We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Nearby Hotels
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abode Hotel Woden(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$107
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$126
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$82
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
University House(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$109
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,733)
Filter reviews
1,733 results
Traveler rating
490
703
360
108
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
703
360
108
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationone bedroom apartmentbusiness tripcentral locationwalking distancecomfortable roomwashing machine and dryergood sizean upgradecar parkingpleasant staybuffet breakfastshort stayreception staffwar memorialmanorbraddon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,679 - 1,684 of 1,733 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed at Mantra while on my first business trip to Canberra. It is not really a Hotel but serviced apartments. The room are quite big but give a feeling that the doorway have been flooded. The service was good but the location and quality is no comparison to my next week stay at Crowne.
Anyway, not bad for budget staying in Canberra

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sanswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I travelled to Canberra to view the art exhibition at the National Gallery. Despite the Manta being fully booked the night before we arrived, we were able to leave our bags at reception and car in the carpark during the day. They were also fully booked that night so upgraded us (my mother and I) from a twin room to a 1 bed apartment - the second bed was a fold out sofa in the living room (which was quite comfortable). The apartment included a better than average kitchenette, washing machine, dryer, iron, hair dryer etc - none of which we used but I would imagine would be very useful. The carpark was full to overflowing in the evening, so we parked illegally (but safely) on one of the internal ramps. Breakfast the next morning was good - staff were careful to ensure there was sufficient food at all times and used plates were removed swiftly from tables as people finished their meals.

The hotel is a very good option for Canberra - walking distance to the CBD and main bus public bus station and interstate bus station.

I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This is an efficient, unfussy and friendly hotel. The reception staff were quick and really helpful. Rooms were good value, but I would have enjoyed a comfortable easy chair and better bedside reading lamps. The substantial buffet breakfast was served from 07.00 and so helped an early start to each day. Above all, the hotel was quiet and yet within a few minutes walk of the Canberra Centre and London Circuit with all their restaurants, bars and cinemas. There is an active taxi rank a block away and the main bus interchange with connections to the airport is only 3 short blocks away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marxina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

As some of the previous reviewers have noted we stayed at the Mantra on Northbourne recently to take in the Masterpieces Exhibition at the NG and to visit Canberra in general, we had a package for two nights with buffet breakfast, parking and two tickets to Exhibition and 1 Bedroom Suite for $458.00. On arrival we were booked into a suite on the 1st floor which was above the driveway to the underground parking which is very, very, tight. On arriving at the room, after noting that there must have been a huge water problem in the hallway as there were very dark stains on all of the carpet, some of which extended into our room. Standard hotel room although larger than normal, aircon either freezing or hot. On retiring to my dismay the sheets on the bed looked like they had been slept in before as there were several hairs and other bits quite visible on the bottom sheet. We both then slept on the fold out. We asked to be moved to a room on a higher floor the next day which was given freely by the receptionist. On 7th floor still same problem with water damage to the hall carpet, makes the hotel look like noone cares. As for the pool as previously stated I can't imagine anyone using it, especially if you were travelling alone, it is quite isolated from the rest of the hotel. Buffet breakfast was good althougn extra charge for "special coffee". I'm sure there are better options in Canberra, although we only slept in the room, it was not somewhere where you could spend any length of time, furniture was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kahyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We just had 2 nights here and must admit we were a bit disappointed. Hotel room on lvel 9 quite dated esp bathroom. old style furniture, bedspread, but great TV.Front desk service not very friendlyesp as it was out 30th anniversary and i asked for a drink voucher!! They did the job but thats all no good mornings or hellos. Just got a dead pan look and no pos response. The restaurant is dead no one thereor at bar. Buffet brekky quite good. Ask fro poached eggs!. Good location near great restaurants shops movie.
Overall for $199 pretty disappointing. The pool is perhaps the worst feature starting with the stairs to it. Cant imagine anyone using. No I am not a grumpy old thing but just stayed at the sebel at Surry Hills for $120 and that was amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews