We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel has a great location, right in the middle of Canberra and overall is good value. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, the rooms were clean, fairly modern and spacious. The gym, pool and sauna were handy although a little small. The parking was fairly priced at $12 a day, although it was full on our last night and we had to park on the street. I would definately return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for your comments, particularly about our team and I can assure you that I have shard your review with them.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    476
    231
    71
    46
See reviews for
312
276
71
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with my daughter in a one bedroom apartment. Good size, everything clean, comfortable and well presented, if not ultra modern and exciting. Great location, easy 5 min stroll to shops and restaurants.Parked car after day out ( $12/night) and walked everywhere in the evening.Stayed on 9 th floor, so noise from Northbourne Ave not intrusive. Pool and gym area bit tired.Would stay again.

Room Tip: Likely less noise on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks for your review and positive comments, they are certainly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Mantra on Northbourne is a pretty good value hotel, located right in the middle of Canberra makes it easy to get around. The staff were very helpful and none of them were rude. However the pool and gym area seemed cramped and out of the way.
As long as you have no plans to use the gym and pool I would recommend staying here, and I would personally stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadowshadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We thank you for your review and appreciate your comments, particularly about our team. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

What a night room 705 now I know what the Flintstones endured all their life, the bed is rock hard. Advised reception early upon arrival they offered to fix it but nothing happened , later offered a room change the bed was the same "rock hard" Flintstones style. Some road noise on Friday night otherwise the room is fine. Glad we only booked for 1 night.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We thank you for your review and we apologise that the stay was not as comfortable as expected. I can assure you that we will be looking into the comfortability of the beds to rectify this issue.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is very central to everything and its location is easy to find without having to enter into the Canberra City traffic. The hotel positives: Bed very comfortable , staff excellent, breakfast very nice but not very hot,( maybe earlier it was hotter.) Parking facilities good and only $12 overnight. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment , well equiped but a little dated. Overall our stay was a pleasure, we got a great package deal and I would definitely stay here again when travelling to Canberra or as a stop over on my way to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had a great time in Canberra and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay at Mantra on Northbourne (with two adults and toddler in a one bedroom apartment) was average and I probably wouldn't choose the Mantra on Northbourne again unfortunately.

The good points:

* I requested an early check in a few days before and they accommodated us which was really handy with our toddler, so I thank them for that
* The apartment was clean
* Room service food was quick and tasty
* $12 parking fee was reasonable and the parking was very handy

The bad points:

* The apartment was very outdated and very dark
* The bed was uncomfortable and very small
* I found it personally quite a noisy hotel (road noise and general noise in the hotel - it didn't help that we were right near the lift)
* Reception staff tried to charge us for some food and beverages that we had not ordered and I had to go into a lot of detail to explain that we hadn't ordered it
* When I was asked how my stay was and I replied "Average" I got no response from the person who was assisting me when I was checking out - her care factor was zero!

Overall, a fairly disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be a bit better with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaYanitsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate comments, both positive and constructive. Our sincere apologies for the oversight of the incorrect charges on your account, this is certainly not our usual standard. If you are able to contact us so that we may be able to investigate this further to ensure it does not occur again, that would be appreciated. Apologies also for the response on your departure, I can assure you that our procedures have been reiterated in this area.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here to go to a football game. Upon arrival staff very courteous & helpful - I did not get the room I expected so they upgraded me to a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony. Sadly it overlooked the car park entrance & a huge dark building,. Never mind was spacious & clean. Once the traffic died down around 10pm it was really quiet & did not worry me because I never retire before that anyway, Breakfast was very nice as were the two meals I had delivered to my room. I would stay here again if I could get an apartment at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a 1 bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiewrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review, your comments are certainly appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on Northbourne in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.0 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#23 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Property: Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD and a short stroll from the city's thriving shopping, dining precinct, business centre and famous attractions. Offering guests a choice of Hotel Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel ensures your comfort, with a wide range of hotel services including 24-hour reception, in-room internet access, express checkout and internet kiosk. Guests will also enjoy the leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Stock Kitchen & Bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, Stock Kitchen & Bar is the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink The hotel boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. Mantra on Northbourne also offers a dedicated Conference Executive who will assist you to plan and manage your next successful event, conference or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing