We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, dated. Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced, dated. Good location.”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Compared to other Mantras this is dated and not up to par. The smoke alarm went off three times over the two nights. We could hear people in the street throughout the night. On check out we were charged $24 for our car. My husband was told this was included. I am in the travel industry and stay in many hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay.
The Mantra on Northbourne has recently had a full refurbishment of the public areas, hallways and pool area; we have also repainted the rooms and bathrooms, and re-freshed our bedding in all rooms.
I am sorry to hear that the apartments were not up to your expectations of Mantra Hotels, however we are continuing to make upgrades on a regular basis.
Are you able to advise who you booked through, or the Team member spoken to regarding the parking charges being complimentary? I would be more than happy to have these charges refunded. Generally our parking charge is $12.00 per in for underground secured parking, however on occasions we do have packages that include the parking charges.
I do apologise if we have made an error here.
Thanks again for your feedback and I do hope you can stay with in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager - Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    522
    256
    77
    52
See reviews for
339
313
75
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here during Floraide Nightfest for two night. It was very comfortable stay. Food at Zipp restaurant was excellent. Apartment is centrally located with a McDonald , Indian restaurant Bollywood Extension and Crust Pizza outlet very closeby. The main food street and Canberra Main Shopping centre about a block and a half away. One night we took a quick walk to Bollywood Extension for dinner just behind the hotel.

There's undercover secure parking in the building, but its an additional $12 per night parking charge.


Looking forward to my next visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deshdeep N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

spent two nights while we visited Canberra to see Floriade. The (unpleasant) surprises began at the desk (NB NO criticism of the staff!). Poor naiive me, asked for the internet code at the desk only to be told that it was NOT free wifi - you're joking, at these rates! A little miffed, we left the lobby and hopped in the car to go to the undergound carpark. Next hit - sign saying $12/day to park. Again, naiively assuming this referred to visitors, rather than guests I reversed to the lobby and went again to the desk to see whether this fee applied to their own guests - it does! Give me a break! Up to the room to use settle in and, after a long day driving and sightseeing felt like a cup of tea and a biscuit - only no biscuits - at all! Given that their 'normal' rates are over $300 per night does this seem stingy to your? Check out the internet rates to use Skype to call daughter overseas - not only do they charge $25 per day (with a TINY download limit), the speed in insufficient to support Skype voice call. All this might give you a headache - in which case take your own panadol, the mini-bar includes these at $3 for 2 tablets.

I'm sorry guys, but the overall impression we were left with was 'opportunism' - if it isn't ABSOLUTELY stated, then you pay - dearly!! Only two weekends before we stayed in Wagga Wagga for the Jazz and Blues festival at a small family run establishment and, hey, free wifi, free parking, nice biscuits and decent coffee and tea, FRESH milk (not UHT) and all this for about one-third the price.

I detailed my concerns (there were others, including the broken furniture, no sink or bath plugs) in a letter to the management and did not and have not since had a reply. I even made suggestions about their wifi that would have saved them money! When we did check out they did offer to waive the parking fee but that was not the point - the problem was that it shouldn't be charged in the first place, to anybody. This place advertises itself as a premier holiday venue - well I'm sorry, it's not! Overseas guests will be taken aback by their parsimonious pricing policy and leave with the impression that Australian hotels are simply out to extract every last dollar from their guests. For the addition of about one or two dollars per guest/night all these petty fees could be abolished and these faciliteis be provided as a service, what a different impression that would leave.

Oh, Canberra is a great place to visit and has some fantastic eateries, we could easily have spent more time there, just not at the Mantra on Northbourne.

Room Tip: don't get room 319 - the plumbing from other rooms is so loud you think they are in there with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Mantra on Northbourne,
I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects relating to the service charges at the hotel.
I understand that some hotels do charge for internet service and some do not charge for this service.
I apologise for the disappointment that this has caused.


Yours sincerely,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager - Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina, nsw
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed with a sporting team for 2 weeks. 4 of us shared a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. enough room for everyone but limited space for hanging or storing clothes, was worse in 1 bedroom apartments. furniture had seen better days, holes in lounge covers & leg about to fall off table. shower in bath with no anti slip mat.
agree with others about meals in restaurant & $12 parking. bathrooms & kitchen floors swept but not mopped. most front desk were very good but others seemed to want to be some place else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us,
Although I'm pleased to hear that the location of the hotel was to your liking, I'm disappointed to find out of the inconsistencies expereinced during your extended time with us.
I have provided my direct contact details below; if you could provide which room you stayed in, I would like to take the time to inspect and rectify the shortfalls relating to the quality of the furniture.
We have completed an upgrade of the rooms and puiblic areas over the past year, hence my concern that we have not maintained the quality with this particular room.
Thank you again for taking the time to bring this issues to our attention.

Andrew Lockie
General Manager - Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was below par service for a Mantra hotel. The room was ok but the waiting, overcharging room fees and also charging for their mistakes made this an unpleasant experience for me.

-Having to wait an additional 2 hours for my room to be ready
-Using the dry cleaning service only to find they didnt return my clothes by the advertised time, which meant I had to continue my trip with no clean underwear.
-Receiving the underwear in the post 4 weeks later AND being charged $14 COD for the hotels mistake
-Being charged an additional $185 for accommodation for someone else I'd never heard of.

After contacting them and asking for a refund, and so send my clothes they did nothing the first time. The second they sent my clothes (COD) and still no refund.

Just made the third phone call to resolve this and they said they would again look into it, here's hoping....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoanRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
Please accept my sincere aoplogies for the frustrations experienced during, and after your stay with us.
Please contact me at your convenience directly via the below details to discuss in more detail, so I can ensure that the billing issues have been rectified.
Furthermore, I would liek to address these shortcomings with the staff members involved for training to be implemented immediately.

Yours sincerley,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I spent the week-end here. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom had lovely smelling soap and mini shampoos etc. Bed was king size, but pillows were too flat and I ended up sleeping on the soft bed cushion. Parking was $12 per night, but was full one night so we had to park outside some shops - luckily, because it was a week-end, we didn't have to put money in the parking meters. Hotel restaurant meals were expensive and really not up to scratch and polite as the waitress was, she didn't understand English very much - I asked for a diet Coke, and she brought me a flat one, so I asked for another one, and she didn't undrestand, saying they don't have any! I was tired, so couldn't be bothered trying to explain any more! On the whole, it was just an ordinary hotel, which didn't warrant the amount we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that the product and services during your time with us were inconsistent. I have brought the issues you have raised to the attention of the relevant department managers for follow up.
With regards to the pillows, I am sorry that these were not up to scratch. We will ensure to have our housekeeping team check the rooms to make sure these are up to our standard.
I was please to see that the room size and cleanliness were postive aspects of your stay.
I do hope we can welcome you back in the future and ensure a more pleasant experience.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I was not impressed compared to all other Mantra's i have stayed in, this one comes last...

To start off , we were the only one's in the resturant and now we know why, by the price you charged for your meals and little food on the plate.

The rooms were quite large but noisy and the balcony look liked it hadnt be cleaned in months, it was dirty and and i had dust all over my pants from the seats.
The beds were to hard and the pillows were so hard that i eneded up sleeping without them as it caused me a stiff neck.
Then Breakfast , we had to ask for eggs? Who doesnt have eggs out on a buffet breakfast, staff didnt seem to have a clue on what was going on. Then on checkout we were not even asked how our stay was.
I must say compared to all Mantra's i have stayed in this was the worst and really needs to lift the game. I will not be back...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your taking the time to comment on your rescent stay with us at Mantra on Northbourne.
I was disappointed to see that your stay with us was not an enjoyable experience. It seems that some basic areas of service were overlooked, and for this I sincerely apologise.
I have had another recent comment relating to uncomfortable pillows, and some mentioning the opposite; so I have ensured the our Housekeeping Manager has been made aware of this and a full audit of our rooms done to ensure these are of an acceptable quality.
With regards to the issues at breakfast, this is not acceptable and I have addressed this with the Team Member involved.
Once again please accept my apologies for these oversights, and I do hope that you can stay with us once again when travelling to Canberra.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.0 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Property: Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD and a short stroll from the city's thriving shopping, dining precinct, business centre and famous attractions. Offering guests a choice of Hotel Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel ensures your comfort, with a wide range of hotel services including 24-hour reception, in-room internet access, express checkout and internet kiosk. Guests will also enjoy the leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Stock Kitchen & Bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, Stock Kitchen & Bar is the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink The hotel boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. Mantra on Northbourne also offers a dedicated Conference Executive who will assist you to plan and manage your next successful event, conference or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing