We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious 1 Bedroom apartment if you can get at right price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The good:
- Spacious,
- Close to CBD and restaurants,
- Kitchen,
- Laundry,
- Friendly housekeeping staff.

Not so good:
- Parking is at extra cost, very tight (don't take your Merc), first in best dressed so be careful,
- Bathroom dated,
- Not worth the rates they tend to charge (esp. during week) - look out for specials.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavSmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2009

We got this room rate as part of a Questacon package. It was much cheaper to book through wotif than through hotel direct. We went with another family and the hotel managed to get us 2 adjoining rooms. We stayed 1 night with breakfast included.

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it had an indoor pool for the kids to use. Our first day of sightseeing was cut short by all the kids wanting desperately to go back to the hotel for a swim. We went back to room, got everyone ready for swimming, only to go downstairs and find out that the pool's heater wasn't working and that the water temp. felt like below zero. The kids found out the hard way by jumping in first! They lasted 2 minutes.

The hotel has undercover parking but in very small, tight parking spots. Hard to manouvre a larger vehicle. They charge $12.00 per night. The restaurant downstairs (which serves breakfast in the morning) was very nice for dinner.

This hotel is a very short walk away from Canberra's major shopping mall which includes a large supermarket, lots of takeaway foods shops, David Jones and upmarket boutiques.

Room was one very large bedroom with spacious bathroom and laundry, and then a living room with fold out sofa bed, dining table and kitchen and balcony. Fully equiped kitchen makes it ideal for families or people with babies.

I would probably stay at this hotel again but before booking, would ring to make sure the pool was in order!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We paid $159 a night for a one bed apartment, breakfast and parking. For that money it was a really great deal. The rooms were a good size and having the TV in the lounge away from the bedroom was excellent. The kitchen made eating in easy as did the full size fridge. The bathroom was clean but very functional - not the sort to sit in a laze in the bath. It has a washing machine and dryer - great for families. Bed and lounge are seperately air conditioned - and the windows open. I would have found more storage space for clothes helpful - a chest of drawers perhaps - there is room. Breakfast was better than expected after having read some previous reviews. The staff are great - very helpful. As a place for dinner we didn't think Zipp had much ambience so we took Sydney Jimmy's advice and went to La Scala - an excellent decision - great food, not over priced and had a lovely ambience. You can walk there in 10 minutes.
For a romantic weekend I prob would not go there gain but to do the Canberra tourist thing - I certainly would.
And - we had the funny smell in the hall and the carpet looked as if it had flooded as mentioned by a previous review - once you weere in the apartment it wasn't noticeable at all.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Happy_Blot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Decent enough rooms, reasonable size and good facilities. The breakfast was very good - and no wait for a table unlike some of the other reviews here. The car parking has been mentioned before and this really is an issue - they just don't have enough spots underground so both nights we had to park in the street.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank jodanstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Stayed at the Mantra recently on business, and it was OK, with the best part being the great service by the reception desk staff. The breakfast in the restaurant downstairs was pretty ordinary, but the room service breakfast was pretty good - much better value.

The main problem however was ordering room service. I ordered a glass of white and red wine, and two glasses of white arrived. The person who delivered them immediately realised the error, and went away to swap for a glass of red. Ten minutes later, nothing had happened, so I phoned downstairs and was assured it was on its way. Ten minutes later, still nothing, so I rang downstairs and pointed out that my meal was now cold, and could they please bring the red wine, which finally arrived.

I do think that the staff training leaves a lot to be desired, and the hotel isn't up to scratch for business travellers.

On the plus side, they gave me and a friend an early check in, which was great. This reflected the overall good service at the check in desk.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Stayed here overnight as we were attending a NRL match at Canberra Stadium. Room was very spacious, with just two of us in there we felt a bit small! Staff very friendly, we checked in late at night. Carpark is very confined and a bit scary, we were lucky to get the very last space. Booked online, breakfast was included free but the line was out the door and there was a waiting list so we went elsewhere.

Overall, good value, nice big clean rooms and good location. If you are hungry though I'd advise just going somewhere else as the breakfast is very popular and busy!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diva_sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I travel to Canberra often on business and stayed at the Mantra for most of April. I stayed in four different rooms on various floors and always found them in good repair with large bathrooms and sitting rooms. The smaller rooms have very limited luggage space so unless you are on your own make sure you get one of the bigger ones.

The rooms are older and little things are not quite right such as curtains that don't quite block all the window and the odd noisy air-con unit, but all in all it is in good condition.

There is little road noise despite being on Northbourne Avenue and the rooms are very quiet. The staff are efficient and well mannered and a couple of them began to remember me after the first couple of weeks.

I ate there on numerous occasions for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is a buffet but cannot really be recommended with half a dozen cafes within 5 minutes walk all offering superior food at a lower cost.

Dinner (and room service) on the other hand was very good indeed. The menu choice is excellent with both a la carte and bar meals all well cooked, presented and served. We were working late quite often and they will basically keep the kitchen open even if you return late.

There is a heated pool (not that common in Canberra) so you can swim in Autumn and the gym is well equipped

The staff looked after me well, even chasing Canberra's notorious taxis until I finally got on my way one evening to the airport.

I would definitely recommend the Mantra which is in a great location for Civic and all the IT companies on Barry Drive and Northbourne Avenue.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountainview547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#28 of 59 in Canberra
3,332 reviews
1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 59 in Canberra
1,782 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 59 in Canberra
1,684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $91 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD offers Hotel Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel services including 24-hour reception, in-room internet access, express checkout and internet kiosk. Guests facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Stock Kitchen & Bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink The hotel boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing