We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humbling and Uplifting”

Australian War Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.14*
and up
Canberra Day Trip from Sydney
More Info
$119.98*
and up
Canberra Day Trip from Sydney Including Parliament House and Australian War...
More Info
$144.14*
and up
Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney
Ranked #1 of 220 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Australian War Memorial combines a shrine, a world-class museum, and an extensive archive. The Memorial's purpose is to commemorate the sacrifice of those Australians who have died in war. Its mission is to assist Australians to remember, interpret and understand the Australian experience of war and its enduring impact on Australian society.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Narooma, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Humbling and Uplifting”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Second trip here and this time the WWI room was closed for upgrades. Still an amazing museum with so much information, so many ways of learning and viewing. We took our new son-in-law who knew nothing about Australian Military History. He was fascinated and we enjoyed watching him being impressed. Our daughter found a lot of the displays depressing but educational.. A couple of years ago my nephew from UK visited with two of his young farmer friends. They had Nothing but praise for the whole experience and returned to UK to visit the Imperial War Museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, November 24, 2016
Thank you Clare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,626
    660
    56
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grenfell, Australia
2 reviews
“Too much to see in one day”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a must see,whether your old or young it doesn't matter,there is just so much information on display.You can take a free guided tour or just take your time browsing around and reading all the informative boards.I spent a full day there and I didn't see it all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mittrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, November 24, 2016
Thank you for visiting the Memorial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Canberra Must See.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Every time I get to Canberra and have an hour or so spare I make my way up to the War Memorial and every time I go there’s always something new to see! If its your first visit, keep a few hours aside to be able to see everything.

The War Memorial is one of Australia’s most precious monuments to those who have served in our Defence Force and to those who have given their lives for our country.

The staff at the War Memorial, they are simply wonderful….polite, approachable and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VoyageReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, November 24, 2016
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California, United States
1 review
“Australian Vietnam Conflict Memorial on ANZAC Parade.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As an American combat veteran of the Vietnam War who served with the 4th Infantry Division in the Central Highlands of Vietnam (1968), it was my great honor to place a wreath of remembrance at the Australian Vietnam Conflict Memorial on ANZAC Parade on 6/5/2013. With little fanfare, but with a lot of heart and spirit, this tribute and salute was completed on a soldier to soldier, veteran to veteran basis to honor those men and women who served and died in a difficult campaign. I really enjoyed my tour of the Australian War Memorial, especially the Vietnam display and tomb of the unknown soldier, and hoped that my small contribution was in keeping with the spirit, reverence, and pride the Australian people hold for the museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, November 24, 2016
Thank you Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A must visit for every Australian, and more than once. very well laid out with great displays. Take your time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank macca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWM_Webmaster, AWM Webmaster at Australian War Memorial, responded to this review, November 24, 2016
We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian War Memorial also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Australian War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing