We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...”
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here a while ago when we went road tripping from Brisbane to Sydney and Canberra. The hotel was very nice and staffs were very helpful. Breakfast was great and location was good as well, being in the middle of the city center and Parliament House which are both walking distance away.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geruel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were sold on RYDGES from a couple of short stays in Christchurch a few years ago & knew we could rely on them for a comfy bed & wonderful pillows, so when booking for a week in Canberra we didn't really consider that it is really a business hotel rather than a resort. Consequently there was a fair amount of disappointment upon realising there is no pool in which to swim a few laps every morning, especially as each day was extremely hot.

That said, the location is brilliant, especially with the proximity of the new Acton Precinct across the road. Sadly we had no view of the lake, and with the venue being solidly booked out & renovations closing the viewing deck there was no way of remedying this apart from embarking on a wonderful dinner cruise with Southern Cross.

Despite being the scene of several conferences & a very noisy mob of bridge players we were delighted with the peace & quiet of our 3rd floor room and the efficient air conditioning.

Housekeeping was excellent and all staff efficient & friendly. We enjoyed a free "welcome" drink in the bar before dinner one night, and ate breakfast in the buffet on our final morning. If you plan for a big breakfast this is good value with an excellent selection. Omelettes etc. cooked by request are an option for those who wish.

Parking was tight underneath & on one occasion impossible, and the smell of the garbage bins increased with the hot weather in the garage.

Joining up as a Priority Guest prior to booking is free and brings benefits such as late checkout & 20% discount in the restaurant on lunches & dinners, or even a supper of one of their amazing desserts.
All in all this was a comfortable, pleasant stay & good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had a great one week stay. The hotel had been refurbished and was very comfortable. The staff were great and very helpful. The only draw back is that they no longer have a pool and the gym was being renovated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Every January we play in the premier national bridge championship at Lakeside. It's good to see that all the renovations (some discreetly done while we were there) changed the old hotel into a modern venue, clean, with good service. For someone who only wants an egg on toast for breakfast I thought $29 was a bit of a rip off. (plus $2.50 for the espresso).

Room Tip: The lifts are quiet, air con works well, rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicoleta_g52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My fifth stay for 5 nights each time. Enjoyed each stay enormously. Great staff and efficient service. Room service and menu are excellent. No pool or gym but who needs that in this town. Great breakfast buffet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Mountain views to the west if high up, pleasant views to east
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackoaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

For a start one lift was out of order and the other two were slow, standing around waiting for a lift is not befitting an expensive hotel. Nor is having an old grainy TV.
The full breakfast at $29 is not good value, the scrambled eggs from the heated tray was cold both days. The good news is the rooms are big and the bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

PROBLEMS WITH VARIOUS BOOKINGS
1. Phoned twice to book (needed code of wedding discount); quoted price of $159 for single room rate originally, then quoted higher price of around $210 on 2nd call, questioned this. Got room rate plus breakfast of $178.
2. Travelled with nephew Graham Suptut and his partner Sandra Murray who had also booked (2 rooms for 2 couples). Their room at 2.00 pm was not ready - due to problem with so many late departures. Intention was to use room in hour before wedding to change. Had to have all 5 people in my room to be able to do this. It was only when prompted, that any recompense was given (free parking).
3. The couple when booking for wedding was told they were required to book two rooms; one for wedding and one for reception. However, due to renovations (and I believe asbestos being found in room), both wedding and reception were held in the one area. (I hope some compensation has been offered to the couple). The room was only "created" one day prior to the wedding, and with 130 people in this room, the air conditioning was totally inadequate. The drinks after the wedding were to be in the same room as the wedding, but with the change above we were ushered out of the room at allow setting up. This mean we were in an area which did not have adequate seating.
4. I was sitting at table 1, which meant we were virtually in the doorway. Although the wedding was adequately sign posted, some non-wedding people were coming through to see if this was a function for them.
5. When I received the room key card was told I needed it for lift (as well as the room). I had assumed this meant that only the floor I was on was the one I could access, but I could access all floors.

POSITIVE THINGS
1. The wedding cake which was brought down by my nephew was taken promptly by staff.
2. The person in charge of the room kindly found some pandol and a glass of for my older sister, when requested.
3. The accidental spill of a drinks try was quickly attended to.
4. The room change was completed by the 6 pm deadline and beautifully arranged.
5. The food was well presented and delicious.

Room Tip: Room 915 - had no problem at all with noise, either from lifts, which were opposite room, or from ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $132 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing