We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing spot with lots of natives”

Australian National Botanic Gardens
Ranked #13 of 213 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The national collection of Australian native plants; inspiring, informing and connecting people with the Australian flora.
Canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A relaxing spot with lots of natives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A great botanic gardens filled in particular with lots and lots of native plants. The design is a mesmerising maze of paths weaving in and out of lots of different zones but not one that will make you worry - rather its always exciting to see whats around the corner. This place is perfect for wheeling a stroller around - peaceful and serene without too many big hills to push up and plenty of wildlife around for kids to see. It also has a great free music concert series during summer that is such a great way to spend a weekend afternoon picnic. The cafe is a bit pricey and can often be fairly crowded and hard to get a seat so would recommend taking a picnic and finding your own spot for lunch - of which there are many. Parking can also be a bit pricey and hard to find but when special events are on they open up extra carparks and it all works out...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    189
    41
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“peaceful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This area is a must see, every time I come to Canberra. This time round I did the short rainforest walk and also had lunch in the rock garden. There are so many birds, and despite being winter, there are lovely flowers as well as spectacular trees and shrubs to enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemma747748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Native gardens”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

A nice spot to visit and the misted rainforest walk was quite lovely, but the gardens are small and there is not a lot to see there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must-see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The gardens are a beautiful showcase of regional plants, and a wonderful relaxing space. Have a stroll, bring a picnic basket, and unwind!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“All to happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My brothers and I spoiled our mum to mother's day at Floresco in the gardens. Needless to say it was fantastic. Payment was taken before mothers day, so no fussing over who was paying on the day. The menu was a set menu, which was fantastic, I new for weeks in advance what I was having. Our mother has certain food allergies which I had forgot to mention, but the lady staff member we had was fantastic and quick on her feet to accommodate mum. The atmosphere was awesome and all round a great relaxing morning. I must add my brothers and I laughed a bit at some people that had seemed to miss all the advertising about pre-booking and had rocked up expecting to be seated. Was impressed how the staff calmly handled it, I would have told them to take a hike. Thank you Floresco and see you again soon!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian National Botanic Gardens also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Australian National Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing