We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I just stayed at this property for two weeks on a one bedroom apartment. This property has an excellent location as it is literally three blocks away from the city center where you can find an amazing variety of restaurants.

This hotel is nice but definitely you can see it needs some some renovation. The gym area is small. The indoor pool is just tiny.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexmurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that the location of the hotel suited your needs and you enjoyed your 2 weeks in Canberra.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

The appartment we were in for 4 days was well equiped, clean and with all the ammentities you would expect. Staff were helpful and the location of the Hotel would be hard to beat. Booked over the phone and the rates were good value for money. Adequate on site parking even if it is a bit tight in some of the parking bays.Would stay again.

John M

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmoran22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.
We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and the facilities and location suited your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for three weeks and found it to be an excellent location. Close to the city and attractions, rooms were spacious and the staff were first rate and accomodating.
We have two small energetic boys and there was plenty of space for them to muck around in and the kitchen, fridge etc were a great size and allowed us to live relatively normally and still have the place serviced. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
We are happy to hear that the Mantra on Northbourne Team was friendly and helpful, and that the rooms and facilities were suitable for you and the family.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I'd reccomend this only as a business location / not holiday or pleasure. Everything is fine - but there's not much to get excited about, and we paid $20 a room more than we paid for a stay at the Hyatt which eats it for breakfast. The Hyatt was unfortunately booked out but having stayed at both they are light years apart despite the reviews on trip advisor. The biggest let down was the room service (which we are forced to use as we have a young child). We ordered 2 pizzas - $20 each. They were very bland "super market" pizzas - and not good ones! Think Black and Gold or Home Brand. It suggests they don't have a cook or chef which would make me wary about ordering much from the menu if they can't do better than cheap frozen supermarket pizzas! Even i can make a pizza! Blandest food id had in a long time. if youre hungry and 'stuck in' like us order Eagle Boys or Dominos - or chew on the menu - a similar flavour. Parking is $12 a day.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkey_Kelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
Please accept my apologies in regards to the issue you have raised regarding the quality of the room service meal.
Our Head Chef has already addressed this with his Team and the quality of the menu item reviewed accordingly.
This is not up to our usual standard and I again apologise for the shortfalls in service experienced.
It was pleasing to read that the location of the property was convenient and the cleanliness of the facilities satisfactory.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne in the future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've stayed at Mantra on a number of occasions and have always had a great experience. We usually book direct, as you can speak to someone who works at the hotel and they always match rates given on other websites. We've stayed in the 'Hotel' rooms, the 'One Bedroom' and the 'Two Bedroom' accommodation. All are roomy and clean. The 1bedroom is usually the best value for money, we've found;large bed in a largish room, spacious lounge area, balcony and fully equipped kitchen, with dishwasher. There are also washing machine and dryer for longer stays.
The great selling point, besides the rooms, is the staff. Someone is doing staff training well and/or it's a great place to work. Staff have always gone out of their way to be friendly and helpful. On our most recent stay, Assistant Manager, Courtney, and restaurant staff member, Letitia, excelled in their friendly service. As an example, I lost my tickets to the Toulouse-Lautrec exhibition (found later that I'd dropped them in the car!!) and Courtney offered to come with me and search for them! All other staff greeted us with a smile and 'hello'.
On this trip, and several previous ones, we have booked a package that includes National gallery exhibitions. These offer excellent value.
As you may be able to tell, I can't recommend Mantra, Canberra highly enough.

Room Tip: If the price is right, choose a one bedroom option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us here at Mantra on Northbourne.
It is wonderful to hear that the Team was friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay!
I will certainly pass this wonderful feedback onto the staff members involved.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Overall the rooms are very clean tidy and modern. We stayed in a one bedroom for 7 nights and couldn't fault it. Very helpful staff, and when we had a problem with the dishwasher it was fixed the same day. We got a great deal on accommodation through friends and family rates so I can't say how it compares with the normal rate but we were very pleased with everything. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KylieMcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us here at Mantra on Northbourne.
We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
Mantra on Northbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at Mantra while attending a conference in Canberra. Paid $200 a night (rather my employer paid)

The room and the bathroom were quite large, though very 80s. I would have preferred a smaller but more modern room.

Minibar prices were outrageous, of particular note is $6 for a bottle of water.

The location was good and central.

Overall it was a very no frills experience, ok for a business trip but wouldn't stay there for a holiday. Also the price was a bit steep in my opinion, then again there were no better options in central Canberra at the time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us here at Mantra on Northbourne.
I appreciate your comments regarding the facilities and fixtures of the One Bedroom Apartment that you were allocated. It was pleasing to here that the room was very clean.
We do have the option of smaller Hotel Rooms if again travelling to Canberra and wish to book this as an alternative.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#28 of 59 in Canberra
3,331 reviews
1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 59 in Canberra
1,781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 59 in Canberra
1,683 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $94 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD offers Hotel Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel services including 24-hour reception, in-room internet access, express checkout and internet kiosk. Guests facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Stock Kitchen & Bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink The hotel boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing