We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attending wedding of Sean and Courtney (Reis) Bruce”
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed January 22, 2014

PROBLEMS WITH VARIOUS BOOKINGS
1. Phoned twice to book (needed code of wedding discount); quoted price of $159 for single room rate originally, then quoted higher price of around $210 on 2nd call, questioned this. Got room rate plus breakfast of $178.
2. Travelled with nephew Graham Suptut and his partner Sandra Murray who had also booked (2 rooms for 2 couples). Their room at 2.00 pm was not ready - due to problem with so many late departures. Intention was to use room in hour before wedding to change. Had to have all 5 people in my room to be able to do this. It was only when prompted, that any recompense was given (free parking).
3. The couple when booking for wedding was told they were required to book two rooms; one for wedding and one for reception. However, due to renovations (and I believe asbestos being found in room), both wedding and reception were held in the one area. (I hope some compensation has been offered to the couple). The room was only "created" one day prior to the wedding, and with 130 people in this room, the air conditioning was totally inadequate. The drinks after the wedding were to be in the same room as the wedding, but with the change above we were ushered out of the room at allow setting up. This mean we were in an area which did not have adequate seating.
4. I was sitting at table 1, which meant we were virtually in the doorway. Although the wedding was adequately sign posted, some non-wedding people were coming through to see if this was a function for them.
5. When I received the room key card was told I needed it for lift (as well as the room). I had assumed this meant that only the floor I was on was the one I could access, but I could access all floors.

POSITIVE THINGS
1. The wedding cake which was brought down by my nephew was taken promptly by staff.
2. The person in charge of the room kindly found some pandol and a glass of for my older sister, when requested.
3. The accidental spill of a drinks try was quickly attended to.
4. The room change was completed by the 6 pm deadline and beautifully arranged.
5. The food was well presented and delicious.

Room Tip: Room 915 - had no problem at all with noise, either from lifts, which were opposite room, or from ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I still like it here. The location is excellent - close to the government departments and ANU. And now for the benefit of the business (and even personal) traveller they have free WiFi. The speed is suitable for email and light browsing.

There is still some refurbishment going on, and the rooms that have been completed are comfortable and there is a great selection of pillows.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The staff of this hotel are friendly and helpful. We didn't want our room cleaned and they left us plenty of amenities on our doorway.
The hotel is located near the lake, National Museum of Australia, university pub and the centre. if you go to the centre there are restaurants, small shopping mall and cinemas. We didn't tried the hotel restaurant, so can't rate their cuisine.
There is paid parking at the hotel, a bit small though, wonder if it's a real busy season if theyhave enough parking for every guest...
The rooms are on a good size, have space for both of us to have yoga in the morning. Our room was facing the circuit and we had a balcony.
At night we could barely hear the traffic and with a comfortable bed we managed to have a decent sleep. They have wifi but you have to pay for it.
This hotel is best for people on a business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stopped overnight to see the Map exhibition. This hotel is very central in Canberra and by the lake. Staff are professional. The room was well furnished although not overly large. Bathroom fixtures all new and fresh, one of the better bathrooms in modern hotels although there was no water pressure in the shower. $12:00 for parking was not good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

The map exhibition at the National Library is growing in popularity this summer – our package includes the commemorative book. Having been to see it last weekend, I can recommend this exhibition to anyone interested in the history of exploration, or with an appreciation for art.

Thanks for your review, Satinay and glad you enjoyed your time with us in Canberra. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Rien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Even though external renovations were continuing, the hotel was quiet and I slept very well in an amazingly comfortable bed. The bathroom had a "rain" shower and towels were fluffy! Reception was helpful and friendly. I ate in the hotel restaurant both nights and the food was beautifully presented and cooked. It was an imaginative menu. I found the proximity of the lakeside walks very pleasant.

Room Tip: Higher would provide some views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We are now completing the final stages of our refurbishment, and the upgrade to the external appearance of the hotel. This will be a bit of a ‘facelift’ for our 40 year old building, with a white tower and darker podium level. Thanks for the review Carolyn, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Rien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stopped over for a night, after visiting friends in the country. This hotel is very central in Canberra and by the lake. They have room with lake view, but we only stayed in a King Room. Interior has been recently refurbished. Staff is professional and helpful. Our room is spacious and well furnished. Bathroom fixtures all new and fresh. Bed is very comfortable. They are still working on the exterior, but we did not experience any construction noise, maybe being still in holiday break. The location is fantastic and within walking distance to the lake, restaurants, cafes and shops. We booked online and very well priced. Parking is $12, which is reasonable. Wifi is not free, but we did not use it. We definitely would book this hotel again when we get back to Canberra.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A very nice hotel, close to everything BUT had to pay 12.00 for parking.....the other thing was that there was free wifi in room so for 24 hours of internet cost 21.00. The restaurant was quite expensive so ate out although trying to find eating places in Canberra when you don't know where to go is challenging..it is a long way to walk to any of these places from the hotel so would need a car to eat out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pointoprove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 59 in Canberra
1,684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 59 in Canberra
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 59 in Canberra
755 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
1,906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $106 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing