We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Variety”

National Gallery of Australia
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.10*
and up
Canberra Day Trip from Sydney Including Parliament House and Australian War...
Ranked #3 of 215 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The collection of over 100,000 pieces contains Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art, as well as Australian, Asian and international works.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Variety”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I spent half a day looking around the gallery and could have easily spent a whole day. There is an excellent collection of Aboriginal art as well as early Australian and European Art. Generally has a visiting exhibition of some sort. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert_killara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,439
    622
    154
    37
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in Canberra”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Make sure you visit the sculpture garden. And if you can get access, the members lounge has the best views of the lake and really good food (note: only one lift goes to the level with the lounge).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elm01au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must visit.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The National Gallery has an excellent indigenous collection as you would expect. They also have a fine collection of landmark pieces by artists from around the world. Don't miss the Australian collections.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“An interesting place to while the time away”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It has a large and very good collection that is rotated regularly, along with blockbuster exhibitions every year or so. We often come down to Canberra from Sydney just to see these, but it's worth a pop in if you want to spend an hour or two just looking around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always a must do on my list”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I always make a trip here on my visits to Canberra, even if it is just to see the sculpture garden. But the Haystacks always stop me in my tracks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank missycitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Australia also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to National Gallery of Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing