We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Gallery of Australia
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Canberra
from $11.20
More Info
from $246.20
More Info
Reviews (2,868)
Filter reviews
2,808 results
Traveler rating
1,801
762
184
44
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,801
762
184
44
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue poles sculpture garden national gallery australian art james turrell pollock sydney nolan modern art audio tour permanent collection on display special exhibition great exhibition worth a visit few hours world class couple of hours
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,808 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We have never been here before and really enjoyed our first visit. We were lucky to be able to visit the free American Masters Exhibition but am sure that future visiting overseas exhibitions would be well worth the admission fee.The rest of the gallery has no charge and we topped off our visit by having lunch at the inside gallery cafe which was lovely.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

There is a lot to see here but not all of it was to our liking,hence only the three stars but I understand that is my personal view.
There is some wonderful what I would call conventional art which I enjoyed very much and a lot of what I would call contemporary work which I did not like but I understand others would.
We left feeling somewhat disappointed and doubtful whether we would go again.

Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

I love to visit a Gallery when I go to a new city don’t miss this one.
Great historical works you won’t see else where.
Blue Poles is fantastic to see, it was important as it was such a controversial purchase by the government at the time.
The Gallery is new modern and well set out. You can pick an choose where you go easily with its lay out. There are amazing sculptures in the grounds on the water side don’t miss them.
If you like all types of art you will enjoy The National Gallery of Australia.

Thank judip37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

What a great place. Enjoyed Charlies watercolours his a great artist under estimated. The American exhibition was interesting as was all things Aussie. Well worth a visit.

Thank bevm220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Excellent displays and great ell from staff, parking was a bit difficult but not a huge problem, it's the sort of place you need to visit often when displays change

Thank Paul_in_Dubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited during a flying few days in Canberra. Easy parking and a great location for a walk around the lake afterwards. All free!. Great art and nice cafe for coffee

Thank apwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The NGA has a great selection of art. There are regular sections such as Indigenous, Asian, Colonial, Australian and Pop art that you can revisit and still be surprised to find new works. Explore the many staircases and ramps because the building can be a bit of a maze, with different sections seemingly hidden.

I would suggest doing a bit of research before going as they always have at least one international exhibition (often costing around $20 entry) and they are worth seeing.

There is a nice little gift shop that sells some interesting books, a restaurant on the downstairs level, and an outdoor Cafe next to the entrance.

Thank Smidd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to check out prints of Australians. It is most pleasant and reveals facts about people you would not be aware of. Very interesting!

Thank TheOldForrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous facility to visit, free entry, great variety of art styles represented and visiting displays also. Excellent cafe for a break. Plan to spend plenty of time here or visit twice.

Thank OnAir50085750241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow.....there are some great pieces of art but compared to my last visit there was a lot of empty spaces that were in the process of being filled. Possibly the wrong timing. I would recommend this place to anyone to come and visit. There are some great pieces of art by some famous artists.

Thank 116damiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews