We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sydney Weekender Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sydney Weekender Deal”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I had to make a trip to Canberra for a unwell relative. We only had to stay one night and were looking at somewhere which had decent accommodation and price.
On TV we seen a deal for the manta for $139.00 which included 1 night stay and free bottle of wine and chocolates in arrival. So we booked. On our way down to Canberra we were running early sink called ahead to the hotel and asked if it was possible for a earlier check-in no problems there. However $200.00 bond is pretty steep for a $139.00 per/night room. We arrived and checked in. We parked the car $12.00 per night which I believe should be included in the price of the room, just a money making scheme. We went to our room to find that we had been upgraded to a suite free of charge which was great. The room appear a little outdated with the carpet and furniture and the lunge room looks very bare. We had a small 22" TV in the middle of the room. And with the lounge positioning it was very difficult to watch tv. They might need to re-arrange the furniture. The room also included a kitchen and all it's utilities. The bed room was spacious with a walk in bathroom. The bathroom was nice and clean.
We had to call reception to ask how we get out free bottle of wine and chocolates which I believe is pretty pathetic if your advertising it to be given on arrival.
We found that the bed was firm which gave a good night sleep. All in all a alright night for a stop over. Can't compare this to the mantra in cavil in surfer paradise. They were amazing.

Positives
-Free upgrade
-Spacious room
-Bottle of wine and chocolates (even tho we had to ask for them)
-Friendly staff at reception

Negatives
-Bad room layout
-Out dated room
-Our bed didn't have a quilt cover just the quilt which I find horrible
-You have to pay for wifi
-$12.00 per day for parking
-$200.00 bond for room
-Loud air conditioning

Might try the Hyatt next time

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Peter H,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.
I appreciate your comments regarding the quality of the rooms and facilities. I am sorry that you were not happy with the location of the TV in the room; all of our TV's are a 40 inches so I am surprised about the feedback regarding this. We will look at an alternative position for this particular room.
I am sorry to hear that the inclusions of the Sydney Weekender deal were not brought up to your room upon or prior to your arrival. I will ensure this feedback is passed onto the relevant Department to ensure this does not happen again.
I am glad that the room and bathroom facilities were clean; we will be continuing to ensure our hotel is clean and comfortable with a scheduled refurbishment in the near future.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne.
Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    522
    256
    77
    52
See reviews for
339
313
75
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I booked a one bedroom apartment and it was a little dated but very clean and well set out. I couldn't get the door to my room to open as the lock was jammed and they had a serviceman there within 5 minutes to fix it so very prompt action on their part. The location was great, easy walk into the city and close to so many things. Room service was good quality. The only downside was you could not book a car space. It was $12 a night for parking but at a first in, first served basis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sandy B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that the cleanliness of the facilities were to your liking, and the location suited your needs.
I'm sorry to hear that there were problems with gaining access to your room, but it's great to hear that this was rectified so promptly!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had read the reviews on this site, most were good, however one stood out, a persons stay in September this year.

I gave the Mantra the benefit of the doubt - big mistake.

I had booked online through their website. The email conformation and the receptionists requests on arrival contradicted, and I was very displeased with the service.

Once the ID and authorisation was sorted we checked into what was a very unattractive room. There was what looked like a water mark stain on the carpet, discolouring it.

There was some sort of body fluid on a cushion that was on the bed, this I feel is quite appalling on behalf of the Mantra cleaning staff. The bed had been freshly made then to put a dirty pillow on it, I find quite disgusting.

The room was on the second floor, and was a very noisy room. A lovely wake up call at 7 am Sunday morning, the sound of a garbage truck destroyed any chance of a sleep in.

I always thought Mantra was a nice place to stay at until this poor experience.

I have stayed at other locations in Canberra, these places were much better value for money, had nicer rooms, better in room amenities and friendlier staff.

I will not be staying at any Mantra In the near future and I will not be recommending this to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jade O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Jade O,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Mantra on Northbourne.
I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. I am sorry to read that the carpet was stained; we schedule carpet cleaning for all rooms on a regular basis, so I will ensure that this is brought to the attention of our Housekeeping Team.

You have mentioned delays with regards to the procedures upon arrival, and the manner in which you were treated by the Team here. I am sorry if this was not dealt with correctly, and please find my details below. I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can further address these issues.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Ph: 02 6243 2508
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friend and I wanted to see the Floriade so planned a trip to Canberra. I picked the Mantra on Northbourne as it was close to the free shuttle bus. It was an excellent choice, as it is also easy walking distance to some excellent restaurants and the free circle city sights bus. No need for a car.
The hotel was clean and all the staff so friendly and helpful that I was prompted to write this review. We had the full buffet breakfast on the Sunday and were impressed with the variety of food available for a relatively small hotel.
I would definitely stay here again for value for money, friendly service and ease of getting around...close to the airport too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia2011_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Julia2011_1,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that the rooms and cleanliness of the facilities were to your liking, and that the location suited your needs.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Apart from a couple of minor issues with the room which didn't bother me too much (noisy plumbing and aircon not working) the rooms themselves are nice.

My only issue is the time it takes to get the $100 pre-authorisation amount back into my account. It is now close to a full week since checking out and am still waiting on the refund to occur. I have enquired and was told that this is a banking processing issue not a delay on behalf of the hotel. Easy enough explanation, however this is the only property I have stayed at that a) has an authorisation amount so high and b) that takes this long to refund.

In a digital age like ours the longest it should take to refund this type of transaction is 24-48 hours.

This will be a consideration when I choose a hotel in Canberra as there are many others that do not impact me this way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Elliott1973,

We appreciate your review of Mantra on Northbourne and thank you for your comments. Whilst you rated the service that we provided and the location well, there were areas that we could improve on. I can assure you that we will be taking these comments into consideration.

Kind regards,
Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with my elderly mother. Staff were helpful and found us a room close to lifts as requested. Rooms were ok - not terrible, not great, just ok. Bathroom small but clean. As long as you don't pay too much it's a good choice - we had a twin room for $139 per night and thought that was reasonable value for Canberra city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear alison251,

Thank you for the review of your experience at Mantra on Northbourne, we appreciate your comments, particularly about the service provided about our team. We do hope to welcome you to Canberra again in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was in Canberra for one night on business last month and had the choive between Matra or Novatel. I chose Mantra becuase of the larger size rooms. Unfortunately the Mantra is tired and overdue for an update. While the room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was old and I expected more based on the room rate. Bed was firm so I get a reasonable nights sleep. Great for a short stay if you only want a clean, warm room with comfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon11164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jon1164,

Thank you for your review of Mantra on Northbourne, we certainly appreciate your feedback and are taking your comments into consideration. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.0 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Property: Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD and a short stroll from the city's thriving shopping, dining precinct, business centre and famous attractions. Offering guests a choice of Hotel Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel ensures your comfort, with a wide range of hotel services including 24-hour reception, in-room internet access, express checkout and internet kiosk. Guests will also enjoy the leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Stock Kitchen & Bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, Stock Kitchen & Bar is the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink The hotel boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. Mantra on Northbourne also offers a dedicated Conference Executive who will assist you to plan and manage your next successful event, conference or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing