143
    64
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Odd sort of museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Not sure what to say about this place. "Very Australian" is perhaps the apt description! The 3D design thing was a tad simplistic but it was a hit with the kids, the moving movie (a room that rotates 360 degrees and presents three screens) was baffling - I guess it is aimed at Australians because it made no sense to us non-Aussies. A quick walk through the galleries is interesting enough though it is sort of like walking through an idiosyncratic collectors collection rather than what you'd expect from a museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's not for everyone, but it is a great place to view iconic Australiana, indigenous culture, and learn something along the way. We've been 4 times now and are always fascinated. Please visit at least once. It's free too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun and Interesting Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The National Museum of Australia is a great family outing. Parents will get nostalgic looking at things from their childhood whilst children will learn about things of the past, present and future and will have opportunities to interact with some of the exhibits.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easily in Top 3 museums I've ever visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was one of the best museums I ever visited. I spent 3.5 hrs there when I visited in January 2013 and I could have easily spent more time. The displays and features are extraordinary and the staff were among the friendliest I ever encountered. Every single one of them dealt with me as I was family and were interested to know where I was visiting from and how I was enjoying my stay in Australia. I heartily recommend visiting - it's also free so there's no excuse not to!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Australia also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to National Museum of Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing