We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Gallery of Australia
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Gallery of Australia
from $106.30
More Info
Reviews (3,235)
Filter reviews
3,235 results
Traveler rating
2,068
891
209
47
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,068
891
209
47
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue poles sculpture garden national gallery australian art james turrell pollock toulouse lautrec modern art audio tour permanent collection on display special exhibition great exhibition worth a visit few hours world class couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 3,235 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

The main reason for visiting the gallery was to see the Picasso / Matisse exhibition and we ended up spending a few extra hours wandering through looking at the general exhibition. There were lots of immersive activities for kids and the shop is gorgeous! Definitely recommend!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

Getting to the national gallery is really easy and with parking downstairs, access to the exhibits is very easy. The building is modern and grab a floor plan as it’s easy to get a bit lost or lose your sense of direction.
I love calling in to various art exhibits whenever I am near Canberra and they change them often. Last time it was their “Monet” exhibit.
today
The Hugh Ramsay exhibit was a surprisingly comprehensive collection of his prolific works, given he did not even make it to 30 years of age before dying of TB
(I confess I skipped the Matisse and Picasso exhibition as this style interests me less.)
The helpfulness of the staff on entry to the building and the lovely volunteers who offer tours is great!
The galleries shop has a good eclectic collection of all sorts.
The coffee shop downstairs is in a lovely area with a great outlook and has good food, good service but is a little overpriced if you ask me!
Definitely worth a visit whenever your in Canberra

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank lindysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Visited the " Belonging" gallery Saturday 17th January just after 10am.

We were having a wonderful time until a young lady security officer wandered past us with her two-way radio at full volume. Why ??
You just ruined our stay thinking we were back in Westfield

We escaped to the cafe then covered the rest of the wonderful gallery where all was quiet and all the other officers on duty very respectful.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

This is a huge (and free) gallery with an endless array of galleries, featuring both classic and modern art of all sorts - paintings, photographs, sculptures and abstract exhibits.
A 2-hour visit is the minimum, in order to fully explore the gallery.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Matisse and Picasso had a complex relationship through a the early part of the 20th century with respect, competition and some angst at various times in the mix. The relationship is explored through this exhibition of their paintings is interesting but not totally illuminating. The painters were different personalities with different styles but occupied the same artistic space for a period and reacted to each other's work.

A range of paintings are displayed for both artists track their respective histories, however, there are probably insufficient displayed items to do justice to either artists full artistic life. Nevertheless worth a visit to experience this period of post impressionist painting and the diversity of their paintings over the long lives of both artists. They were both active artistic explorers through their lives.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Marcusact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews